Customer Reviews for

Black Creek Burning (the Black Creek Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, a

I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters rig...
I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters right away...and you know where Brie is coming from in the first chapter, which allows the reader to immediately care about what happens to her and those she loves. I adore the love story, the mystery, and the characters in this debut novel. R.T. Wolfe is off to a great start..can't wait to see what else is in store!

posted by 8505318 on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

Don't bother reading this. Good mystery, but way too many sex scenes, all very similar, and ultimately disgusting.

posted by 16749449 on February 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Love this series!!!

    Love this series!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    I was aware that R.T. was a first-time author when I began readi

    I was aware that R.T. was a first-time author when I began reading her novel, so I was pleasantly surprise when I found that the book was well-written, engaging, humorous, intriguing, fast-paced, and full of realistic and relatable characters that pulled my heart in every direction as I laughed and cried right along with them. I loved the different family dynamics in this story—the broken, the whole, and the healing—and I am IN love with Nathan *swoon*. There was a little more language in the beginning of the book than I am used to (keep in mind, I read mostly YA fiction), but there was hardly any in the second half of the novel. I was on pins and needles the entire time I read, wondering if Ms. Wolfe would even SOLVE the murder of Brie’s parents, and I had actually resigned myself to putting the pieces together without her assistance if she left me hanging. But then the author surprised me with an explosive ending that shocked me out of my pants! It solved all of my questions and wrapped up the novel perfectly, just the way I like it.

    A fantastic novel by a fresh pen that pulls your heart in every direction


    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Don't hate the author due to rude reviewers.

    I gave this book 4 stars to make up for those that gave it one because rude readers gave away the plot. I NEVER read a review more than a couple of sentences and have gotten to the point of NOT reading reviews at Barnes & Noble because they are usually plot spoilers or a contact forum for people playing around. I don't think the author should be under rated because of rude reviewers. I'm going to give the book a chance, it is free, I don't need a review, if i don't like it I can delete it.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Black Creek Burning kept me curious about the mystery at its cen

    Black Creek Burning kept me curious about the mystery at its center and smiling about its characters’ daily lives in the generally quiet town of Northridge. I enjoyed reading the romance, yet what truly charmed me was the stories that supported the main romantic plot line: the town, the children, the part-time jobs, and back stories.

    RT Wolfe is the literary little sister of Nora Roberts and Victoria Dahl. Like Nora, RT weaves in the working lives of her characters to give readers a fuller vicarious experience. Readers not only experience the thrill of new love, but also the excitement of the gardening, teaching, building a home, working wood.

    And, like Victoria Dahl’s contemporary series set in tiny Tumble Creek, Colorado, RT makes Northridge a character in its own right: “The rains eventually came. The herons stood at the spillway and caught their fill as the fish washed over in the rush of the water into the creek. The floodplains came alive with the color of the mature wildflowers on one side of the creek and the tender greens on the side that had been burned.
    Teenagers carried the pieces for croquet and badminton across the log over the rush of the water…”
    I can’t wait to return to Northridge in the sequel To Fly in the Shadows, due for release in February, 2013… especially now, knowing that I’ll be able to visit with one of my favorite characters, young Andy Reed!
    by J.W. Ashley (Author of Into the Woods, Crimson Romance October 2012)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Nook lovr

    The book was good

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Anonymous

    Very good, well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Very exciting read

    Murder mystery. Lots of sentiment and romance. I chose to iore some of the descriptive stuff d language made for much excitement!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Really enjoyed this book.

    I liked that the author didnt wait till the very end for everything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Very well written

    I enjoyed this boom thoroughly. From the romance to the mysteries, it'll keep you turning pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Easy read

    A good story line and easy to read. It doesn't have so many characters that you can't put it down for a day or two and pick right back up with ease. Enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Good read

    I really liked the characters. I had a hard time putting it down toward the end. Little bit of love, little bit of mystery

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    I don't go for romance, but I'm really, really glad I made the effort this time!

    I enjoyed this book immensely. Kept me guessing about who it could be and why the main character was such a target.

    There were editing issues, otherwise, it was very well written, with a fabulous plot, characters, relationships.

    I had absolutely no problems with the language--it was never gratuitous, always appropriate to the character and the situation.

    As well, I had no problem with the sex--really love--scenes. It was always tasteful, loving, sexy, exciting, and appropriate with respect to two consenting adults.

    Again, not one bit of the language or the love was lurid, dirty, or vulgar. I find it hard to understand why other reviewers thought otherwise.

    I may be making a mistake by only giving it 4 stars....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    good story

    well written and interesting

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Good.

    Good middle of the night read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2014

    Very likeable main characters. Good story line, but it was a lit

    Very likeable main characters. Good story line, but it was a little scattered, jumping all over the place. Even though this could have been a better book, it was still enjoyable with just enough drama and love interests. You’ll fall in love with Nathan when you read about how he interacts with his “sons”. All in all this book is well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Good

    Good book. Keeps you guessing the whole way through. I'll read more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Intriquing Suspenseful Romance!

    Black Creek Burning is the story of Brie Chapman, an elementary school teacher and part-time landscaper. Still struggling with her parent’s six-year-old murder by arson, she attempts to find love and reclaim normalcy in her life, although the killer may still be stalking her.

    Though many refer to this book as a romantic suspense novel, I feel it would be better categorized as a suspenseful romance. The cold case certainly makes this a page turner, but the mystery definitely takes a back seat to the romance.

    For those concerned with content, the romantic encounters are not graphic. The use of foul language, however, seems a bit forced at times. Overall, this is a well-written book, without any editing issues and the digital version downloaded complete.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Nice read.

    Easy to read. Enjoyed the characters. I don't read romances, but this had mystery involved so it kept my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    We all remember a favorite teacher from our childhood but Brie C

    We all remember a favorite teacher from our childhood but Brie Chapman quickly becomes one of our adult favorites in R.T. Wolfe's debut novel, Black Creek Burning. Throw in a handsome, possessive hunk named Nathan Reed who is strong enough to give her space and wise enough to step in when she needs him, and you have the basics for an enjoyable romantic read.

    A dose of suspense related to the threats on Brie's life are an added bonus, as are the delightful antics of two well-trained dogs that will make you want to take yours to obedience class. Toss in two adorable kids and you want to move next door to this family and be their friends.

    Black Creek Burning is an interesting read with a twist at the end sure to surprise the reader. Crimson Romance opens the door for R.T. Wolfe's entrance into the literary world and readers will welcome her with open arms.
    Rena Koontz, author, "Love's Secret Fire," 2012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Great read!

    Easy to follow great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3