Customer Reviews for

Black House

Average Rating 4
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(168)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Brilliant

If you're a fan of The Talisman and The Dark Tower series, this is the book for you. I agree with most of the people on here, it does start a little slow in the beginning, but if you continue past that then you are most definitely in for a treat. The plot is dense and...
If you're a fan of The Talisman and The Dark Tower series, this is the book for you. I agree with most of the people on here, it does start a little slow in the beginning, but if you continue past that then you are most definitely in for a treat. The plot is dense and gruesome, each twist and turn completely unexpected. By the time I finished I was unable to sleep with some terribly gruesome images spinning in my head. A great tale, possibly even better than The Talisman (which I absolutely adored).

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Where is the story.

Well kind readers I'de just like to say that this Stephen King book is sub-par as far as I'm concerned....You start reading and you get to abut page 100 and you find yourself saying "WHERE IS HE GOING WITH THIS"....THE STYLE OF WRITING SEEMS TO BE IN THE 3RD PERSON ABOU...
Well kind readers I'de just like to say that this Stephen King book is sub-par as far as I'm concerned....You start reading and you get to abut page 100 and you find yourself saying "WHERE IS HE GOING WITH THIS"....THE STYLE OF WRITING SEEMS TO BE IN THE 3RD PERSON ABOUT HALF THE TIME WHICH SEEMS A LITTLE MIXED UP TO ME....And I'm telling you by the time you get to around page 200 you may just put the book down for good....King and Straub may have had an idea where they were going but to me they were just writing plain old filler....I read a lot fokes and flat out this is not an easy read, you almost haft to write down on a piece of paper all the people they have in this book, just try to keep track of 25 people in this book and you will see what I mean....Oh well to each there own I guess.

posted by greenjab on December 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    Not worth the purchase price

    I was very disappointed in this book by King. It was all I could do to turn the next page, it was so boring. He just goes on and on about nothing. It seemed like he had a word minimum to meet and just filled the pages with nonsense. Did we really have to read three pages of description about a character that had nothing to do with the story line? It didn't start reading like a King book until around the last two hundred pages, then it started to pick up. Still, over all I can only give it one star. Very disappointed in you Stephen King, is it time to put away the pen?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    snooze fest

    i dont know how someone can write "grabs you from the beginning". I am 40 pages in and bored. The style of story telling so far has turned me to the point of putting down the book. We'll see if I actually finish it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Terribly boring

    Awful. My son bought me this book knowing how I enjoy horror novels. I read it only because of his thoughtfulness, but I would have rather had my teeth pulled.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2005

    So glad to see other are disappointed!

    I am a huge fan of both King and Straub- so I thought what could be better- um- I guess anything could be better. I felt guilty cause I couldn't get past the first chapter= even after trying to make myself several times. I find this book verbose and jargin laden (not the same thing) and the developing plot moved at the pace of a drunk slug- if you have a choice between reading this or watching paint dry- it's not such a simple choice! I guess there are times when artists are best on their own...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    !!!!!

    I could not get past the first 20 pages of this book. I keep trying to read it but I simply can't. It is much too boring for my taste.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2005

    Huh?

    This book was a masterpiece....of the truly dull. Books like this, that have no redeeming value and even fail to entertain whatsoever, are the kind of books that should be burned. What an unworthy and useless sequel to The Talisman, which was a great book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2004

    Will the blah, blah end?

    I have tried and tried with this book, but each time I try to read it, there's an annoyingly haughty narrative voice yanks me out of the story and makes me wonder what Freshman Composition student wrote it. As a King fan, I was frustrated and disappointed. I'm going to try one more time, but I don't have much hope.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    A slow starting book

    I bought this book two years ago and still have not gotten past the first chapter. Nothing in this book grabbed my attention so much that I wanted to read more. It's slow moving and boring. I fall asleep every time I try to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Worst book I've ever (not) read!

    Stephen King once wrote a book about a writer who was churning out novels in spite of a writers block just too keep his publisher happy. Could that be the case here? I struggled with this book for a little over 100 pages and finally decided my time is worth more than this. A disjointed plot, poor character development, unfaithful to The Talisman. I could go on and on. It has been years since I've failed to finish a book; sorry to say that this book broke my will. Don't know if I'll ever pick up another SK novel after this fiasco. Like one other reviewer the only reason I gave it even one star was because there wasn't a lower rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    Write it and they will buy!!!!!!

    I don't know if the sun is setting on this type of pop culture literature or we have all grown out of it. The book was stale and a reflection of all that has come before. It is time to clear out the musty attic for King and Straub and write something original. This book was the same ole same ole that has come before. It took forever to read and was a lot of gore and little creativity. Steve, Peter-help!!! Surely you are not in your sunset years and this is the best you can do! It made you both another pile of money and took a lot out of our wallets. It is going to be along time before I buy another book like this one. I think I'll buy it second hand and keep the change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2002

    Arghh.

