Customer Reviews for

Black Diamond Death

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Fantastic book, great characters, well written

    For her first published book, I was impressed. The storyline was easy to follow, and the fast pace made it a fun read that kept the action going fairly consistently throughout the book. It had both creative and imaginative elements to it that showcase the authors personality.

    The prologue is an immediate draw because the author takes a moment to introduce the victim to the reader. The protagonist (Sloane) has a lot of depth to her character and the sidekick Maddie is hilarious. I enjoyed the back and forth banter between the two characters. I also liked that the novel doesn't give up the killer right away and allows the reader to draw their own conclusions until late in the book.

    The setting in this series takes place in Park City, UT and details about the location are dispersed throughout the novel and give the reader a nice feel for the area, and it's a nice break from tradional locations used in a lot of books these days.

    I recommend it for a "light" thriller/cozy mystery read. It's definitely worth the money.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    If you love murder mystery with a woman sleuth, you will enjoy r

    If you love murder mystery with a woman sleuth, you will enjoy reading this first book of the Sloane Monroe series. Sloane is a private investigator who works her cases until the end. She is very independent sometimes finding herself in dangerous situations. She is surrounded by a cast of characters that make her life and the story very interesting. The author adds a touch of humor, romance and Sloane’s dog Lord Berkeley to enhance the
    story.
    Two murders, many suspects, many twists and turns….This book is fast paced and keeps
    you on your toes as you accompany Sloane. Make time to read as once you start you will
    want to keep reading until the end!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Enjoyed and look forward to reading her next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Wonderful Book! Highly Recommend!!

    As soon as I started reading this book, Black Diamond Death, I was intrigued and hooked! For this being Cheryl's first book, I was very impressed--she has quite a gift for writing! The story-line is great, you don't know who the killer is until the end, like it should be of course(!!), but leading up to it is so much fun to read! A little bit of romance, mixed with mystery, good for all ages! I couldn't stop reading this, it's very catching and intriguing, it grabbed my attention right from the beginning in the Prologue. Can't wait for book #2!! Way to go my friend! You have the gift!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Good read

    Good read. Went fast so I'm not convinced 450+ pages is accurate. I'm a fast reader but finishing it in 5 hrs is a stretch. It was good and I'm off to see if she has any more books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2014

    You have no pulse if you aren't hooked by the first scene! Sloan

    You have no pulse if you aren't hooked by the first scene! Sloane Monroe is a great hero with very real quirks and very real problems, plus she has a murder to solve. Or was it just a simple accident? The reader follows every twist and turn Sloane's Sherlockian mind takes, each one revealing more complexity than the last. Cheryl Bradshaw has crafted a well written, intriguing mystery which makes for a very enjoyable read. I'm off to get book two in the series, right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2014

    This is the first book in the Sloane Monroe series. There is a l

    This is the first book in the Sloane Monroe series. There is a lot of action, and the story holds your attention. Each book in the series gets more exciting and suspenseful. I highly recommend this whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT READ! I was looking for something different to read and s

    GREAT READ!

    I was looking for something different to read and stumbled upon this series. This is the first book in the Sloan Monroe series. It was fantastic, and I am completely hooked. I don't know how I have never read anything from Ms. Bradshaw, but I am off to purchase the rest of the series now!

    This was a quick read that had me sucked in from the very first paragraph! Love the main character. She and her sidekick Maddie were great! This was very well written and well edited. There were lots of twists and turns and it just keeps getting better the more pages you turn.

    Thanx for a wonderful read Ms. Bradshaw, I am off to find more of Sloan Monroe!

    -- SPeeD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Weak mystery

    A fairly mediocre murder mystery, not much going for it, glad it only cost me $0.99.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    Quick, Light Read but not "snowy"

    While this novel had interesting characters in a classic who-dun-it format, from the book title and cover I was expecting it to revolve around or entail a skiing environment. However, just the first chapters had an Honorable Mention of skiing and/or snow. The story line actually involves two sub-plots which are resolved by entirely divergent means. The dialogue is good, with some snappy repartee but the main character needs development and/or depth - perhaps therein lies the "fluff" (the snow analogy). Enjoyable as a quick, light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Excellent read!!!!

    I really enjoyed this mystery romance. It will really keep you on your toes. Sloanes character is magnificent. The plot will keep u guessing. This author knows how to write!! Will read more of her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    V

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Was ok.

    Thought it dragged on a little too long but had some interesting spots. Good for the change in scenery from what I'd been reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2