Customer Reviews for

Black Irish: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Unique 290 page book

This 290 page, free book is unique. It has an unusual plot. The editing is 95% correct, which is nice. There is some rather tame sex, quite a few curse words, there are a few mentions of religion. The murders are extremely violent with lots of very graphic detail. This ...
This 290 page, free book is unique. It has an unusual plot. The editing is 95% correct, which is nice. There is some rather tame sex, quite a few curse words, there are a few mentions of religion. The murders are extremely violent with lots of very graphic detail. This author can make the reader envision the murder scenes as if he/she were standing there, watching the carnage occur. The details of a death in a park horrified me. It was terrible and realistic. There is animal multulation, child abuse in its many forms, corrupt officals and kidnapping. I enjoyed this book very much. It kept me guessing to the end. The main character is a Irish, female detective, she has a strong persona, yet is feminine. This novel is a murder mystery. It is not a romance, although there are relationships. Men and women, who love intense, noir, murder mysteries will enjoy this novel. It is one of the better books, I have read this year. Be warned though, the violence really is graphic. For adults.

AD

posted by Anonymous on November 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Hm

A skylander? I would way rather be a pokemon trainer :)

posted by Anonymous on March 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Unique 290 page book

    This 290 page, free book is unique. It has an unusual plot. The editing is 95% correct, which is nice. There is some rather tame sex, quite a few curse words, there are a few mentions of religion. The murders are extremely violent with lots of very graphic detail. This author can make the reader envision the murder scenes as if he/she were standing there, watching the carnage occur. The details of a death in a park horrified me. It was terrible and realistic. There is animal multulation, child abuse in its many forms, corrupt officals and kidnapping. I enjoyed this book very much. It kept me guessing to the end. The main character is a Irish, female detective, she has a strong persona, yet is feminine. This novel is a murder mystery. It is not a romance, although there are relationships. Men and women, who love intense, noir, murder mysteries will enjoy this novel. It is one of the better books, I have read this year. Be warned though, the violence really is graphic. For adults.

    AD

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    The sanctity of a local Buffalo, NY church is forever compromise

    The sanctity of a local Buffalo, NY church is forever compromised when the maimed corpse of Jimmy Ryan is discovered in the basement. Tied to a chair, eyelids cut off as if he were made to look at something, the sight of Ryan's body sends a shock through the town. Author Stephan Talty describes the southern part of Buffalo, the County,  as having a "small-town feeling". Its best days behind it, the County is a place where news travels fast and nothing stays secret for long.
    Enter Absolam "Abbie" Kearny. Despite growing up in the County, she has always been a kind of outsider. Adopted at a young age by John Kearny, a local police legend, she has now returned to follow in her father's infamous footsteps. Tasked with the Ryan case, she is quickly met with resistance from the local townspeople and police.
    The County is mostly made up of Irish immigrants. As Abbie digs deeper into the murder, connections, both historical and personal, begin to reveal themselves. As further murders occur, Abbie struggles to stay ahead of the killer. The Buffalo police run an investigation parallel to hers, and Abbie soon finds herself a suspect in the case. As the tension rises Abbie is forced to question her sanity and family history, all culminating in a shocking twist that is sure to leave readers riveted.
    With his debut work of fiction, Stephan Talty instantly places himself among the great modern thriller authors such as Dennis Lehane and Tana French. Like Lehane and French, Talty manages to maintain exceptional characters, setting and suspense without ever sacrificing the integrity of his writing. This novel could have easily become a standard thriller, but Talty daftly takes his time to build each character, allowing the suspense to stay at a constant boil. In Abbie, Talty has imagined a believable protagonist, whose flaws and vulnerability allows readers to connect with her emotions and desire to succeed. I was hooked on this novel from beginning to end. Fascinated by the serial killer who tells, "his autobiography through corpses", I was shocked at the final turn that the events took. This exceptional novel has everything thriller fans have come to expect and gives them more than they could ever have hoped for.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Recommended!

    Great read. Suspensful until the end. Well wrtten and a must for Buffalonians!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    entertaining

    without giving away much of the story, I liked this novel quite a bit. It was entertaining without being overdone with excessive, verbose language. The killer is in no way possible to figure out until the end, which is good, because the individual who the investigation is leading to, is too obvious. Not to say my taste are similar to anyone else, but this was an entertaining novel.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Recommend this read

    Great plot with many twists.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow. I need aspirin. I have a tension headache from being so dan

    Wow. I need aspirin. I have a tension headache from being so dang tense for most of this book!
    This story drove me nuts trying to figure it all out. Lots of twists and turns, page turning thrills, one tough ass heroine and just when you think you have it…whapow, another twist. Great believable characters and a very interesting plot line.
    I learned a lot of things about my Irish heritage and the IRA I didn't know. Who had ever heard of the "Clan na Gael" before? The Irish war of independence in the 1920’s was largely funded by the clan. Seems I got a nifty little history lesson as well.
    I wanted to read this book when I saw the title. My father is 100% Irish and my family has often been referred to as “Black Irish”. I don't know if any of you out there are Irish but, we are a proud and stubborn people and like Abbie’s dad my father has many similar quirky personality characteristics. My parents had their honey moon at Niagara Falls and I have worked with kids in crisis, seems like me and Absalom do have a few things in common!

