Customer Reviews for

Black Like Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Black Like Me

    John Howard Griffin's book Black Like Me is excellent excellent excellent. I read this book and got an A on a final test for Communications class and it was well worth the reading. I have read it several times since and it is just as excellent as the first time I read the book. It must have been quite an experience to have gone and lived in the Deep South and experience all that John Howard Griffin experienced. Fantastic reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    racist book

    This book was totally racist i hated it. I will never read or recommend this again.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    It was great

    Black like me, I think is one of the best book I have red because this auther John Howard Griffin experience by it self and proves that segregation will exits no matter what era is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Black like me was a good book!!

    This book is great it shows the way the black people were treated in the 60s. It is about a guy that changes his skin color to see how the black people were treated in different areas.I like this book a lot. It was neat to see how the black people were treated in different places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2005

    Great Book

    I gave this book 5 stars because it's a true story. It's very detailed and it's very interesting. I would recommmend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2005

    Gripping; hard to put this one down...

    I read this book about 25 years ago, and am now recommending it to my son. I loved this book for its honesty; Griffin doesn't spare the reader many details, and it gives a fascinating look at ourselves and each other that is an important part of American history. However, it is important to note that the author does not presume to know or understand fully what it is like to be a black man in the south in 1959 because he neither grew up under the conditions he describes, nor did he face the prospect of staying there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    BESTSELLER?!?!

    We read this book at school, and every time we had to read some more pages, i thought 'oh, no!' so i think the topic is a good one but how he wrote it was disappointing ! Maybe one reason was, that he used a lot of new vocabulary and i had to look them up every 5 minutes... have a nice day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2005

    an awesome adventure

    This book is great..it really makes you become like you are part of the story, its really cool it just shows how prejudice is such a problem in this country and how it needs to be stopped. this is a really really good book once you pick it up you cant stop reading it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    Great

    A real novel that shows the life of a black person in this time period and shows white men how lucky they are to be born white in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2004

    Eye opening

    In a society that likes to pretend that racism is either long gone or to big and touchy a topic to be talked about, few have touched the core of the issue like this author. You are molded in so many ways by the minds and thoughts of those that you deal with on a day to day basis and this book forces you to look at the people that suround you and seach out their internal thoughts and the overall effect that this has on you. Do you always act the way you really think, or are you guilty of occasionally allowing your actions to be dictated by a hundred years of previous thought by other people? This book is excellently written and unsettling in it's urgency that gets into your mind and leaves you contemplating questions you didn't know existed to you on the fundamental issue of humanity as a whole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Griffin challenges deep-set predjudices

    I have never been more aware of my skin color than immediatley after reading 'Black Like Me'. This book eloquently challanges the idea that people are different (or that people are 'treated the same') based on something as easy to change as skin color. I strongly reccomend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2004

    Like Black?

    Being a white woman living for the most part in the North, I find it both interesting,humbling and sad that the human race is so, well, Stupid! I give all the credit in the world to Mr.Griffin living and walking in anothers shoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    Excellent study on Race Relations in America

    Even though this book was written a long time ago, and way before I was born, a lot of it still applies to society today. John Howard Griffin made a bold and necessary move into finding out what brews beneath the surface in racially charged environments and tells both the story from both sides. More people should read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2003

    Simply Wonderful

    This is a wonderful book. It shows a man's daring experience to get out of his comfort zone as a white man, change into a black man, and go to the south where blacks are mistreated the most. Griffin is a genius...a daring genius!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Black Like Me

    What would you do if you wonted to be black and wonted to go down to the Deep South? Would you change your skin black or would you just keep wondering? The book is about a man named Mr. Griffin wonting to go down to the Deep South and see what it was like. Mr. Griffin turned his skin temporarily black so that he could go down and see what it was like, and to see if the blacks would notice that he was really white by how he acted and things like that. Mr. Griffin goes down to the Deep South and he makes some fiends down there so then he feels accepted in the Deep South. The book mad me keep reading because I wonted to see how Mr. Griffin turned out at the end of the book. I would recommend this book to people that like to read and read about true event. Also if you are interested in racism too. I really like this book because it was based on a true story and had to deal with black peoples lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2003

    A Great Book Which Can Be Used To Silence All Racists

    I read Black Like Me and was frankly surprised. The fact that John Howard Griffin, a WHITE man actually exposed the truth and even faced death for his work, is quite courageous and fair. I applaud this book and I believe that Griffin's book should be read by everyone who wants to know the truth about how Blacks were treated in the Deep South during Segregation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2003

    What I didn't want to hear expect what i needed to hear?

    I subconsciencely went in to the book as a nothing more then as semi-racist (never had much contact with African Americans so i reserved some judgement). I of course thought it would be another worthless school assignment for a social justice course. Fortunately I heard in this book exactly what I didn't want to hear. Black people are just like white people!!! Definate recommendation from someone who doesn't care about social justice. Up until a couple days ago i didn't. Now i feel a little more in touch with what's really going on except it's semidated due to the end of legalized segregation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    A Contriversial book (that isn't)

    Hi!! I am 13 years old and I am very glad my teacher told me about this book because when i read this book I was told that since I am a African- American I might find some of the material in the book offensive i didn't find anything in this book offensive. While I was reading this book I would forget he was a white man but he would have a very good way with words and I enjoyed this book very much. You should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    "Black Like Me" John Howard Griffin

    Very few people have actually experienced racial segregation from a different perspective, in ¿Black Like Me,¿ by John Howard Griffin, a man changes his skin color to understand what black people in the deep south had to put up with in the late 1950¿s. This is a memoir of a middle aged, white, catholic male, who undergoes a surgery to understand first hand the problem of racism in the Deep South. After explaining his mission to his family and the FBI, he sets off to truly feel the torture black people had to experience during a period of white domination. <P> Griffin, uses irony, not in his writing, but in his actions, to experience the daily problems a Negro had to deal with, just because of their skin color. The irony comes from everybody believing he is a Negro, but he is naturally white. The first person he meets in New Orleans, a local shoe-shine, looks up to him as a white person, but, once he undergoes the surgery, the shoe-shine finds ways to help him out, and they become friends. This just goes to show that skin color shouldn¿t have any effect on the way you judge a person, we¿re all the same. Towards the end of his study, Griffin switches skin colors from block to block, making people judge him the wrong way. Walking down the street he may seem like another Negro, but actually he is just another person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2002

    Wow

    I have never heard of this book but when telling others that I was reading it, it seemed like I was the only one on the planet who didn't know anything about this author. I would have loved to have seen him in person in both black and white. The book was a page turner and I really respected his views. I always respect a person who doesn't write books off of statistics and will go out of his way for personal experience...and ma-an, did he go out of his way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 8