Customer Reviews for

Black Hills

Average Rating 4
( 570 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(283)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Nora Roberts

The Queen of suspense-filled romance novels once again treats her loyal fans to a thrill ride of intrigue that twists and turns through the Black Hills of South Dakota. As expected, this ride has well-defined backdrops, with all the sights, sounds, and smells, culminati...
The Queen of suspense-filled romance novels once again treats her loyal fans to a thrill ride of intrigue that twists and turns through the Black Hills of South Dakota. As expected, this ride has well-defined backdrops, with all the sights, sounds, and smells, culminating to give the reader an experience of a life time. Enough with the standing in line...let's get to it.

When Lillian Chance was a teenager, a chance meeting would introduce her to a young man named Cooper Sullivan. During a dinner between Cooper's grandparents and the Chance family, the two would form a bond that spans a lifetime. Years later, both would go on and pursue their dreams. Lil Chance is a world-renowned biologist that specializes in big cats and founded the Chance Wildlife Reserve in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Cooper Sullivan is a cop that also works security. That is, until a colleague of his is murdered. Coop, has finally had enough and returns to the small town in which he grew up.

Hold on tight, 'cause here comes the drop. Just as Coop returns home, he discovers a murderer lurking within the town, and with each new murder getting closer to Lillian, his feelings toward her grow deeper and deeper. Will he be able to protect her? Will the love they once shared be rekindled? Lil still has bitter feelings toward Coop, can she put them aside? I could tell you, but what fun would that be? Nora Roberts has an uncanny ability to build suspense and she does just that in her newest novel. This is a romance, however, and unlike rollercoasters that whip the reader around at breakneck speeds, Black Hills allows the reader to enjoy every aspect of the ride.

Nora Roberts has put great detail and research into the backdrops and this ride is more reminiscent of a themed-coaster and not an old-fashion raise your hands and scream-coaster. That is Nora's style: depth, quality, and substance.

Normally, I like to recommend a few books that fans of this book will equally enjoy, but right now I'm reading something entirely different that I think you'll love: "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" It's a fascinating book and it lets you test your emotional intelligence online which is really cool.

posted by Oscar_Aguilar on July 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed with this book

I am a huge Nora Roberts fan. I own and have read everything she's written. I was really disappointed with this book. Normally the story reaches out and drags you into it. With this one though, I was easily distracted, I didn't really get into the characters or the stor...
I am a huge Nora Roberts fan. I own and have read everything she's written. I was really disappointed with this book. Normally the story reaches out and drags you into it. With this one though, I was easily distracted, I didn't really get into the characters or the story.

It's not a bad book, and still worth reading, just not one of her better books.

posted by ma_book_lover on July 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner from Nora Roberts

    The Queen of suspense-filled romance novels once again treats her loyal fans to a thrill ride of intrigue that twists and turns through the Black Hills of South Dakota. As expected, this ride has well-defined backdrops, with all the sights, sounds, and smells, culminating to give the reader an experience of a life time. Enough with the standing in line...let's get to it.

    When Lillian Chance was a teenager, a chance meeting would introduce her to a young man named Cooper Sullivan. During a dinner between Cooper's grandparents and the Chance family, the two would form a bond that spans a lifetime. Years later, both would go on and pursue their dreams. Lil Chance is a world-renowned biologist that specializes in big cats and founded the Chance Wildlife Reserve in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Cooper Sullivan is a cop that also works security. That is, until a colleague of his is murdered. Coop, has finally had enough and returns to the small town in which he grew up.

    Hold on tight, 'cause here comes the drop. Just as Coop returns home, he discovers a murderer lurking within the town, and with each new murder getting closer to Lillian, his feelings toward her grow deeper and deeper. Will he be able to protect her? Will the love they once shared be rekindled? Lil still has bitter feelings toward Coop, can she put them aside? I could tell you, but what fun would that be? Nora Roberts has an uncanny ability to build suspense and she does just that in her newest novel. This is a romance, however, and unlike rollercoasters that whip the reader around at breakneck speeds, Black Hills allows the reader to enjoy every aspect of the ride.

    Nora Roberts has put great detail and research into the backdrops and this ride is more reminiscent of a themed-coaster and not an old-fashion raise your hands and scream-coaster. That is Nora's style: depth, quality, and substance.

    Normally, I like to recommend a few books that fans of this book will equally enjoy, but right now I'm reading something entirely different that I think you'll love: "Emotional Intelligence 2.0" It's a fascinating book and it lets you test your emotional intelligence online which is really cool.

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I'm a big fan of Nora Roberts' books ... Some of her books seem kind of thrown together pretty fast. Not so with this one. It's long, and she took her time and care with characters, plots, and dialog. I very much enjoyed this book!

