Customer Reviews for

Black Friday (Maggie O'Dell Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Good action read, but not for the romance seekers

    This was really enjoyable. It captured me from the beginning. It makes you think "what if" and how would you react in that type of situation. I am a huge fan of Alex Kava, she is my favorite author. I am starting to see less character development with each book, however. It seems as if Ms. Kava is getting slightly bored with the characters. The other thing that I really dislike is the romances Maggie has, or lack thereof. There is very little romance, and it is thrown in there randomly just to be there. I would like to see Maggie develop a steamy romantic relationship, instead of keeping Nick on a leash, so to speak. During this book, there was a big ordeal about the sparks and the two of them almost kissing, and then it just ended. Find a love interest, or love triangle, and develop on it, and I would be a happy reader! All in all, very intense read, but not for action/romance fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent read

    Keeps you reading to the end. Stayed up late to many nights, hard to put down. Plus I live in the Minnesota, that made it even more thrilling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    MUST READ

    I HAVE ENJOYED THE ENTIRE MAGGIE O'DELL SERIES. LOOKING FOR MORE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Mason

    Ur not good at nook sex. Ur not dirty. Ur not explicit. Ur not sexii.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Ok

    Didn't enjoy this one as much as previous O'Dell books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Kava has done it again!

    Haven't finished reading quite yet but so far it is Kava at his supreme. So far haven't found a book by Kava I haven't enjoyed . This is another page turner that's hard to put down. Maggie has a new boss that you hope has to eat his tie so to speak! Thank you Alex Kava, and PLEASE, keep it coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Loved it

    Good Read. It was a fast read because I didn't want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    Was a good book. Enjoyed the story line. Left you guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    I fell in love with Alex Kava with her first book!

    When I reasd her very first book I feel in love with her, she is so good you can't put her down. I sat up and read her until 2 in the Morning readsing cause, I just didn't wan't to put it down. She is so good I can't wait till her next book comes out.I own everyone she has ever wrote. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS AND HER!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Great book!

    I loved this book. Maggie O'Dell never disappoints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK Alex Kava is a wonderful writer and I can't wait for her next offering to read! Please join this Author's ride through the action she has so wonderfully created.

    I have read all of her books I like how she has made Maggie O'dell a wonderful character to follow. The characters around Maggie are people you would want around in life. The books take off in from the first chapter! Alex puts you in the head and thought process of all the characters good or evil!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2010

    Black Friday

    I have read all of Alex Kava's novels and look forward to each one. This book was my least favorite in the Maggie series. I did not enjoy the constant references of who characters were because if you had been reading her series you would know this, so it was a little aggravating and distracting at times. I do not like her new boss and the fact that she and Tully are blamed for Cunningham's death, but that is what makes a book interesting and enjoyable. Of course I would have liked a little more involvement from Tully and also to have seen a little more from Ben in this one as well. Not sure I like where the book is headed with Homeland Security as my husband works for Homeland Security, so this bores me. Homeland Security is not nearly as exciting as the FBI because my father was in the FBI, so I know firsthand both sides. I did enjoy the theory of the third person again as it has long been suspected there was a third person...just makes you really wonder the truth about that. Overall it was a good book (and you can't touch on everything or it would be 700 pages), but not sure I want to go shop at the Mall of America anytime soon! I will keep reading Alex Kava as she is my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A little Kava and you need no expresso!

    From the explosive opening in the Mall of America, the reader is entwined in the lives of some known regulars and new young characters. The latest installment in the Maggie O' Dell series, one worthy of comparison to Patterson's, Alex Cross. An amazing venture into the dark side of humanity, and those that fight it at different levels. Kava is a top notch read for any one a fan of the mystery genre, do your self a favor and read this and all of her books, they should be issued with a straw.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kava's New Thriller Never Let's The Reader Set The Book Down

