Customer Reviews for

The Black Echo (Harry Bosch Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(239)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(72)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ SERIES!!!

This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he ...
This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he writes! This series gets your heart pounding as Harry Bosch gets closer and closer to the killer. When the book is over, only then will you realize you were holding your breath the whole time, and you won't be able to wait to pick up the next in the series.

If you are planning to read this series I suggest that you go to Michael Connelly's web site and get a list of all his books. He also has the Terry McCaleb, Jack McEvoy, Rachel Walling and Mickey Haller series that all intertwine with the Harry Bosch series. I recommend that you read the books in the order they were written because it lets you get to know and understand these characters as they will all come into contact and have relations with Harry Bocsh in the following books. Enjoy!

posted by ashoubre on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love that Harry Bosch! sandy

Where is this guy when you need him! This is the guy you want your side! A overlay of lively characters and side stories! Whoooha!!!

posted by 9928044 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 61
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ SERIES!!!

    This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he writes! This series gets your heart pounding as Harry Bosch gets closer and closer to the killer. When the book is over, only then will you realize you were holding your breath the whole time, and you won't be able to wait to pick up the next in the series.

    If you are planning to read this series I suggest that you go to Michael Connelly's web site and get a list of all his books. He also has the Terry McCaleb, Jack McEvoy, Rachel Walling and Mickey Haller series that all intertwine with the Harry Bosch series. I recommend that you read the books in the order they were written because it lets you get to know and understand these characters as they will all come into contact and have relations with Harry Bocsh in the following books. Enjoy!

    80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    First Bosch Novel

    This is my third Connelly book,but first of the Harry Bosch series I have read.It turns out this is the first of the Bosch series Connelly wrote.I've really enjoyed all three books so far and look forward to many more.

    While it is true this book contains many of the common cliches of crime novels,as other reviewers have stated,they don't take away from the readers enjoyment of this book.The story and characters still come off as believable.The occasional element of humor throughout the book makes it all the more enjoyable.The scene when Harry handcuffs the two internal affairs officers to the tree had me laughing out loud.All in all a good page turner.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I'll buy more of this series.

    I loved the Lincoln Lawyer and when this book was offered for 99 cents, I eagerly bought it. I enjoyed the read, especially after reading a dreary cheap Nook book. I have already bought the second Harry Bosch book, Black Ice, and look forward to getting into that!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Outstanding read

    Just enough twists to keep the balance. Great flow. Outstanding job here Michael.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Love that Harry Bosch! sandy

    Where is this guy when you need him! This is the guy you want your side! A overlay of lively characters and side stories! Whoooha!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Needs to research!!

    It is VERY clear that the author knows nothing of firearms, explosives or thier use. Harry didn't smell Cordite after C4 jad been used and the pd could tell that guns were full auto based on the impressions the butt plates made in the dirt!! Wow Mr Connelly can send me his next draft and I will edit the firearms,explosives and medical passages for free!

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Wonderful

    Picked this up for. 99 would have been glad to pay the full price. Connelly is awesome.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Easy Read

    I found The Black Echo to be a very enjoyable and easy read. The story flowed from beginning to end with a level of detail that brought the story to life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Loved it

    I could not put this book down from start to finish it was great...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Good Read

    I bought this book because it was only 99 cents. I was pleasantly surprised at the way it kept my interest. I am going to continue to read the rest of the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Disappointing

    I found reading the book to be "tedious" ...one boring description after another of the routes Harry Bosch took driving thru LA. Also, there were many confusing/poorly constructed sentences... mistakes in punctuation and grammar. I was surprised because I have read and enjoyed several of Connelly's other books including The Lincoln Lawyer (my favorite) The Scarecrow and The Poet.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved it

    A terrific story highly recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Slow read

    I bought this book as a 99 cent featured nook book. The reviews were great, but I cannot finish this book. It bores me to tears. I am abandoning a book for the first time ever. It's a typical who done it detective story. Very slow, unoriginal story. Not worth .99 to me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Unhappy with author

    These two boks are the same except for the first several pages. Ir read black echo and started black ice and was very dissapointed to see that the boks were baseicly the same. shame on the author or publisher for this disception.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great cops and robbers book

    Great book good writing and storyline. Now I want to read the whole series . Ive never read Connelly before but certainly will continue to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    An enchanting reaf

    This was my first novel by Miachel connelly. First i must say that the plot of the novel was quite good, how the seemingly disparate ends were tied up an progressed along. However, the end was not as enchanting as the beginning and middle sections of the plot. Yet, i would say that the author has done a very good job in presenting the different situations be it either at LAPD or at Vietnam tunnels. All in all both timeanc money well spent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Very good read

    This was my first Harry Bosch adventure. I enjoyed the writting of the story and the character. It has led me to purchase the next one in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    AVO

    Good twists, kept me guessing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I'd recommend this book...

    I'm new to Michael Connelly. I thought this book was a worthwhile read...it flowed nicely, the characters were developed sufficiently, and the plot was interesting...even though you do figure out "whodunnit" before it is exposed in the story line. But that's not always a bad thing because it adds to the suspense of when the hero will learn all the facts that you've learned through the development of the story. It was also educational in that I never really knew anything that detailed about our involvement in Vietnam.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Readable and realalistic

    Michael has become one of my favorite authors

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1208 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 61