    I'm loving my nook from Barnes and Nobles which I just read Black Hills on.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ANOTHER EXCITING NORA FANTASY!

    This is another thrill ride full of twists and turns, bonding, rekindled love, drama,and interesting occupations. From New York City to rural, countryside living in South Dakota, Cooper and Lil's escapades fill the pages with excitement and thrills with love, a serial killer, all to create pure women's fantasy. This one wasn't as suspenseful as I normally like but it was very entertaining, all the same. Some other books I LOVED...

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    The most amazing story

    I love to read all of Nora Roberts books. The only thing is I listen on audiobook unabridged format. That way I can work and listen at the same time. I can't get enough of this story. I have probably listened to it at least 4 times in the past year. This book had a little twist to it from some others. It kept you in suspense as to who was doing the killings and why. It also had the great romance and how life can turn this way and that way but in the end love concurs all. I especially like how Lil's parents were so open and honest about sex and all that it means to people. They made it easy for her to choose and if she did choose to have sex with Coop to be prepared for it. It's such a great book and I would recommend it to everyone.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Whew! Love these "sit on the edge of your seat" ones best!

    Another fabulous storyline! Bravo Nora! Just one more to add to her long list of 5 star reviews! I'd like to recommend an author I recently stumbled across, LINDA MASEMORE PIRRUNG, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, that I absolutely loved! I'm hopeful for a sequel! Check out the reviews! They hooked me big time!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Books

    Nora Roberts is my favorite author. Her books have everything in them and there is always a twist. They can make you cry one minute and scare you the next. Keep up the great work Nora!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    I enjoyed this book so much! I have read most of Nora Roberts's books and this has great characters. Interesting story!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    WOW!!

    WOW! I read this book in two days, I couldn't put it down. I didn't plan to read it in two days, it's a long book. But, man I just couldn't stop! I have read a TON of Nora Roberts books. Black Hills is in my top 2! Probably even in my top 5 favorite books in general. I have no idea how anybody could give this book a poor review. It has romance (both human and animal/human), it's thrilling, exciting, and captivating. It's so good, puts a huge smile on my face just thinking about it. You will fall in love with the characters, the book reads like a movie. I hope the do make it into a movie. It would be awesome! If you plan to read this book, clear your schedule becaue you won't be able to put it down! I won't be loaning out my copy that's for sure, I can't wait to read it again!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    My favorite of Nora Roberts.

    I read all of Nora Roberts's books, and by far, this has been my favorite. It has a classic mix of mystery, romance, and the two main characters mesh well. You can practically see the tension/love between them. Enough said.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    DID NOT FINISH THIS BOOK ***** I WAS BORED !!!!!!

    I have read and loved many Nora Roberts - except this one.

    I was SO DISAPPOINTED - I wasted hours and got about half way thru the book - and it just could not keep my interest. I TRIED AND TRIED THOUGH-- finally - I just decided to skip it. I WILL TELL YOU I DID FIND A BOOK BY CHARLES MARTIN CALLED THE MOUNTAIN BETWEEN US -- NOW THAT AUTHOR KNOWS HOW TO WRITE. I FINISHED THAT ONE IN LESS THAN 2 DAYS.

    SORRY NORA- THIS WAS NOT ONE OF YOUR BEST. I JUST COULD NOT FINISH IT - IT WAS SLOW - AND DIDN'T GET ANYWHERE. DISAPPOINTING !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    Awesome book

    absolutely loved this book..didnt want it to end.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rush To End

    The typical Nora Roberts love story with a dramatic conflict set in the beautiful Black Hills. The story kept you engaged and guessing until the final chapter. The resolution was less well designed than the rest of the book.

    Worth the read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    I am from SD so was interested in finding out what Nora Roberts had to say regarding the Black Hills of SD.

    I have not read a lot of Nora Roberts books but after reading this one which I enjoyed and had a hard time putting down I will look for more of her books.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Truly enjoyed

    Started reading when book arrived.....could not put it down.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    Disappointed with this book

    I am a huge Nora Roberts fan. I own and have read everything she's written. I was really disappointed with this book. Normally the story reaches out and drags you into it. With this one though, I was easily distracted, I didn't really get into the characters or the story.

    It's not a bad book, and still worth reading, just not one of her better books.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent book. It caught you right away and held you till the end. Great book.

    Nora Roberts hit the nail on the head with this book. It was a real interesting one for me and I loved the whole story line and all the characters.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Loved this book--a great summer read!

    The research that went into this writing was very interesting. It held the reader's attention. I was anxious to find out how it ended. Nora Roberts at her best.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    Loved it. Great plot, great characters. 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Slow..... Until the end!

    I have read many of her books and found this one giving too many details about wild animals. It was like a textbook or advertisement. The love story was great and the hunt and chase was exciting. I wanted more story at the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Jamie

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 572 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29