Customer Reviews for

Black List (Scot Harvath Series #11)

Average Rating 4
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read. Got it at yesterday and read it straight through.

Awesome read. Got it at yesterday and read it straight through. Thor definitely has great skill in the pacing of his stories and I almost wish they were longer just so i wouldnt get done finishing them so early. Really hoping the series continues

posted by 14113191 on July 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

???

How does one write a review for a book not yet published?

posted by 7636131 on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    Best Harvath book yet in my opinion

    I love Black List. The fact that it carries on from Full Black just made it even better for me. I think Harvath, The Old Man and Nicholas are great characters but if I am being totally honest, I can do without the Athena girls. It is another non stop, heart pounding page turner and I will be reading Brad Thor's books until he decides to stop writing them. He is right up there for me with Vince Flynn and Daniel Silva as one of the best thriller writers of the last decade.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Awesome

    Brad Thor really knows how to keep you wanting to read more and more of his books. Comparing with today's current world events it puts things in perspective and makes you realize no one is safe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    I have profoundly mixed feelings about this book. On the surface

    I have profoundly mixed feelings about this book. On the surface, I liked the thriller plot and characters. It is an action-oriented thriller filled with death-defying cliffhangers and it had me caring about whether the hero would win the day against the many bad guys. On the negative side, I have a few complaints: First, the author has filled the book with techno-jargon, acronyms, and complicated explanations. Having spent my entire career in high technology, I admire a writer who can make the complex understandable. This author seems to revel in making the complex even more obscure and complicated. My second complaint is that the characters are not finely drawn, but are more like abstract cartoon cutout characters. I prefer writers like LeCarre and Steinauer, who are able to skillfully paint a portrait of a character's background, feelings, motivations, weaknesses, and misgivings , in other words, realistic personalities. Finally, and my biggest complaint, is the many long passages of political rhetoric which are placed into the mouths of his characters by the writer. If you want to complain about the Government, write a letter to the editor or run for political office, but don't fill your novels with long-winded speechifying! This is the second Scot Harvath thriller I have bought and read by this author, but it will be my last...I will look for my political and spy thrillers from a different author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Engaging

    This was an enjoyable and engaging thriller from start to finish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    What price?

    Says this is 2.99 on nook but when i click buy it says 14.99!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    Love Brad Thor and Scott Harvath. Can't get enough of either.

    Love Brad Thor and Scott Harvath. Can't get enough of either.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Another great one

    Awesome book, with some great action as always. Looking forward to the next one.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Must read

    This was a GREAT read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    An ok read

    It started out exciting. Its an interesting concept but i forced myself to finish it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    L

    To anonymous on august 26, your 'roleplaying post was nasty, disgusting and pornagraphic. Take that vile crap elsewhere. U r offensive to ppl who use this site for its true purpose...book reviews.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Highly recommend.

    Both my husband and I read all his books and even though I am not a spy reader, it was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    great read

    this is a great read. keeps you in suspense but never loses you in the details

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Another great thriller by Brad Thor, one of my favorite writers.

    As usual, Scott Harvath milks some sacred cows and churns some bitter butter for America's enemies, not all of whom are foreign. As Harvath gets older, he just gets better. This one was well worth waiting for. If Brad Thor wrote a book a month, I'd buy them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Great read!!

    Enjoyed this book. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    big brother is watching and he's on steriods!

    this one picks up from the previous book and doesnot disappoint with all the action and twists and turns... great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Very entertaining and relevant to the perils of our modern age.

    Black List is a very entertaining read, while being pertinent to our perilous times... All of Brad Thor's novels are very well done, and this one is no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Must Read

    This book picks up where his other books have left off. Very exciting book. I couldn't wait to finish it. Not a predictable outcome. Some of the events in the book are in the news now. Another great Harvath book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    How can I review a book that's to be published in 07/12?

    His books are usually thrillers. Am sure this one will be too.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Great Book

    Brad does great research, should be advising congress on some of these shadow governments :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    His best yet!

    I'm reading them in order, and without a doubt, this is his best yet! I really liked the first few in the series, and some of the ones in between were a little slow, but Full Black and Black List were great. Black List is really timely, and many of the things in this book are happening today. The story is frighteningly feasible, and maybe that's what makes it such a page turner. I think I read this one faster than any of his other books. I would recommend you read Full Black first and then this one, because they are tied together. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13