    "Out of breath, she leaned against a concrete bench. And that's when it happened. The explosion sent vibrations under her feet almost knocking her over. It was too late.she was too late" (Kava 281). Black Friday is a novel packed with thrill, excitement, and heart-stopping events that never let's the reader have a moment to breath. The story opens out in the Mall of America, on Black Friday. Seeing a group of teenagers walk around through a mall would never be considered unusual to local shoppers. However, these few college kids had something else in mind. With their red backpacks filled with radar jammers, they had hopes of disrupting the computer systems in the mall. They thought they were the one's pulling the trick on others, but in fact they were the ones being tricked. Remote controlled bombs with the punch to knock out the entire mall were in the packs instead. From pranksters to suicide bombers, the bombs not only triggered a chain reaction of deaths, but chaos ran throughout the entire nation. Maggie O'Dell, the FBI secret agent on the case tries to work with the mall security staff to try to review some of the footage before the explosions. When things just couldn't seem to get worse, she notices on one of the lower level cameras that her half-brother, Patrick, is one of the alleged "suicide" bombers. Nobody truly understands who is behind the whole event. In the race against time and prevention of another bomb attack, Maggie is pushed to her limits. Sacrificing herself and the lives of many others is what it may take to finally bring the unknown killer to his demise.
    One of the major themes in this story was the idea that even when things look bad, never give up. It was almost impossible to track a person(s) that could have detonated a bomb nowhere near the mall. Working off such little information, they still managed to save hundreds, maybe thousands of lives by never giving up and putting others before themselves, even if it meant risking their lives. What I personally like about this book is that the author always keeps the reader on his/her toes. It's almost as if the entire story is a climax. Though she doesn't go very in-depth with the explosions, the reader is still able to picture the destruction and massacre of lives through her voice. What could have been worked on is that fact that towards the end of the story, it almost seems as if it was rushed. It seems like the story should have been a few pages longer and just leaves the reader feeling slightly confused. Someone should read this book because of its thrill factor. The reader can draw so many connections from passed events in their lives, such as 9/11 or Hiroshima, that it feels like Black Friday is based off true events. I would highly recommend this book to any young adult or older interested in a thrilling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another 5 STAR review for Maggie O'Dell

    I always wait for Alex Kava books. Wish we could get her to write 2 books a year. Her books are fast paced and each of the chapters leaves you wanting more. I find myself reading late into the night because of this. I enjoy how Kava writes true crime into her novels -- bits & pieces from the news, past & present. Its WOW, that she even considered "backpacks" for her crime -- and look how that was actually being considered???

    In this latest thriller she brings in surrounding characters and their interaction with Maggie O'Dell is what we're all looking for - more Maggie. I was impressed that she's making something happen between Nick and Maggie. That's been important to my following her series.

    If you enjoy fast reads -- and like true life thrillers, this one couldn't have come at a better time. Kava writes for either gender. Read for entertainment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A true page turner!

    Alex Kava never fails to keep a fan excited! I could not put this book down and I truly love the Maggie O'Dell series, I am left thirsty for more and I can't wait for her next book! Alex Your such an awsome writer worthy of the best seller's list.
    -thank you from your biggest fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good read-entertaining

    This book was a fast read and kept me entertained. The plot was thought provoking and well written. I enjoy the characters but am getting tired of the back and forth unresolved issues between Maggie & Nick. Alex Kava needs to make up her mind regarding those two characters, it reminds me of other books in which the main character cant ever resolve his or her issues in life and gets boring after awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest O'Dell FBI thriller may be the best case yet

    Looking forward to time off during the long Thanksgiving Day weekend, FBI profiler Maggie O'Dell receives an urgent call from the new assistant director Ray Kunze who replaced her mentor Cunningham after he recently died. Set up by The Project Manager, terrorists bombed the Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota during the busiest shopping day of the year.

    The case proves even more complicated and convoluted, but the Feds learn that college students carrying backpacks were seen just before the bombings. Soon afterward an anonymous tip provides the names of the suspected students including Maggie's half-brother, Patrick Murphy. They thought they were pulling a prank with jamming devices, but instead caused a massacre in which no group claims victory, but the Project Manager using the name Asante knows one of his carriers somehow survived. Still adjusting to a new superior with a different leadership style than she is used to, Maggie believes another strike is imminent as the wizard behind the prank remains an unknown John Doe, but evidence points to another attack imminently.

    The latest O'Dell FBI thriller (see A NECESSARY EVIL and EXPOSED) may be the best case yet for the profiler as her stepbrother is involved making it personal and the brilliant mastermind remains out there plotting the next strike. The story line is action-packed, but it is the pace that hooks the audience as Maggie believes the clock is ticking towards the second series of explosions and for the only survivor. With a plausible premise that will have Tom Ridge screaming red, fans will read BLACK FRIDAY in one sitting.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5