    Let me be clear. I like Stephen King and Peter Straub's prior works. This is the worst I've ever read from either of them. After reading nearly 100 pages of wandering around a town filled with cliched b-movie stock characters and excruciating detail about their lives and homes, I wanted out. This book is a good argument for why every writer, no matter how many books they've written or sold, needs a good editor. Somebody should've stood up and said to the two writers, 'Guys, this is garbage.' Instead, they probably ran the sales projections and said 'Great work!'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    Pretentious

    I was very disappointed in this book since I loved The Talisman so much. I found the book pretentious and wordy. I know King tends to run on, but this was rediculous!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2001

    An unfit sequel to Talisman

    None of the sense of adventure that we saw in the talisman. Only read this if you like 'horror' and even then it's marginal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    A great disappointment.

    The Talisman is my all-time favorite book. I loved the adventure and the excitement and the sheer majesty of the story. The sense of wonder in discovering a new universe was almost overpowering. Jack was such a great hero. He was the essense of good. When I heard there was to be a sequel, I was overjoyed. The day it came out, I went and purchased it. I regret doing that. Black House takes place many years after the events in the Talisman. Jack has changed and in a convenient plot point has forgotten all about the Territories. It takes a good long time for Jack to even show up in the story in the first place. And when he does he may as well have been called Jeff or Bob, since he has no resemblance to the Jack Sawyer that we know and love. The first 100 pages have you (literally) flying around the town meeting secondary characters who have very little to do with the rest of the story. If you do decide to read this book, do yourself a favor and start reading at page 200 when the story finally gets going and you will have missed almost nothing that helps with the story. This book should not have been marketed as Talisman 2, it should have been sold as the next Dark Tower book. I would not have gone near it had I known it strayed away from the Territories so much. I have read the first 3 books of the Dark Tower series and promptly forgot everything about them. They are dull and seemingly pointless, but perhaps everything will come together in the end of that series, but I doubt that. I used to think it was a neat King device to include a character or location from another book as a cameo. This entire book was a Dark Tower 'cameo', not a sequel to the Talisman. In fact, the entire Territories seemed to be a cameo since they didn't really add all that much to the story other than the fact that Jack flips to them to find clues. Words cannot really describe how disappointed I am with this book. The (horrible) ending was set up for a sequel that will probably take many years to come. I will not be buying that one. If you have not read the Talisman yet, do so. You owe it to yourself to read that masterpiece. If you have, and you really liked it, do not read Black House. Avoid it. If you do decide to read it, I tried to warn you!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2001

    King sinking to an all time low!

    I was forced to put 1 star only because they didn't offer '0 stars'! I have just read the summary of what this title is about. I was saddened and discusted to say the least. I remember reading 'Cujo' and thinking it was interesting, kept me on the edge of my seat and not to gory. However, to think that their is someone out there writing about killing and DISMEMBERING CHILDREN is absolutely discusting and sad and leaves me to wonder if someone conjuring up such disgusting and dispicable things, shouldn't be in jail him or herself! I am a mother of 5, one of my children passed away and I couldn't imagine anyone dismembering him. I think KING has sunk to an all time low and of all of the things to write about.....that is just outrageous.....if your running out of material, then take a brake and start again fresh. But cool it on the murdering of children....there's enough hatred and violence in the world...you don't need to continue giving the 'Looney Tunes' out there any ideas and contributing to the garbage and murders in this world. Do something good with your life......and back off! I use to Like Steven Kings.......but I will never read another book ever again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    What happened to Jack Sawyer??

    I read the Talisman in 1984 when I was 11 years old and Jack was an 'older man.' I fell in love with him, and with Wolf, Richard, Lily, Speedy, and most especially the Territories and the Talisman itself. What happened? Where are all these characters? I know some of them are dead, but that's the magic of storytelling: bring 'em back, flashback, resurrection, something! I loved the characters, not the conflict between the worlds. The conflict is irrelevant without characters worth caring about. I must admit, I only finished half the book before I took it back to Barnes & Noble and got my money back. Maybe these guys showed up later? I bought this book because I wanted to see what Jack turned out to be as a grown man (strengthening my crush, perhaps?). Well, as far as this book is concerned, Jack is dead, and has been replaced by some boring Wisconsin cop. A cop!?! The REAL Jack Sawyer would never have grown up to be a cop!! Doesn't he remember his stay at the Sunlight Home, courtesy of Indiana's finest? But anyway, this book is not a sequel to The Talisman. I really don't know what it is, except boring and annoying. I can only imagine that the obnoxious present-tense writing style is Straub's contribution, since King mercifully refrains from it in every other novel I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2001

    Blackhouse subpar

    Unfortunately 'Blackhouse,' the sequel to King/Straub's 'Talisman,'is not as good as its predecessor (which I would give 4 stars). While it has interesting/colorful characters, such as The Thunder Five (brawling but extremely educated bikers), and a blind radio disc jockey with a talent for impressions, they seem more likely to inhabit a bad teleplay or comic book rather than our world. Those expecting adventure in the Territories will be greaty disappointed. And although the world of the Dark Tower plays heavily, it is a bad substitute for Roland and his gunslingers. Even for King, its verbose, and could have probably edited to half its size. It does have its moments though, such as the Thunder Fives first assault on Blackhouse. If your looking for dark fantasy, stick to King's Dark Tower series. Of Straub's works, 'Ghost Story' is also a good horror read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2