Customer Reviews for

Black Knights: The Story of the Tuskegee Airmen

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Pretty good history. Not so well written.

    The flyer had a lot to say, but writer didn't say it well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    I'm proud to be an American

    In light of the recent death of General Benjamin O. Davis, Jr., I set out to read as much about the Tuskegee Airmen as I could find. I am so very pleased that I was able to buy a copy of 'Black Knights: the Story of the Tuskegee Airmen.' It is so wonderfully written and full of very exciting stories of personal heroism. At the same time, the book brings out just how important teamwork is. I encourage, no, I strongly encourage everyone to read this book if they really want to know about the Tuskegee Airmen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Magnificent writing

    I have read several books on the Tuskegee Airmen and this is without any doubt, the best one that I have read. It is so very obvious that the authors labored very diligently to produce such a masterful treatment of a very import piece of American history. My hat is off to the authors for telling this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2001

    The Best There Is!

    'As an original Tuskegee Airman, I considered myself knowledgeable about the Tuskegee Experience. 'Black Knights: The Story of the Tuskegee Airmen' reminded me of events both sad and enjoyable that have been forgotten for more than fifty-five years. Meticulously researched and thoughtfully written, the book also provided a wealth of detailed information with which I was unfamiliar.' Hiram E. Mann, USAF (Retired)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2001

    Booklist / February 15, 2001

    'Between 1941 and 1948, black airmen trained at a segregated facility in Tuskegee, Alabama, in a social experiment that eventually led to the opening of the armed services to black men and women. What became known as the Tuskegee Experience was the culmination of 10 years of struggle by civil rights groups to get the War Department to allow blacks to serve in the military. The hard-fought victory fell substantially short of the real objective--an integrated armed service. Still, the Tuskegee Airmen secured a significant place in American and black history for bravery in service on and off the battlefield. Through interviews with Tuskegee Airmen and their families, as well as archival research, Homan and Reilly convey the organizational and personal struggles behind the Tuskegee Experience. Homan and Reilly detail the training and war missions of the black airmen, hardships overcome in Europe as well as at home. This is a treasure of photographs and recollections of an important part of American history.--Vanessa Bush'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    Engaging and superbly researched

    'Engaging and superbly researched, 'Black Knights: The Story of the Tuskegee Airmen' provides us with important details about the efforts of early African-American aviators and their struggles with the military's segregation policies. Lynn Homan and Thomas Reilly center their work around the Tuskegee Airmen, who served in the training program at Tuskegee Army Air Field from 1941 to 1946. The book is primarily comprised of fascinating interviews and a wealth of historical photographs (there are 101 illustrations). Homan and Reilly take care not to focus simply on the pilots' stories, but to capture the experiences of the nurses, the mechanics, the staff officers, and even the band members. The Tuskegee aviators and the victories of all-black squadrons in Europe ably prove that these airmen possessed nothing less than 'the right stuff.' Note: Homan and Reilly designed the acclaimed 'Tuskegee Airmen' traveling museum exhibition, as well as the 'African Americans in Aviation' permanent exhibit at the Mighty Eighth Air Force Heritage Museum in Savannah, GA.' from The Charleston Daily News

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2001

    This book should be mandatory reading!!!

    Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes! This book should be mandatory reading for everyone from grade school on up. Seldom have I ever read a book that told such an uplifting story of people faced with daily slights and slurs that were so dedicated toward the end result that they were willing to take almost anything thrown at them. All heroes, everyone of them. The authors have done a tremendous job of bringing the story of the Tuskegee Airmen to life--they should certainly be congratulated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1