Customer Reviews for

The Black Madonna

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced

    Davis Bunn brings back the cast of Storm, Emma and Harry in "The Black Madonna" and sends them all over the world in chase of various ancient religious icons. It is full of international intrigue, mystery and suspense - who are the good guys, who are the bad guys? I was guessing through a lot of the book, Russia, Poland, England, America, who is behind the sudden outrageously high priced items at auction. Will it tear Europe apart when its discovered that the Black Madonna in Poland has been replaced with a fake? Who bombed Harry? Who wants Storm dead? This book will keep you on your toes to the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Someone is bidding on religious artifacts that may not be real. What is their purpose in acquiring the items no matter the cost?

    Ever wonder if there is a great book out there somewhere that combines all the action of movies like Indiana Jones and The Raiders of the Lost Ark, Lara Croft Tomb Raider, as well as parts of the DaVinci Code? Well I've found it.

    The newest novel from Davis Bunn called The Black Madonna is just the book for you adventure fans looking for a little thrill in your reading. I was captivated by the story from page one. The main character is Storm Syrrell whose company lies on the verge of complete bankruptcy. She is in the business of bidding on unique items to sell to her exclusive and very wealthy clientele in Palm Beach, yet due to the latest economic downfall, Storm hasn't had the funds to purchase anything new and exciting.

    Yet when the bankers call to remind her of the severe debt in her account, she finds herself at the end of the rope. However, one afternoon, she gets a phone call saying that four hundred thousand dollars has just been wired to her account and the person on the other end of the phone is telling her that he wants her on the next plane to bid for an ancient Russian oil painting.

    Is this the lucky break she has been waiting for? When the caller keeps his identity hidden and the cost to acquire the item at the auction has no limit, Storm begins to wonder who is on the other line?

    This amazing new novel takes you all around the world, while Storm and her friend, Emma who works for Homeland Security begins to unlock the secrets in the antiquities that are being auctioned off and just what their true motives are in obtaining religious items especially one item that has claims to stop time.

    Trust me, this is the best action packed book, I've read in quite a long time. I read it in one sitting, not being able to put it down. It held my interest all the way to the end. I would rate this book a perfect 5 out of 5 stars~!!! This is the second in a series of books where Storm Syrrell returns back on paper. The first is Gold of Kings.

    I received this book compliments of Glass Road Public Relations for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Black Madonna

    In Palm Beach, Antiquarian Storm Syrrell is in desperate need of cash. When a nameless, faceless client calls her with a request to track down an antique that is just a make believe. Rumored to bear healing in its being, Storm should say no, But the man offers too much.



    Storm knows Syrrell Galleries' business has been saved by the buyer's agent Raphael Danton. However her friend Emma, high up the power ladder at Homeland Security is sent to be with Storm. Emma is told that treasure hunter Harry Bennet died in Hebron; she is heartbroken with grief until he calls her from a hospital.



    She leaves Storm to see first hand that her Harry is okay; Emma takes him to a hospital in Germany, and rejoins Storm who with a few more auction bids with the same people and results, she is taken to Poland where she sees for herself the Black Madonna is a fake. They need to get it back at all costs again but somehow Harry's injuries Storm's winning bids are linked, but nothing makes sense even who is the bidder competing with Storm.


    The Black Madonna, is a novel full of antique artifacts, history, and suspense, follows Bunn's novel of Gold of Kings, where he first introduced Storm Syrrell. Sadly, I didn't get to read that novel first. The Black Madonna, while not one I would have normally purchased from a book store, really turned out to be skillfully penned and gripping. I have read some of Davis's books and a lot of them are with Janette Oke.



    This book was sent to my by Glass Roads Publishers for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Exciting, Thrilling, Page Turning at its Best!

    Davis Bunn in his new book, "The Black Madonna" Book Two in the Storm Syrrell series published by Howard/Touchstone Books gives us an exciting thriller that takes place in the world of art objects and stolen artifacts.

    Harry Bennett and Storm Syrrell are back after their adventure in "Gold of Kings" While this is a stand alone adventure I have not read "Gold" so I felt that Mr. Bunn didn't spend a lot of time in describing his characters as he had already introduced them previously. However that is just me once you start this book it is very exciting and everyone is in great danger. Harry Bennett starts at a archeological dig at The West Bank and immediately gets himself into trouble. There really is a Black Madonna painting and it has been stolen and Storm Syrrell is right in the middle of it.

