Customer Reviews for

Black Hole Sun

Average Rating 4
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Action packed!

This was a great read. Anyone who likes action or sci-fi will love this book. It takes place on Mars with the main character Jacob Durango. He is a regulator on Mars. A regulator is a person who is privately hired to complete a job because there is no military on Mars. ...
This was a great read. Anyone who likes action or sci-fi will love this book. It takes place on Mars with the main character Jacob Durango. He is a regulator on Mars. A regulator is a person who is privately hired to complete a job because there is no military on Mars. Read the book to find what happens!

posted by 7012761 on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

108 out of 175 people found this review helpful.

Have not read this book and probably won't. But I am tired of p

Have not read this book and probably won't. But I am tired of people rating a book as one star when they didn't even read the book. If you don't like the Free Friday option, don't get it. Email B&N and tell them. Don't give the book a poor rating just because yo...
Have not read this book and probably won't. But I am tired of people rating a book as one star when they didn't even read the book. If you don't like the Free Friday option, don't get it. Email B&N and tell them. Don't give the book a poor rating just because you're a whiner. Just go to the free book section and get something you do like. Gee.

posted by 3833692 on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good read!

    I got this Friday as a freebie and finished it Saturday am. So you can tell I enjoyed the book. An easy but entertaining read and I'm looking forward to the next in the series. I didn't give it all stars due to the typos. Spell check and grammar check should be everyone's friend. I've just recently discovered the world of young adult science fiction and am finding it very enjoyable. (Wish they'd had such a good selection when I was a kid! I'm now 61 and still hooked on sci-fi.)

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Thanks for offering a free book on Fridays! This looks like one

    Thanks for offering a free book on Fridays! This looks like one my children might like. As to the some of the other comments, don't complain about a free book. GO BUY ONE!

    10 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    This forum needs to be monitered

    I feel bad for the writer

    8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Very interesting

    Excellent sci-fi novel with a lot of twists and turns in the plot. The main characters are quite dry and occasionally not engaging; however the two main characters are dynamic and interesting. This is the story of a man forsaken by his society who is dominated by his belief in his training and the rules instilled by his people.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Fun and Imaginative I picked this up as a Free Friday Book and f

    Fun and Imaginative
    I picked this up as a Free Friday Book and finished it the same day. While it had a few more battle scenes 
    than I could appreciate, I found the descriptions and language to be excellent. I even shelled out $10.00 for 
    the next book in the series. A great spring break read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I realize it's difficult for complaining morons to understand, b

    I realize it's difficult for complaining morons to understand, but it's not necessary to scream and rant every week about Free Fridays when one can find many, many, many other free Nook books. If you understand how to look up books in the shop, enter 0.00 and see all the freebies. If you don't like anything on Nook, please go away.

    4 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    This book reminded me a bit of the Firefly universe without being derivitive. It was an entertaining and interesting read.

    For those that like to know: No sex, no swearing (in English).

    I will probably buy the next book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Good story

    Action packed story it could be turned into a cool movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Builds to a great finish

    This book starts off confusing, mainly because I wasn't sure of the ages of characters until midway through the book. Know that Durango is 17 in earth years. The author uses ages in Martian years, mentions earth year equivalents later in the book.
    The other confusing point was the cannibals, while reading about them if you think humanoid like in appearance you will get a better image as to how they look. (I somehow got them looking like insects in my mind, I don't how)
    It is actually a quick fun read, building towards a well imagined battle in the mines of Mars.
    This is what I describe as a popcorn book. Fun, good story, easy to read, and can finish in a couple of hours. Would enjoy reading more from this author.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I LOVE free fridays

    You get free books wich is great because some are good.When you have a choice between left or right choose left.And always choose #2 if you can.

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Good fun

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Good read

    Better than I thought it would be. Action, adventure & even some jokes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    A good sci fic novel, # 1 of 3. The backstory comes later in th

    A good sci fic novel, # 1 of 3. The backstory comes later in the book so be prepared not to understand Jacob's background right away. A smart, strong female fighter companion also which I enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Kelly

    Ok ok...*leaves*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Solid read

    Solid read. Look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Nice read.

    Enjoyed reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick/Fun Read

    Short-take: "Black Hole Sun" by David Macinnis Gill is a quick read set on Mars. A futuristic story that provides enough action scenes, filled with violence and weapons, to sate the action seekers' appetite. Gill also crafts a bit of a romantic storyline to keep the interest of those seeking a character and/or relationship driven story. The two main characters, Durango and Vienne, are relatively well-developed, their relationship a little less so. Gill weaves back-story throughout the book to allow the reader to understand the characters and what motivates them throughout the action. A third main character, Mimi, is Durango's implanted A.I., and the conversations between these two provide some well-placed comic relief. Overall, fun and engaging. I am not usually a fan of books being made into movies; the movies always seem to disappoint. In this instance, almost immediately, I saw a movie in my head while reading this book. The character of Durango would make a great leading man, the sci-fi setting is ripe for the picking, and I keep hearing Imagine Dragons' "Radioactive" as the intro theme...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Great action novel!

    Black Hole Sun is a great read for anyone into sci/fi and action novels. It is definitely packed with action right from the start that kept me turning the page to find out what happens next. To me this was reminiscent of the tv series Firefly, like how they cursed in different languages, so if you were a fan of that show you may enjoy this book. The main character, Durango, is a young man who is a Regulator on Mars. He is an interesting, likeable character with a past that the author holds off on revealing until later in the story. I felt Durango drove the novel well, being a complex protagonist surrounded by a more bland cast of charaters that I was less attached to, the reason I give four stars. Still, this was a fast-paced enjoyable read that I highly recommend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    liked it

    I dont normally read books from this genre but i really enjoyed it. It was action packed with likeable characters. It was hard to follow some of the terminology though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Good story

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4