Customer Reviews for

The Black Ice (Harry Bosch Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 504 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(206)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

The Black Ice

This is the second novel I have read by Michael Connelly (I plan to read all of his works in order). I will not talk a lot about plot because I feel like excellent crime novels such as this one should not be spoiled. All I will say is this, Connelly has a great style,...
This is the second novel I have read by Michael Connelly (I plan to read all of his works in order). I will not talk a lot about plot because I feel like excellent crime novels such as this one should not be spoiled. All I will say is this, Connelly has a great style, themes, plot, and his famous character, Harry Bosch, is one of the greatest detectives in literature. I read this novel while I was watching the second and third seasons of my favorite TV show, The Wire, and I actually saw a couple of similarities in the plot and I thought that it would have been nice to see Michael write for the Wire along with his peers George Pelecanos, Richard Price, and Dennis Lehane. Connelly and the three authors I have just named are, in my opinion, the finest crime writers today and of all time (you cannot forget James Ellroy, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler).

posted by McCarthy92 on August 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

They can't ALL be great

A bad Michael Connelly novel is still a good book. Sandwiched between his first - THE BLACK ECHO and third - THE CONCRETE BLONDE, Connelly's second book is a bit of a let down. Bosch is a little more cantankerous, a little more rebellious, a little less loveable than i...
A bad Michael Connelly novel is still a good book. Sandwiched between his first - THE BLACK ECHO and third - THE CONCRETE BLONDE, Connelly's second book is a bit of a let down. Bosch is a little more cantankerous, a little more rebellious, a little less loveable than in the rest of the series. While the story has some merit it wasn't the page-turner I have come to expect from Connelly. Characters were poorly developed and often did not interact in a pleasing way. For example, Harry's interaction with fellow law enforcement officers is often antagonistic for no good reason. And his relationship with women is less than noble. Those readers not already familiar with Harry may find him to be too caustic for their tastes. I did and I love Harry Bosch.
Neophyte Harry Bosch aficionados should look elsewhere. Almost all of the others in the series are more entertaining. And if you like Harry, you will probably like Connelly's non-Bosch books as well, especially those featuring Rachel Walling or Jack McEvoy. After you have read the rest, come back to THE BLACK ICE.

posted by Goonboy2 on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 505 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Black Ice

    This is the second novel I have read by Michael Connelly (I plan to read all of his works in order). I will not talk a lot about plot because I feel like excellent crime novels such as this one should not be spoiled. All I will say is this, Connelly has a great style, themes, plot, and his famous character, Harry Bosch, is one of the greatest detectives in literature. I read this novel while I was watching the second and third seasons of my favorite TV show, The Wire, and I actually saw a couple of similarities in the plot and I thought that it would have been nice to see Michael write for the Wire along with his peers George Pelecanos, Richard Price, and Dennis Lehane. Connelly and the three authors I have just named are, in my opinion, the finest crime writers today and of all time (you cannot forget James Ellroy, Dashiell Hammett, and Raymond Chandler).

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    This is one of my favourite books by Michael Connelly. It's hard to put down!

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Bosch Series Picks Up Steam

    Just recently started reading Connelly and the Bosch series. The Black Echo seemed to start out slow for me and gradually became quite a thrill ride to the very end. The Black Ice, however, grabs you from the beginning and does not let go. There is rich character development, including Det Bosch and others in the LAPD, a solid if not spectacular plot and unexpected developments throughout. This is one of those books that defines "page turner," as you get hooked and stay hooked.