    Mr. Bunn is an accomplished writer who knows how to deliver twists and turns that will leave you breathless. This is an excellent read, a page turner and a thought provoker. And it is only Book One in this new series. Book Two is due out in September so let us count down the days together. Until then we have this first book.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station www.kingdomairwaves.org

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Glass Road PR and Howard/Touchstone Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    2nd in Storm Syrrell series is another thrilling ride

    The Black Madonna by Davis Bunn is the second book in the Storm Syrrell series. Storm is still trying to rebuild her antique dealership after the death of her grandfather and imprisonment of her father for his embezzling when she gets a too-good-to-be-true job offer to buy a Russian painting at an art auction. When the buyer pays more than twice what the item is worth, Storm becomes suspicious, and her worries only grow when she is ordered to buy more items at a price a good deal more than their value and pitting her against another dealer who is intent to run her out of business. Raphael Danton, her buyer, is an agent for a mystery man, and has a tragic history that has made him angry at the world until Storm's fiery spirit cracks the shell around his heart. When Storm's life is threatened because of her buys, best friend Emma Webb, a agent for Homeland Security, steps in to help, but Emma's heart is torn by the news that her lover Harry Bennett has been killed by a bomb in the Middle East. Bunn brings back all of the interestinDesigng characters from the first book, Gold of Kings, and adds some more fascinating ones. The story is so filled with twists and turns, back-stabbing, assassination attempts, kidnapping, and political machinations that the pages just fly by. Bunn parcels out information to the reader carefully, building suspense and tension to an almost intolerable tautness. Emma is an outstanding character who often beats up the bad guy before the men around her even have time to react, definitely a rarity in adventure novels. The climax is almost anti-climactic after the rest of the thrilling novel, but there is obviously another sequel in the works because the reader is left hanging and worrying about what will happen next to heroine Storm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I'd read it again!

    Davis Bunn is a wonderful author. I've only read books by him and Janette Oke, but never any by him alone. Let me tell you that, while this is an excitingly different style of story, Davis Bunn is definitely an author whom you will find on my bookshelf in the future!

    The Black Madonna, a novel full of antique artifacts, history, and suspense, follows Bunn's novel of Gold of Kings, where he first introduced Storm Syrrell. Sadly, I didn't get to read that novel first. The Black Madonna, while not one I would have normally purchased from a book store, really turned out to be skillfully penned and gripping.

    Almost from the beginning, the mystery and suspense begins. The action of the story comes to life when Storm is hunting answers to some powerful questions, when on an antiquing assignment. Storm's character was full of passion for her work, and lent depth to the entire store. She was flawed, yet beautifully chiseled to fit the perfect role of an antique expert full of questions about spiritual emotions. She struggled so much with so many things, from a mysterious caller-turned-boss, to hunting an antique said to have healing powers, to the hurt of betrayal. I wanted to give her the biggest hug ever! Harry Bennet was another character who lent depth to the story. He was full of intriguing power and mystery.

    This book is a wonderful novel of good verses evil, antiques with healing powers, and fascinating events, by an author I highly recommend. Bunn's work is filled with suspense and page turning action that will leave you on the edge-of-your seat with this 4 star book of intensity and question you'll be asking yourself when your through!

    *This book was provided for review by Glass Roads PR and Simon&Schuster Books*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Mystery, Intrigue, Romance

    Storm Syrrell returns from Gold of Kings for another thrilling mystery, penned by the "Gentleman Adventurer," Davis Bunn. She's still an antiquarian, this time desperate for cash. She should refuse to work with the mystery client who asks her to track down a non-existent antique with miraculous healing powers. But her desperation pushes her to take on this deep-pocketed client. There's grave danger, adventure, and international travel, crafted by Bunn with authenticity and action. And romance. If she can live long enough.

    Bunn serves as Novelist in Residence for Regent's College at Oxford University. He also teaches creative writing programming for Oxford. He speaks at writers conferences around the world. Fluent in three languages, Dr. Bunn has done extensive travel in Europe, Africa, Asia and the Middle East. He lives with his wife both in England and Florida's West Coast.

    Read more at www.davisbunn.com

    Review by Audrey Hebbert, M.A. author of Green Light Red Light

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    exciting thriller

    In Palm Beach, Storm Syrrell fears her business Syrrell Galleries is nearing bankruptcy when a person hires her to attend an auction that includes a painting that her client believes has healing powers. When she arrives at the auction house, she bids against Mr. Rausch, who also represents someone else. However, Storm's instructions are to get the painting at any cost.

    Storm knows her business has been saved by the buyer's agent Raphael Danton. However her friend Emma, high up the power ladder at Homeland Security is sent to be with Storm because Raphael Danton, he opposing bidder's agent is on a watch list. Emma is told that treasure hunter Harry Bennet died in Hebron; she is heartbroken with grief until he calls her from a hospital. She leaves Storm to see first hand that her Harry is okay; Emma takes him to a hospital in Germany. Emma rejoins Storm who with a few more auction bids with the same people and results, she is taken to Poland where she sees for herself the Black Madonna is a fake. They need to get it back at all costs again but somehow Harry's injuries Storm's winning bids are linked, but nothing makes sense even who is the bidder competing with Storm.

    Davis Bunn has written an exciting thriller in which readers will be hard pressed to determine who the protagonists and the antagonist are. The key characters travel to several countries doing their respective jobs. Armchair detectives will enjoy the ride but find it difficult to putting the puzzle together. Storm is a fabulous heroine who misplaces her courage when she is frightened and instinctively prefers flight but has the curage not to run while the relationship between Emma and Harry ads warmth and romance. Readers will enjoy the return engagement of Harry and Storm (see Gold of Kings).

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1