Customer Reviews for

The Black Echo (Harry Bosch Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(398)

4 Star

(424)

3 Star

(239)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ SERIES!!!

This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he ...
This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he writes! This series gets your heart pounding as Harry Bosch gets closer and closer to the killer. When the book is over, only then will you realize you were holding your breath the whole time, and you won't be able to wait to pick up the next in the series.

If you are planning to read this series I suggest that you go to Michael Connelly's web site and get a list of all his books. He also has the Terry McCaleb, Jack McEvoy, Rachel Walling and Mickey Haller series that all intertwine with the Harry Bosch series. I recommend that you read the books in the order they were written because it lets you get to know and understand these characters as they will all come into contact and have relations with Harry Bocsh in the following books. Enjoy!

posted by ashoubre on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love that Harry Bosch! sandy

Where is this guy when you need him! This is the guy you want your side! A overlay of lively characters and side stories! Whoooha!!!

posted by 9928044 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    First Bosch Novel

    This is my third Connelly book,but first of the Harry Bosch series I have read.It turns out this is the first of the Bosch series Connelly wrote.I've really enjoyed all three books so far and look forward to many more.

    While it is true this book contains many of the common cliches of crime novels,as other reviewers have stated,they don't take away from the readers enjoyment of this book.The story and characters still come off as believable.The occasional element of humor throughout the book makes it all the more enjoyable.The scene when Harry handcuffs the two internal affairs officers to the tree had me laughing out loud.All in all a good page turner.

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Easy Read

    I found The Black Echo to be a very enjoyable and easy read. The story flowed from beginning to end with a level of detail that brought the story to life.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    Good Read

    I bought this book because it was only 99 cents. I was pleasantly surprised at the way it kept my interest. I am going to continue to read the rest of the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Great cops and robbers book

    Great book good writing and storyline. Now I want to read the whole series . Ive never read Connelly before but certainly will continue to.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    An enchanting reaf

    This was my first novel by Miachel connelly. First i must say that the plot of the novel was quite good, how the seemingly disparate ends were tied up an progressed along. However, the end was not as enchanting as the beginning and middle sections of the plot. Yet, i would say that the author has done a very good job in presenting the different situations be it either at LAPD or at Vietnam tunnels. All in all both timeanc money well spent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Very good read

    This was my first Harry Bosch adventure. I enjoyed the writting of the story and the character. It has led me to purchase the next one in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    AVO

    Good twists, kept me guessing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    I'd recommend this book...

    I'm new to Michael Connelly. I thought this book was a worthwhile read...it flowed nicely, the characters were developed sufficiently, and the plot was interesting...even though you do figure out "whodunnit" before it is exposed in the story line. But that's not always a bad thing because it adds to the suspense of when the hero will learn all the facts that you've learned through the development of the story. It was also educational in that I never really knew anything that detailed about our involvement in Vietnam.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    An excellent book, good characters

    I really enjoyed the way the Vietnam tunnel warfare was integrated with the plot. A good detective novel. RECOMMENDED

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Great Book

    Very enjoyable. Blew through it. I will definitely be reading more from this author. Get it while it is 99 cents.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    s Excellent mystery

    Very enjoyable. Got me hooked on the Bosch series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    Good read, if a little slow moving

    I first read a Connelly book this summer. It was nine dragons, which I believe is the most recent book in this series. I didn't know it was part of a sereis until I had almost finished, but I really liked the Bosch character, and decided to read more of the series. After reading this book, I beleve I will read the whole sereis. I woud sy that for a mystery thriller, its thrills are nkt the best, but the mystery is pretty good. I thought that the characters were really good though, especially Bosch. I would recommend this book to any who enjoys a good detective thriler.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    So so.

    I agree with other readers that it was difficult to accept this story's premise that the main character/detective had to work without support and against his boss, fellow officers and the FBI in order to pursue his investigation. If you can get past that illogical assumption, then it is a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good detective and detective story!

    Michael Connelly has created a lead character who is likeable, capable, but not overly inflated to be believable. His Harry Bosch is really fun to read. I can picture him saying and doing these things which is what a good write does, create environments. While the twist was predictable the overall book was good and the set up was intriguing. I will happily look to read the next book in series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    First read of Michal Connelly

    I planmned on trying this new author based on recommendation. I decided to start with the series on Harry Bosh. The first read, Black Echo was the style that the summary suggested. Unpredicitable, whitty, rougish, etc.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Completely New to Connelly and "Bosch"

    I enjoy the mystery/thriller genre, reading Baldacci, Child, Grisham, Burke, Lescroart, Sandford, Crais, Lehane....but never Connelly until now. I'm one who sticks with a book and rarely ever give up before seeing it through to the end....wasn't so sure if this one had a chance to make the "garbage can before the last page" list. Early on in The Black Echo, thoughts like "when is this going to pick up?" and "what is so great about this series?" crept in here and there. After about 100 pages....BAM, it picks up in a hurry. As many other reviewers have noted, the plot twists and turns (and isn't that why we read these types of books?) and the characters are VERY well developed. Connelly weaves a great police procedural, while creating subtle and obvious subplots. One feels and sees from not only Bosch's viewpoint, but also other central and even peripheral characters' perspectives.

    Just finished this one up and already starting on Black Ice, the 2nd in the Bosch series. Can't wait to read and then come back with a review. If you haven't tried Connelly's works yet, start here and see what you think.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Black Echo....

    I've read all of Michael Connelly books so thought I'd share the first one with my husband....he thought it was great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Good Introduction to the Connelly series of novels

    I would recommend this as a good srat to the crime writers of the present. I believe most of Connelly books are pretty enjoyable and a good read. I like the characters and the realism.I have read I think all of Connelly's novels and this is pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just started reading him and started with this book. Since then I have read in succession two others, personally I think this was one of the best I read to date. I cant wait to get through the rest of the series. His writing is superb, the story always seems to keep me from putting it down. Black Echo was a great read and I recommend it highly to anyone looking for a great story in the crime scene genre. I was looking for a writer who was accomplished and had several books out with a character to follow, someone recommended him to me and I am so glad. Connelly is gifted and he keeps you hooked. I hope more people find this book and give it a try. The way the Bosch character has grown in just the three I have read so far is very well done. I cant wait to read them all..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2002

    Very entertaining!

    I read another 'Bosch' novel (Trunk Music) first (and thoroughly enjoyed it) and then realized that I should have started at the beginning. Connolly is a fine writer and I would recommend him and his books to anyone interested in the 'crime scene' genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 424 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22