Customer Reviews for

Black Creek Burning (the Black Creek Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, a

I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters rig...
I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters right away...and you know where Brie is coming from in the first chapter, which allows the reader to immediately care about what happens to her and those she loves. I adore the love story, the mystery, and the characters in this debut novel. R.T. Wolfe is off to a great start..can't wait to see what else is in store!

posted by 8505318 on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

Don't bother reading this. Good mystery, but way too many sex scenes, all very similar, and ultimately disgusting.

posted by 16749449 on February 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, a

    I really enjoyed Black Creek Burning from the first few pages, and knew it was a book that would keep me coming back for more. I love when an author takes you directly to the innermost struggles of a character from the beginning. I like to get to know the characters right away...and you know where Brie is coming from in the first chapter, which allows the reader to immediately care about what happens to her and those she loves. I adore the love story, the mystery, and the characters in this debut novel. R.T. Wolfe is off to a great start..can't wait to see what else is in store!

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    R.T. Wolfe has set the standard when it comes to "romantic

    R.T. Wolfe has set the standard when it comes to "romantic suspense" or "mystery romance" with the fantastic job she has done here with Black Creek Burning. I found that once I started reading I was sucked in and couldn't stop. I started in the evening and stayed up until 4 am when I was to tired to continue only to pick it up first thing so I could finish.

    Brianna is an amazing heroine and exactly what you want in a lead character she is strong and self assured, she is able and willing to stand on her own two feet but isn't so full of her own need to be independent that she can't see a very good thing, like Nathan, right in front of her.

    Nathan is full of support and kindness, he gives Brianna room when she needs it and is he shoulder to cry too. He has adopted his nephews after they lost both parents in an accident and is a brilliant artist when it comes to wood working. He is handsome and not willing to let Brianna throw up any road blocks in their relationship.

    I loved the plot twist and turns, I adore Nathan and also his darling nephews, This one kept me guessing and I had an idea of who it was then threw that out for another idea more than once. It was a fantastically written mystery as well as a great love story with enough spice to keep it fun.

    I received this book in exchange for my honest review.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I¿m just going to say it¿I¿m insanely jealous of R.T. Wolfe. Ye

    I’m just going to say it…I’m insanely jealous of R.T. Wolfe. Yes, I admit it. Jealous!! I can’t believe this is a DEBUT novel. And its a Romantic Suspense to boot. *pout* My RS is nothing like this. I want to be R.T. when I grew up.

    As most people know, Romantic Suspense is my all time favorite genre to read. I blame Karen Rose, Karen Robards, Sandra Brown, Jayne Ann Krantz, Linda Howard, Cherry Adair and Julie Garwood for the obsession. Thanks ladies…that said, I was mesmerized by not only the whole story but by R.T. writing style. Its fluid, well paced and the little nuisances are fantastic. There is a lot going on in the book but the way she weaves it all together is effortless. That’s rare in a Romantic Suspense but she does it and does it well. Between Nathan, Brie, her jobs, the children, the cast of secondary characters, the setting (yes, the setting), and suspense element its one great book.

    I will also admit that I read it in one sitting because I just couldn’t put it down. Just when I thought I figured out the “whodunit” I was completely wrong. I’m NEVER wrong figuring out the villain but in this one I never saw it coming. Great job Ms. Wolfe. You had me gasping in the end.

    Nathan is one of those hero’s that you know is a good guy. Sexy, thoughtful, not overly Alpha, not afraid to get his hands dirty and will admit his own failings. *sigh* He never crowded Brie but gave her space. Of course, their last time together in the book was HAWT, completely well paced and DAMN…

    Brie was a bit brittle in the beginning for me. I understood her need to not get close to people but she needed a lot of help getting back to life after the tragic death of her parents. That’s not something that you can ever forget. Her nightmares didn’t help. With the help of two boys, one sexy man and her neighbors, she was able to forward with her life. Amanda was particularly helpful and hilarious.

    Did I mention that the dialogue was well written and funny in some parts. The interaction between all the characters was believable and I felt a sense of being in the room with them at all times. I never felt left out of the story. Nathan’s and Brie’s careers are front and center in the story but Ms. Wolfe doesn’t dumb them down for a reader. Ms. Wolfe treats her readers with respect in their own knowledge teaching, landscaping and woodworking.

    I appreciated the non-gore violence in the book, too. There is a scene at the school that left me a bit shaken considering what happened a couple of weeks ago but its relevant to the story. Other than that, the suspense element was completely understated but you always knew it was there. Again, great job.