    Not too long ago I read a review that suggested The Black Ice was somewhat flat compared to books #1 (The Black Echo) and #3 (The Concrete Blonde) in the series. From my perspective, the ride started gradually out of the gate with The Black Echo and has steadily, and at times quickly, gathered a full head of steam. I'm jumping right into the Concrete Blonde because I can't wait to see where Connelly takes Bosch in the subsequent books.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the second Harry Bosch novel I've read, and I have to sa

    This is the second Harry Bosch novel I've read, and I have to say I'm really starting to like this guy! I won't reveal any of the plot, but I will say that much of the action occurs in parts of the US and Mexico that I am completely unfamiliar with (I'm from Texas). As a result, I pulled up a map several times to trace Bosch's locations -- which turned out to be a little fun! I'm glad I started this series in the correct order, because Connelly does make references to events in The Black Echo. In short, this is a well-written, fast-moving story that is a fun read and a great second dive into the adventures of Harry Bosch. I can't wait for the Concrete Blonde!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    They can't ALL be great

    A bad Michael Connelly novel is still a good book. Sandwiched between his first - THE BLACK ECHO and third - THE CONCRETE BLONDE, Connelly's second book is a bit of a let down. Bosch is a little more cantankerous, a little more rebellious, a little less loveable than in the rest of the series. While the story has some merit it wasn't the page-turner I have come to expect from Connelly. Characters were poorly developed and often did not interact in a pleasing way. For example, Harry's interaction with fellow law enforcement officers is often antagonistic for no good reason. And his relationship with women is less than noble. Those readers not already familiar with Harry may find him to be too caustic for their tastes. I did and I love Harry Bosch.
    Neophyte Harry Bosch aficionados should look elsewhere. Almost all of the others in the series are more entertaining. And if you like Harry, you will probably like Connelly's non-Bosch books as well, especially those featuring Rachel Walling or Jack McEvoy. After you have read the rest, come back to THE BLACK ICE.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Excellend read. Plot keeps you involved to the very end.

    Michael Connelly continues the Harry Bosch series with this excellent story. A must read for detective fans. Harry is a brilliant detective with an uncanny ability to solve his cases.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    enjoyed the read

    Great Read. Harry is a very interesting character. The book provides some understanding of police work, and a look at the problems that remained after the Viet Nam war.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    It's HARRY!

    You can't get better then this. Excellent Series, right up there in with the old 87 th Precinct of so long ago. Just grittier. Makes me want to start over with the #1 and keep reading..

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    love that Harry Bosch

    Another winner for Miachael Connelly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Love this series and Michael Connelly

    I'm new to the Harry Bosch series, but it is fast becoming a favorite. If you like mystery and intrig you can't go wrong. I'm moving to #3 and can't wait.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    A**holes

    All u care about is reading get a life ass holes

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    PLEASE CONTINUE

    I'm your only and huge, best fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Ice~ Chapter Six

    Two days passed. Rye still didn't come. Ana's wedding came. At the reception, Elsa saw Rye. Rye winked. He nodded. Elsa slipped away. ~ Ana knew where Elsa was going. She shrugged the thought away and continued kissing Kristoff. ~ Elsa arrived, excited. "Ready?" Asked Rye. "Yes!" Shrieked Elsa. Rye kissed her and they both got undressed. He squeezed her boobs, then stuffed his c.oc*k in. It was a lovley feeling. Elsa cu.m..me.d. Rye sighed and shoved his dic.k in. "Faster. Harder." Elsa moaned, clearly enjoying it. He started to lick her p.uss.y. He kissed it, then her boo.b.z. Elsa smiled and kissed him. Rye did the same. They both moaned, and Elsa sucked Rye's di.ck. Rye moaned and shove in farther. Elsa kept licking. Rye cum.me.d, and Elsa drank it. They both moaned with pleasure. Then they kissed again. Rye asked, "Will you marry me?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    THAT MOMENT

    When you stick your prick in her ohh yeah thats the stuff start orgasming babe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Warrior Den

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    First Harry Bosch book I've read - it won't be the last! Excelle

    First Harry Bosch book I've read - it won't be the last! Excellent development of characters and story, with a surprise ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    To Molly

    "He likes you a lot if a boy treats you that way and with respect her likes you"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    BURSTSTAR SLEEPS

    Goes to sleep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    highly recommend

    As usual, Michael Connelly shows he is one of the greatest mystery writers today. Will be reading all of his novels. Don't miss them!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I am hooked on the Harry Bosch Series and have gone back and started at the beginning. This one is a thriller! You never know until the end what the end will really be. Always a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 505 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 26