Customer Reviews for

Black Cross

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Iles knows how to keep the pages turning

A great novel set against the backdrop of WW 2. The story is aptly described in other reviews, so I'll use my review to laud Iles as a unique author who can weave wonderful stories across different genres. Check out The Footprints of God, Blood Memory, Dead Sleep as evi...
A great novel set against the backdrop of WW 2. The story is aptly described in other reviews, so I'll use my review to laud Iles as a unique author who can weave wonderful stories across different genres. Check out The Footprints of God, Blood Memory, Dead Sleep as evidence and Spandau Phoenix to return to the Nazi theme.

posted by smp315 on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

An exercise in inaccuracy and revisionism

I was initially shocked by the promotion of the Haganah by this book (to the layman: a Zionist terror group of the period dedicated to violence against Arabs and the British), and the anti-Arab sentiments promoted by it. Its amazing that while condemning one form of ant...
I was initially shocked by the promotion of the Haganah by this book (to the layman: a Zionist terror group of the period dedicated to violence against Arabs and the British), and the anti-Arab sentiments promoted by it. Its amazing that while condemning one form of anti-semitism it actively promotes the other.

Beyond that the inaccuracies were horrible. Mundane details like uniform colors were wrong. Did they even address why a Waffen SS officer was at a Concentration Camp and not the front?

Its like the author wrote this novel with research from a cursory glance at wikipedia. Sure he tells a lively story full of drama and characters, but at what expense? The promotion of brutal terrorists and complete inaccuracies of sometimes the most fundamental nature.

I cannot recommend this book for anyone because to do so is to encourage them to misunderstand history and further deep-rooted misconceptions about the formation of today's conflict between Arabs and Jews.

posted by 2031273 on October 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Iles knows how to keep the pages turning

    A great novel set against the backdrop of WW 2. The story is aptly described in other reviews, so I'll use my review to laud Iles as a unique author who can weave wonderful stories across different genres. Check out The Footprints of God, Blood Memory, Dead Sleep as evidence and Spandau Phoenix to return to the Nazi theme.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Great Book

    I enjoy all of Greg's books and this one did not disappoint I would recommend to anyone who likes historical fiction. The plot while fiction has a terrifying ring of truth to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    If you like reading and story telling this is a.....

    MASTERPIECE WORK !!!!! Greg Iles is the best writer I have ever known. No wonder!! He plays in a band with Stephen King and other writers, Ha!
    Just gota read this and all his other books you will just love this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    amazing!

    I got this book for my husband who loves it. When he finished it he said i HAD to read it. I was pretty skeptical at first, thinking its not my style of reading or whatever. But man was i wrong. This book pulls you in through its amazing story, and continues to pull and pull until your nearing the end and cant put it down. The characters have real feelings and emotions that play out into real people during a time period where many people were emotionless and turned their head the other way. I am now sending this book to my dad to read and recommending it to just about everyone i know. There is a lot of information to take in so it feels like you've been reading forever, but its definitely worth it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    An exercise in inaccuracy and revisionism

    I was initially shocked by the promotion of the Haganah by this book (to the layman: a Zionist terror group of the period dedicated to violence against Arabs and the British), and the anti-Arab sentiments promoted by it. Its amazing that while condemning one form of anti-semitism it actively promotes the other.

    Beyond that the inaccuracies were horrible. Mundane details like uniform colors were wrong. Did they even address why a Waffen SS officer was at a Concentration Camp and not the front?

    Its like the author wrote this novel with research from a cursory glance at wikipedia. Sure he tells a lively story full of drama and characters, but at what expense? The promotion of brutal terrorists and complete inaccuracies of sometimes the most fundamental nature.

    I cannot recommend this book for anyone because to do so is to encourage them to misunderstand history and further deep-rooted misconceptions about the formation of today's conflict between Arabs and Jews.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Decent Story

    I've read several other Greg Iles books and have always previously enjoyed the twists they take.. This book was an good read.. It just didn't have the same suspense level I'd come to expect. Liked very much the opening into the story and expected more back and forth during the story which never happened, so that was a litle disappointing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    A Must Read

    Spandau Phoenix, Black Cross and Blood Memory....absolute must-reads....they're so good, you'll go back and re-read them after several years...I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Black Cross by Greg Isles

    This is an excellent book. It took a bit to read it but was worth the time and effort I spent to get through it. It really made me stop and think all the way through. I had to remember history and then remind myself that it really was a book and then I had to convince myself that it really could be that way! It was hard to put down because of all the details involved. Excellent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    best ww ii novel

    Perhaps the best ww ii novel I have ever read! A diverse and complex set of characters are made very real. Brings to life the cruelty of the camps like nothing I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    good book

    good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2007

    greatest war book i have ever read

    BLACK CROSS, based in 1944, takes you on a journey of a young man trying to get revenge on the germans for killing his brother, and another man who is fighting for vengeance for his fathers death in the concentration camp totenhausen. All this to just find themselves to see the first level of hell on earth, only to see the hidden truth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Another favorite book

    This book was so well written. Great detail and i liked how the author switched from 1st to 3rd person. The book had a great storyline, plot, twists, characters, everything. Everything about this book was fantastic. I strongly recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2005

    if you're a wwII buff, this book has your name written all over it.

    great read, started off a bit slow i think, but otherwise very entertaining. some great twists and turns. makes you believe that this actually happend, the details are amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2002

    In the same class as Demille and Ludlum

    I loved this book, I came across it by accident...just noticed it on the shelf while looking for something to read. The first page had me hooked, I had to take it everywhere with me just so I could read a few pages whenever I had the chance! This is the first book I have read by Greg Iles and I am on the way to get another one, Spandau Phoenix....I recommend this to anyone who enjoys suspense,action and a little romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2002

    A ROLLER COASTER RIDE OF THRILLS

    Voice performer Jay O. Saunders gives spellbinding reading to this sometimes horrifying always compelling tale of World War II. All eyes were on Europe in January, 1944, waiting for the Allied invasion of Europe. While elsewhere and known only to few a dramatic and life threatening scenario has begun. Winston Churchill has become aware that top Nazi scientists have produced Sarin, a ghastly new weapon, a nerve gas that could kill untold numbers. Obviously, this must be stopped and the one way to do it is chilling and dangerous. An unlikely pair, a pacifist Southern doctor and a Jewish assassin undertake this task. Their mandate is to destroy Sarin, no matter the cost, even the loss of their own lives. From opening words to final tape author and reader take listeners on a roller coaster ride of harrowing escapades and unimaginable terror.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    The Skeptic

    It was before our trip to big bear. i was at the mall and i was searching for book. I found this book in a corner all alone. It wasnt what i expected. The suspense kept me reading and anticipating while the strong emotions and events made me think and realize what kind of a world we live in. It also showed me that sacrifice is not just a word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    I couldn't stop reading it!!!

    I absolutely LOVED this book. I picked it up over Christmas break, and read it in three days. Iles's style is unparalled, and the story grabs you by the pants and forces you to hold on. From the Highlands of Scotland to concentration camps of Germany, 'Black Cross' fascinates the senses and delivers untold suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2001

    Great read - time well spent!

    WW II enthusiasts, spy-readers, thriller fans will not be disappointed. Author has a great writing style and gets the reader involved with the characters intimately. If you like books that, during reading, prompt you to think 'how the heck are they gonna get out of this?' many times and then deliver a plausible, interesting, thoughtful resoloution you will enjoy this book (and this Author).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    Fascinating, Couldn't put it down

    One of the best war thrillers I've had the pleasure of reading. Style of writing is unique.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3