    I will repeat, I want to be R.T. when I grow up as a writer. She has written the perfect romantic suspense book for this reader. I also went to her website and I CAN NOT WAIT until February when the second book in this series comes out. :) *I received this book from the author for a fair and honest review. I was not compensated in any way.*

    16 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    I can say that I am a true fan of the Black Creek series....You

    I can say that I am a true fan of the Black Creek series....You can certainly read this second installment without any issues, had you not read the first. However, I really enjoyed being able to link Brie and Nathan into this story to the first in the series.

    RT does a fantastic job of engaging the reader, staying up all night to finish her books (this has happened twice). I really enjoy the story lines and how all of the characters interact throughout the entire book....I never felt like any part of the storyline was lacking, or more importantly, as if I didn't understand what was going on. Real dialogue, great interaction, and a true gift of characters that you fall in love with! 5 stars.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    I thoroughly enjoyed RT Wolfe¿s masterful debut novel, Black Cre

    I thoroughly enjoyed RT Wolfe’s masterful debut novel, Black Creek Burning. Written with confident expertise on a variety of topics such as landscaping and home remodeling, I got wrapped up in the engaging storytelling of this wonderful tale of love, danger and suspense. Along the way I completely fell in love with hero Nathan as he patiently transformed the heroine Brie from an icy self-proclaimed independent into a woman willing to accept the love of a strong man and a family in need of a mother. The details were delicious, the settings were masterfully painted, the mystery was a stumper and the romance was beautifully satisfying.

    A top-rate romantic suspense from a talented promising new author. I hear rumors that this is the first book of a series, and I gleefully await the sequel!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    I always love reading about interesting people who do things tha

    I always love reading about interesting people who do things that I don’t and make me wish I do. So it was with Black Creek Burning, I immediately wanted to take up interior decorating and turn my house into a palace. Failing that, I wanted to try camping in trees—who knew you could do that? I certainly didn’t. But if you can’t just up sticks and go there, then read Ms Wolfe’s descriptions as I was transported to another world. Being a nature lover but city locked, I also thoroughly enjoyed her heady descriptions of life outdoors in Black Creek. All of these beautifully interwoven into a great love story with nicely different characters, ones that I took to as soon as I was introduced to them. I found myself silently cheering them on as Brie and Nathan manoeuvred the heady business of falling in love. The interaction between Brie and Nathan’s two charges, Andy and Duncan, was very sweet to read also, and I would look forward to hearing more about the boys.
    Not forgetting the deliciously creepy side to Black Creek Burning, again nicely played by Ms Wolfe. She gives us enough to keep us guessing and the hairs on the back of my neck stood up quite a few times, but I don’t want to spoil it for you ¿. Enjoy!!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    "Black Creek Burning" is a romantic suspense novel whi

    "Black Creek Burning" is a romantic suspense novel which pulls you in from page one. And as you continue to read, you will realize that it's a good thing the author makes you sympathize with her elementary teacher/heroine, Brie Chapman, right away. If she didn't, it would be hard for you to let go of wood-worker/artist, Nathan Reed, once you met him. The man’s hunky, talented, creative, sensitive, funny...did I mention hunky? Sigh. Well, if I can't have him, I guess it’s okay for Brie to have him. After all, they are so good together. It would probably never work out for Nathan and me, anyway, his being a fictional character making things somewhat difficult....

    Anyway, in “Black Creek Burning,” R.T. Wolfe does an outstanding job of building the suspense, while charming you with scenes of family life you’ll recognize, offering these as a foil to the darkness of her villain. Her side characters were interesting, and I found myself picking the book up at stoplights to squeeze in one or two more sentences, or even a paragraph, if it was a long light (yes, I’m one of those, I apologize if you’ve ever been behind me). So do yourself a favor and pick up a copy of “Black Creek Burning.” You won’t be disappointed.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Yep 59 pages have been removed

    This is not the full book.....just purchased. 59 pages gone.....

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Readers who enjoy stories with a strong sense of place and chara

