Customer Reviews for

Black Gold (Takhini Wolves Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful

I loved this book, so looking forward to the next one

posted by barefootokie on July 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ugh!

Sometimes this author makes her characters more like caricatures. Gem, for example, is not just the stereo-typical spoiled little rich girl, but she is also out of touch with reality. She never once, not even for a moment, thought that the fact that every one of her un...
Sometimes this author makes her characters more like caricatures. Gem, for example, is not just the stereo-typical spoiled little rich girl, but she is also out of touch with reality. She never once, not even for a moment, thought that the fact that every one of her university classes came to her home as unsual? Then she gets upset when someone wonders how much "Daddy" paid for this front-door service. They did it just because he asked them to. Honestly, its not even naive, its just stupid. Eventually she does show a small amount of growth, but not nearly enough to consider this a good story. Oh, and did i mention Gem was incredibly selfish? At no point was she ever willing to even consider a compromise. I didn't like the character, and I like her development even less. In the end I was left feeling sorry for Shaun. He deserved so much better.

posted by cassandrascurse on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Disappointing

    While i have enjoyed many other books by this author......not this one. Very disappointing. I found the character of Gem to be nothing more than a spoiled, annoying little rich girl. Though her charscter did begin to have some personal growth, it was too little to late to make her a likable character...and especially not enough to make her a good match with Shaun. In the end, i simply felt sorry Shaun; that he got syuck with Gem as a mate. Read the second book in the series, Silver Mine.....much better.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Scrilo Scrider

    Its great but i can't read all of it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Wonderful

    I loved this book, so looking forward to the next one

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Ugh!

    Sometimes this author makes her characters more like caricatures. Gem, for example, is not just the stereo-typical spoiled little rich girl, but she is also out of touch with reality. She never once, not even for a moment, thought that the fact that every one of her university classes came to her home as unsual? Then she gets upset when someone wonders how much "Daddy" paid for this front-door service. They did it just because he asked them to. Honestly, its not even naive, its just stupid. Eventually she does show a small amount of growth, but not nearly enough to consider this a good story. Oh, and did i mention Gem was incredibly selfish? At no point was she ever willing to even consider a compromise. I didn't like the character, and I like her development even less. In the end I was left feeling sorry for Shaun. He deserved so much better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    A truly Fun Sexy Book

    Loved the story line n the people in it. Want to read them all. Shes basically a very good writer with a great imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Excellent book

    Continues with a new pack from granite wolves. Just as interesting and i like the developement of the main charactures. Definately a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed this story. It has two storylines. Our main her

    I really enjoyed this story. It has two storylines. Our main hero and heroine Shaun and Gemmita are a great pair, even if things start off a little rough for them. Gem has lived a very sheltered and in the life of luxury. Now she is stepping out into the Yukon to do research for a paper. She has a lot to prove to her father, the people of town and herself. Shaun has always lived the bachelor life, doing backcountry tours.

    Although this story has the fated mates thing with werewolves, you still see this pair struggle with how they are going make it work for them longterm. There are questions about where they live. Do they stay in the Yukon, which Shaun loves or move to the only home that Gem has ever known.

    There is also a great secondary story with Evan, the alpha and Caroline, his human assistant. Their story was great. I really wished that they had gotten a book of their own, instead of a side story in this book. Hopefully, we will get more of them in future books.
    Overall great story with some suspense and romance. Can't wait to get to book two in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Pat

    Ok you may go back ok.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Mariah

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Lilywolf

    Lilywolf grins and brushes Goldenstripe's pelt happily. "Yes I suppose we should. But I always love coming here!" The tabby nuzzles him lovingly. She is so thankful for him. No one has as pure of a heart as him. The tabby purrs as she walks step for step with him back to camp. Her heart only would belong to him. No matter what, she would always love the golden tom. ~ Lilywolf &hearts P.S. Yes I liked Gale. I like the idea of best friends falling in love (since my best friend from where I use to live... ya miss him so much...). And Gale was overall a great guy. But he just had to go poking his nose into bomb making! Gosh dang you Gale!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Nursery

    GOLDCLAN ONLY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Very Entertaining

    It is very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Tori

    Why

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Can i rp your kid?

    Im very active

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Jack

    What about?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Shimmerstream to all

    RED STREAMFEATHERS PROPHECY AT STORY ALL RESULTS

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Silverclaw to fox

    You're the one who hired me to you know what you aren't you.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Jaysoar to Nyanwolf

    That is a great idea! ((If you don't know what I am talking about, I am talking about the idea of Jaypaw and Goldpaw meeting together at a gathering.)) Luv the story so far! I already made Jaysoar's story part two and three at jaysoar result three and four. Since result two is pre-order, I can't use for now.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Altair

    Im tired... im going to sleep, good night

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Awesome

    Buy this book!! All of Vivian Arends books r soooo good!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4