Customer Reviews for

The Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Reading

    I have gradually gotten interested in learning more about black holes
    and have been looking for an introductory (but not trivial!) book that
    covers the essentials of this topic for a beginner like me. This book
    by Melia meets my requirements very well. It is written for the
    non-technical reader, but is far from trivial or superficial. In fact,
    some of my friends who have already studied relativity tell me that
    they finally understood the basic concepts of Einstein's work after
    reading chapter 3 in this book. So it's clearly not a superficial text.
    But Melia writes with such eloquence and clarity that even difficult
    topics are accessible. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2004

    Great Show!

    Last week I was fortunate to hear Prof. Melia speak on the subject of his two new books, this title, and 'The Edge of Infinity,' and was so impressed I rushed out to get copies of both. I was not disappointed. Both books are very well written, and beautifully produced, with color images throughout. His style is similar to that with which he presented the subject at our amateur astronomy meeting---clear, lively, and thoughtful. I am recommending these to all my friends and relatives. They're the best astronomy books I've read in years, and am looking forward to reading more from him in the years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2003

    Science Writing At Its Best

    Take an exciting and exotic topic like 'black holes' and a gifted writer like Fulvio Melia, and what do you get? A surprisingly and satisfyingly accessible book like 'The Black Hole at the Center of Our Galaxy.' At times it reads like a science fiction novel, until you realize that all of the contents are factual. It's amazing how far astronomers have come in unravelling the mystery behind arguably the most bizarre objects in the universe, and especially the supermassive black hole at the center of our own Galaxy. And Melia does a great job setting the stage and then explaining where things stand. I particularly liked chapter 3, in which he sets out in everyday terms what mass is, and how it is related to gravity. I read it twice before going on to the next. Several questions that have bothered me for years were finally answered. Read this and catch up on where science has gone in the past decade!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    An Exceptional Book!

    This is Fulvio Melia's first book written for the layman and I am very impressed. It's the best book on the subject of black holes that I have ever read. I'm not an expert, but Prof. Melia made me feel like I could understand this subject like a professional scientist. In my opinion, he's the leader of a new generation of popularizers of science, in the tradition of Sagan and Hawking. This is a must read for anyone with an interest in astronomy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1