    Readers who enjoy stories with a strong sense of place and characters with full, interesting lives caught up in non-stop harrowing circumstances should check out R.T. Wolfe's Black Creek Burning.
    Wolfe sets a fast and intense pace right from the first pages, in which main character Brianna Chapman is reliving the nightmare of the fiery death of her parents in the arson fire set for her in the family home. Though six years have passed since the devastating fire, it has left an impact on her life that affects her ability to form intimate relationships of value. In fact, her latest attempt at a relationship has ended with the boyfriend's pronouncement that she is "ice." Still, she has managed to create a rich life populated with family and friends, many who live in the community of Northridge, and some interesting characters who reside in the same cul de sac as Brie, near Black Creek.
    As a teacher and landscaper, the character of Brie is likeable and accessible, despite her apparent emotional wounds. But those wounds are no match for Brianna's new neighbor across the creek, Nathan Reed, who comes with two rambunctious young nephews and a dog that needs training but takes a liking to Brianna's dog. Though we learn Nathan is a very successful woodworker, he's been less successful at something that matters more to him – being a surrogate dad to his nephews since the death of his brother and sister-in-law. Although the male and female protagonists don't meet until chapter four, there is immediate sexual tension.
    With an adept hand, Wolfe fills the story world of Black Creek Burning with interesting details. Though the amount and range of details throughout the story at times were overwhelming (possible personal issue of my own) and slow down the pace, the details make it easy to feel at home in Wolfe's descriptions. Amid the backdrop of home restoration, the changing seasons, and daily lives of three-dimensional people doing their jobs and caring about people, readers can follow the developing landscape and relationship of the two main characters. In Brianna, Wolfe gives readers insights about emotional baggage and portrays her as a sincere and caring person who is endearing. In Nathan, Wolfe gives readers a sexy and strong man who has depth. With all this going on, can there also be character growth and resolution to the painful suffering Brianna has endured since the fire? Can the love interests survive the threats to life and become a family? You'll have to read the book to find out. Then prepare to go all the way with Wolfe's Black Creek trilogy with books two and three, To Fly in Shadows and Dark Vengeance.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    From the very beginning, I felt like I was there with Brie. Beau

    From the very beginning, I felt like I was there with Brie. Beautiful imagery drew me into her world, from the details of her home and school, right down to the landscaping. I love learning though fiction, and R.T. Wolfe clearly masters quite a few subjects, such as education, home rebuilding, and landscaping, and flawlessly weaves them into the story. I was soon wrapped in both the suspense (stumped!) and romance, turning the pages for both, while enjoying Brie’s relationship with her friends and family (gotta love Liz). It was easy to fall in love with Nathan, and to empathize with Brie, her past, and her current plight. The mystery was very well done, and the romance beautifully developed. I look forward to more!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    From the tension-packed opening scene, Black Creek Burning had m

    From the tension-packed opening scene, Black Creek Burning had my attention and didn’t let go. J.T. Wolfe writes down-to-earth, sensitive, witty characters I’d love to have as friends. Descriptive details are chosen with such precision, the reader is vividly transported to Black Creek, a neighbourhood I'd love to call home. Anyone who's ever dreamed of restoring an old house surrounded by pockets of ever-blooming gardens will fall in love with Nathan and Brie. Nathan is a sexy, easy-going hero who knows when to push and when to push harder. Considering Brie is a heroin with a tortured past and a violent stalker, Wolfe delivers a suspenseful, yet heart-warming love story that builds through the pages like a slow burn.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    Great read. Can't wait to dive into the rest of the series. And

    Great read. Can't wait to dive into the rest of the series. And I've read some of these reviews and noticed NO pages missing and the editing was not poor by any means. Im confused as to why someone would say that about this book. You won't be disappointed!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    great read!! very engaging fro the beginning... waiting for Boo

    great read!! very engaging fro the beginning... waiting for Book 2

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Recommend

    Really enjoyed. Look forward to rest of series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    I very much enjoyed this book. On to the next one.

    I very much enjoyed this book. On to the next one.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was enthralled with Black Creek Burning from the very beginnin

    I was enthralled with Black Creek Burning from the very beginning. Watching Brianna struggle with the nightmares of her past was heart wrenching. When those nightmares manifest in her present reality, I was on the edge of my seat. Nathan was an admirable, sexy hero. His love for his nephews was clear, and made me love him even more. R.T. Wolfe does an excellent job of balancing the suspense with the romance, and weaves them both together in an explosive, surprising ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Good book

    This is the first in the Black Creek series. You meet Nathan and his nephews Duncan (age 8) and Alex (age 6) when they move into a run down house next to Black Creek. Their next door neighbor, Brianna is a first grade teacher. This is a very well written story about romance, and a murder mystery. I have read all the Black Creek books and highly recommend them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Engaging mystery plot

    I enjoyed this book a lot and the mystery plot behind the budding romance made for a great weekend read.

    I was glad to see there is a second book in this series and intrigued it is about the kids from book one who are now grown up.

    Thanks for the free book - glad to have been introduced to this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    I AM STILL READING THIS BOOK, BUT AM ENJOYING IT VERY MUCH.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Go for it. It is a page turner

    Only bad thing I would say is that I stayed up and read the whole book in one evening and morning. I will read more of this series.

    John D. Morgan

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4