Customer Reviews for

The Black Echo (Harry Bosch Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(399)

4 Star

(424)

3 Star

(239)

2 Star

(66)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ SERIES!!!

This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he ...
This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he writes! This series gets your heart pounding as Harry Bosch gets closer and closer to the killer. When the book is over, only then will you realize you were holding your breath the whole time, and you won't be able to wait to pick up the next in the series.

If you are planning to read this series I suggest that you go to Michael Connelly's web site and get a list of all his books. He also has the Terry McCaleb, Jack McEvoy, Rachel Walling and Mickey Haller series that all intertwine with the Harry Bosch series. I recommend that you read the books in the order they were written because it lets you get to know and understand these characters as they will all come into contact and have relations with Harry Bocsh in the following books. Enjoy!

posted by ashoubre on March 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Love that Harry Bosch! sandy

Where is this guy when you need him! This is the guy you want your side! A overlay of lively characters and side stories! Whoooha!!!

posted by 9928044 on April 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ SERIES!!!

    This is the first book of the thrilling Harry Bosch Series. Although this book isn't my favorite of the series, it really sets you up and helps you get to know Harry and how he operates. Michael Connely is a fantastic writer who gets better and better with each book he writes! This series gets your heart pounding as Harry Bosch gets closer and closer to the killer. When the book is over, only then will you realize you were holding your breath the whole time, and you won't be able to wait to pick up the next in the series.

    If you are planning to read this series I suggest that you go to Michael Connelly's web site and get a list of all his books. He also has the Terry McCaleb, Jack McEvoy, Rachel Walling and Mickey Haller series that all intertwine with the Harry Bosch series. I recommend that you read the books in the order they were written because it lets you get to know and understand these characters as they will all come into contact and have relations with Harry Bocsh in the following books. Enjoy!

    80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    I'll buy more of this series.

    I loved the Lincoln Lawyer and when this book was offered for 99 cents, I eagerly bought it. I enjoyed the read, especially after reading a dreary cheap Nook book. I have already bought the second Harry Bosch book, Black Ice, and look forward to getting into that!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    Outstanding read

    Just enough twists to keep the balance. Great flow. Outstanding job here Michael.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Wonderful

    Picked this up for. 99 would have been glad to pay the full price. Connelly is awesome.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Loved it

    I could not put this book down from start to finish it was great...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Loved it

    A terrific story highly recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Readable and realalistic

    Michael has become one of my favorite authors

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great

    I don't know who I love the most Harry or Micheal. I have decided to read them in order......great story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Loved this book

    This is my first read by Michael Connelly and it was wonderful. Can't wait to read more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Extremely difficult to put down....

    .... and when it is down I'm still thinking about it!!! An

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Great

    highly recommend. Couldnt stop reading. Didnt really know who did it til the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved this book. I had figured out some items but it never bored me for one moment. Had to read it until I was done! Five starts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    Loved it. Many twist.

    I enjoyed reading the Black Echo. It has many fast moving twist that keep you reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    Loved it

    All of the books in the series are great Michael Connelly always leaves you wanting more and more. Couldn't put the book down best writer for me hands down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Black Echo

    I actually read this book about a year ago, but I wanted to write a review for it now. This book is really great. Michael Connelly is a great writer who never disappoints and the Harry Bosch character is one of the greatest characters in literature. Read all of Michael Connelly's books, but I would read them in the order the order that they were publicized.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Fantastic Read

    the Harry Bosch character is defiant amazing and just plain great!
    All a guy wants in a book and more.... action mystery adventure and some romantic situations.
    I recommmend this book for anyone starting to get into reading and also those who just like fun books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put it down!

    I had read a few of the Harry Bosch books but hadn't read the first. So glad I did! Lots of twists and turns. Sucks you right in!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    The Bkack Echo

    OUTSTANDING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2009

    Go get'em!

    I came across the Bosch series a few weeks ago and I'm hooked. I've just ordered two more plus just finished The Lincoln Lawyer, one of the best ever. The plots are amazing and characters real-life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    Bosch Begins

    This is a surprisingly good kickoff to one of the most successful detective series of all time. I'm shocked this hasn't been made into a movie; maybe that's a good thing. This book will also remind you how far we've come with technology in the last 15 years; cell phones have really spoiled us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20