Customer Reviews for

Black Hawk Down [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it even though im 12

    it shows how soldiers work together and survive its a movie that has the best set of actors to play in the movie. its my favorite it tells u what war can do to people u have to see it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just like the movie - Great!

    The CD for this movie is amazing. How Zimmer puts both the American and East African touch to the score is phenomenal. It really makes you "feel" musically what the soldiers went through and some of their emotions. My favs are Barra Barra, and Tribal War. If you're a fan of the movie, the CD is a must-have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular score by Hans Zimmer

    This is simply a great soundtrack for a great movie. If the music doesn't follow the events of the movie exactly on this disc, then in the least it portrays the basic conflict between Americans and Somalis, as the music consists of techno, rock, and traditional African music. Regardless, anyone at all interested in more atmospheric albums would do well to add 'Black Hawk Down' to their collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A different, yet very intriguing soundtrack....

    Hans Zimmer definitely knows his stuff. This soundtrack is amazing. It captures the mysterious awe of war from an outsider's view. The tracks on here also portray an aspect of music that I had never encountered before, North African music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    some good stuff

    this is a very good soundtrack because it show a type of music from a foriegn country... not all of it is from Somolia, Africa. but its all the same type of music, Hanz Zimmer shows a uniq way of telling a storie through music

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE IT!

    This is a very good soundtrack. I listened to this before I saw the movie, and I could pratcially feel the heat of Mogadishu from listening to some of these tracks! Hans Zimmer has, once again, done a great job on yet another great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Amazing

    True this album definately has the gladiator essence, but this is is phenominally better. The modern guitar riffs, the drums and bass, with the overtones of the african corus. One of the best Original Sountracks I have ever heard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Facts

    I just wanted to comment on the previous review headlined ''Disappointed.'' First of all you need to see the movie if you already have not! And what do you mean by ''traditional African music.'' You must have failed geography or else you would have realized where Somalia is. Somalia is on the eastern side of Africa right in the area you would call the ''middle east'' in fact not too far from Sudi Arabia and Yemen! Most Somalians are Sunni Muslims hence the chanting music in the sound track!!! The music reflects the people of Somalia and their religion!!! The music is completely accurate to that part of Africa and the story in the film! Whoever you are that wrote that review needs to learn a little bit more about the world before making stupid uneducated comments!!! By the way the soundtrack is awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    different cultures mix

    This CD is so different from Gladiator but still has some of it's aspects. You can hear the African, American, and some middle eastern music all put into one awsome CD, and almost hear when the Americans come into the movie. My favorite song is barra barra. It's just wonderfully put together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow What an enchanting movie and Soundtrack!! WONDERFUL!

    When I saw Black Hawk Down the second time.. I just loved it! But the music, it blew me away!! This album is amazing.. It has a relaxing feel that sooths the listener. The chanting and graceful voices are phenominal.. Its in my cd player in my car everday!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointed

    After reading the other reviews, I was excited to buy the soundtrack even though I haven't seen the movie. However, I was disappointed. I found the vocal tracks somewhat irritating and some of the music mismatched with the genre of the theme. The vocals are Middle Eastern, not the traditional African that is stated elsewhere. Some tracks are reminicent of The Thin Red Line and MI:2. I thought Lisa Gerrard's talents were poorly used. If you like Middle Eastern chants & songs, then you will enjoy this, but in relation to previous Hanz Zimmer works, I found this one below par.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ethnic music carried the movie

    While the movie wasn't anything out of the ordinary (it was good, just not exceptional), the soundtrack was fantastic! The use of appropriate music to give the audience a better sense of the Arab-African influences of Somalia makes this a must have. Listen to Barra Barra for an excellent example.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BHD - Preliminary Review

    If you're a Zimmer fan, you MUST own this!! It's very similar to GLADIATOR and HANNIBAL, coincidentally Ridley Scott's 2 previous films

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1