    Detective Absalom Kearney, Abbie, left home years ago to escape the stifling small town life only to return home to Buffalo many years later to tend her ailing father. The town she grew up in is very Irish and close knit. Taking care of their own and dispensing with punishment as they see fit is the Irish law of this new land.
    There is a serial killer on the loose and it seems it is up to Abbie and her partner Z to figure it out.
    Men in town are being tortured, killed and a toy monkey is left in or near each victim. Does Abbie’s Adoptive father have something to do with these gruesome killings? Are the police involved? does the Clan na Gael have a long reach from Ireland? The town clams up and as Absalom gets closer who will be the next to die?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Hm

    A skylander? I would way rather be a pokemon trainer :)

    2 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Well written & worth the read!

    I was skeptical to purchase this book, but could not put it down once I begun reading it. Great mystery novel, the killer is a complete surprise until the last chapter. Looking forward to more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Great read!

    Look forward to more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Fascinating story that takes place in an american cultural micro

    Fascinating story that takes place in an american cultural microcosm cloaked in a veil of secrecy.  A good psychological  thriller that  appears to have been carefully researched in order to provide an historical  framework that adds depth  to  the story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Black Irish - Stellar Debut Novel This review first appeared at

    Black Irish - Stellar Debut Novel

    This review first appeared at Chorley Chronicals.
    I have found that topics of books written by male author's don't seem to garner as much of my attention as those of female author's do, and I think, more or less, that was the case with this book. It surely had to be a man that came up with a story about the Irish Catholics of New York!! 




    The narrator, David H. Lawrence XVII, seemed to be one of the most professional and seasonal narrator's that I have ever listened to, and especially lately, I have listened to a lot of audio books! He truly did a phenomenal job of narrating this book and capturing the very essence that Stephan Talty meant to capture when writing Black Irish!




    I feel like sometimes, mystery books seem to always follow the same type of theme or story, and I must admit, that although it wasn't my most favorite plot, it was a very unique plot that I don't think you're going to find in any other book! It was full of mystery and was very difficult to try and predict what the ending was going to be, and never in my life would I have guessed that it would have ended the way that it did, and who the serial killer was!




    Talty hit me in the heart when he designed the main character, Absalom Kearney.  There's nothing that I like more than a strong, independent woman, who can hold her own, maybe even more than the men she's around, and isn't afraid to show them or tell them that she can.  She proves to be an excellent cop in a land where female cops are very blatantly not welcome and I loved that!  I also enjoyed listening to the budding relationship between Abbie and her father, that she seemed ever so desperate to achieve, after, as I interpreted, she had failed a child!




    I did start to listen to this book about a year ago, and according to my Goodreads progress, I had gotten 38% into it, but I have absolutely no recollection of ever listening to any of it, so after listening to it this time, I can only figure that I just wasn't in the mood to listen at that time (I actually took about a 3 month hiatus from listening to audio books shortly thereafter), because I didn't have one bit of problem listening to it this go around!  As a matter of fact, I felt like it really took off from the very beginning and kept me interested throughout!




    Overall, this book didn't have me screaming from the mountain top that this was my most favorite book that I have ever read in the world, however, I wasn't disappointed that I had read it!  As a matter of fact, I will read the next book that also stars Abbie (although I haven't pinpointed if this is becoming a series or not!) when it is released this Spring!  The only reason I only gave it 3 of 5 bookworms is because the subject at hand was not my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Black Irish

    Really good read, with a strong female lead caracter. If you enjoy cop novels, this is a book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Tami L

    This book was a great read. Really kept your interest and desire to continue reading. I found it hard to put down. Highly reccommend reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Ancientstones

    Age: very old, elder, Apperance: darkbrown pelt, brown eyes, Mate: dead crush: is like 80 years old ( cat years counting) it would be creepy for this old cat to have a crush. History: very long. Wouldnt fit on this page. ( nothing else i need to add?)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Skyheart and co.

    Skyheart......she cat.....20 moons.......Medicine Cat
    <p>
    She is a dove gray shecat with gray paws that are tinted green on the tips due to nerbs touching them her underbelly is a very light gray she has incredibly fluffy and long fur she smells of lavender and a minty smell..her eyes are hazel...............kin dovepelt is mom ashblood is dad frozenlynx and gorsewind of ashclan are her cousins...........no crush no mate no kits...............she is wise for her age
    <p>
    Angelpaw and Darkpaw.........she cat.....tom......10 moons....... 10 moons
    <p>
    Angelpaw is a pure white she cat with black paws and a eggshelll white underbelly her eyes are ice blue she is friendly and out going she is daring and gets in trouble often.........Darkpaw is a pure black tom with a midnight blue underbelly and long claws..his eyes are a really bright blue he is agile swift and wise.......... kin mintclaw is mom firewood is dad angelpaw and darkpaw are siblings

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Snowfur

    Name-Snowfur
    Gender-female
    Age-11 moons
    Position-warrior
    Apprence-pure white fur with cryslte blue eyes
    Mate-none
    Crush-secreat
    Kits-none
    Personalty- is kind, quite, is very fun once you get to know her she is super loyal and a great fighter

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Silentkit

    A silver female kitten four moons old.History unknown.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Liked this

    Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Wow! Can't wait for more from this author!

    A great book with a gritty look at an almost xenophobic community with a serial killer problem. I stayed up all night to finish it and wasn't disappointed! Can't wait for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is not a mystery that one automatically figures out-have to wait until the end and the surprise--enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3