Customer Reviews for

The Black Gryphon (Mage Wars Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyable, but Not Among Lackey's Best

    I love Lackey's Valdemar novels, and this is set in the same world a thousand years before that country's founding, in the midst of a cataclysmic war referred to more than once in that series. One of Lackey's strengths is her world-building, and that's certainly on display here, with magical races like the gryphons developed in interesting ways, and I liked the title character, Skandranon. The novel kept my interest, was a fairly enjoyable read, and I did go on to read (and mostly enjoy) the next two books in this trilogy, which is why I felt it was fair to give it 3 stars. It doesn't get more than that, because unlike other Lackey books in this world, I can't imagine I'd ever reread it; I don't think it's among Lackey's best, and I wouldn't ever choose these books as an introduction to the author. So if you love Lackey and her Valdemar books already, I think you'll like, even if not love this book; but if you're new to the author, try Arrows of the Queen or Magic's Pawn first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Awesome story!

    Well written, with memorable relatable characters. The black gryphon is always a good read no matter how many times you read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Xavier

    Hannah!!!! Please get back on!!!!! I miss you so much!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Hannah

    Helo?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Spectaculer

    An interesting read with enjoyable characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well Worth Reading

    This is a wonderful and engaging story that hooked me in and wouldn't let me go, I sat down and didn't get up until it was done. I love the characters Skan and Amberdrake are interesting and the story is full of conflict, moral choices, and fleshing out the characters that I really enjoy. Over all it is one of my favorite books and a happy find for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good story, mercedes lackey is a fav in genre

    i like most of mercedes lackey books...at least the ones i have read so far...always entertaining and makes you want to keep reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    "The Black Gryphon" is everything a fantasy book should be...

    I don't remember how old I was when I read this book...but I remember falling in love with it (I've read it 5 times now). Mercedes Lackey does a fantastic job of describing everything (especially the battle scenes) and Dixon does an excellent job of drawing the actual images. People who love the animal-like creatures of fantasy and not just the humans, I just have to say that this is an awesome book. She describes the gryphons actions/battle-scenes extremely well and realistically, it keeps you on the edge of your seat! When you come to the ending though, be warned, and bring a box of tissues...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2002

    BEST BOOK EVER

    I have read this whole series and it was the best I've read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2002

    Interesting Characters amd Plot!!!!!

    I thought that this overall was a good book. The begining was a little...slow I guess. I really enjoyed reading about Skan's personality and I find him pretty funny (in his own ways...) The ending was very good, but I wish that Misty and Larry could have written a little about their travels after (I don't want to give the ending away like some people do in these things...) all the battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    Oh my this is an awsome book.

    This is a great book, and if you don't read it then.... your not cool. J.K. The ending is a huge surprise I hated the book for a couple days bacause of it then I read the sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2001

    Gryphons

    Lackey opens a whole new world to those familar with the other Valdemar books, through this. Showing us what existed before Valdemar was founded and introducing us to the magical and wonderful creatures that are gryphons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    Wow. This book is my favorite!

    Geez, I love this book! It's my fav, and thats saying something, i read a TON! I finished it in a day, and then i checked it out from the library like, ten times! (Yes, i know, i'm obsessed....)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    best book I've read in quite a while

    I just found this book because I could not find anything else, but when I read it, it was excelent. coming from me that is a pretty good compliment for a book, since have read hundreds of them, I am really looking forward to getting the rest of the series, which I am going to get today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2001

    Great Book

    This was the first book of Mercedes Lackey I had ever read. Once you read it you can't put it down and you just have to finish the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2000

    This book is great

    This book is great most book that i have read has a bunch of events lined up like event boring stuff event boring stuff this book seemed to flow it is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    Great Book!

    Exciting book of magic and war, amazing creatures, good and evil. Great for any fantasy reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4