Customer Reviews for

Black Magic Sanction (Hollows Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 898 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(612)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

superb urban fantasy

Having defeated various paranormal criminals and resolved the Kisten case, detective Rachel Morgan finds out she has been betrayed to a white magic coven who shun her for using black magic as a witch-born demon whose offspring will be demons. Stunned by the declaration...
Having defeated various paranormal criminals and resolved the Kisten case, detective Rachel Morgan finds out she has been betrayed to a white magic coven who shun her for using black magic as a witch-born demon whose offspring will be demons. Stunned by the declaration and the sentencing, the coven offers her a choice of solitary incarceration at Alcatraz or sterilization.

Drug kingpin Trent Kalamack the elf offers Rachel a deal that would get the coven to back off of her but the cost is high. Her former boyfriend Nick Sparagmos arrives to make her situation worse as only he can while she wonders what game he is playing this time. Only her demon teacher Al seems to be on her side, but Rachel trusts no one as she realizes the coven that she has paid annual dues to for years can be bought and sold regardless of the buffoon announcements of the coven's Oliver to the contrary.

There is a lot going on in the Hollows as Kim Harrison shows her bewitching skills with a strong entry that follows up fresh and nice after all that occurred in the super The Outlaw Demon Wails and White Witch, Black Curse. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Rachel learns of the shunning sentencing and never slows down as she battles her "allies" who prove corrupt. As she and readers learn more about the coven and its history, fans will regale in the heroine's latest urban fantasy as the escapades keep coming at Rachel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Sorta disappointed...

I really liked this series and had been waiting for this to come out. I was sadly disappointed with this book. I had a very hard time trying to finish it. What I enjoyed most about the previous books was the ongoing relationship between Rachel and Ivy...which was pai...
I really liked this series and had been waiting for this to come out. I was sadly disappointed with this book. I had a very hard time trying to finish it. What I enjoyed most about the previous books was the ongoing relationship between Rachel and Ivy...which was painfully left out in this book. The prior two books had taken this part of the story to new levels giving me the feeling that the moment would finally come for these two characters. Alas, this was not so. And to rub salt into my wounds, one of the more annoying characters in the series, a ghost with a body, plays a more prominent role now. If the author has taken her series in a new direction, then I'm sad to say that I'll be sitting the rest of it out.

posted by 144014 on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 905 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    superb urban fantasy

    Having defeated various paranormal criminals and resolved the Kisten case, detective Rachel Morgan finds out she has been betrayed to a white magic coven who shun her for using black magic as a witch-born demon whose offspring will be demons. Stunned by the declaration and the sentencing, the coven offers her a choice of solitary incarceration at Alcatraz or sterilization.

    Drug kingpin Trent Kalamack the elf offers Rachel a deal that would get the coven to back off of her but the cost is high. Her former boyfriend Nick Sparagmos arrives to make her situation worse as only he can while she wonders what game he is playing this time. Only her demon teacher Al seems to be on her side, but Rachel trusts no one as she realizes the coven that she has paid annual dues to for years can be bought and sold regardless of the buffoon announcements of the coven's Oliver to the contrary.

    There is a lot going on in the Hollows as Kim Harrison shows her bewitching skills with a strong entry that follows up fresh and nice after all that occurred in the super The Outlaw Demon Wails and White Witch, Black Curse. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Rachel learns of the shunning sentencing and never slows down as she battles her "allies" who prove corrupt. As she and readers learn more about the coven and its history, fans will regale in the heroine's latest urban fantasy as the escapades keep coming at Rachel.

    Harriet Klausner

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    Sorta disappointed...

    I really liked this series and had been waiting for this to come out. I was sadly disappointed with this book. I had a very hard time trying to finish it. What I enjoyed most about the previous books was the ongoing relationship between Rachel and Ivy...which was painfully left out in this book. The prior two books had taken this part of the story to new levels giving me the feeling that the moment would finally come for these two characters. Alas, this was not so. And to rub salt into my wounds, one of the more annoying characters in the series, a ghost with a body, plays a more prominent role now. If the author has taken her series in a new direction, then I'm sad to say that I'll be sitting the rest of it out.

    10 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    this was awesome

    i got an advanced reader of this and it was great. after the last two which weren't bad just depressing this book takes the story to a great place. this is the best one since fist full of charms.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    Disappointing

    I had to make myself finish this book it has some great moments, like when Rach takes on the witching community, but that doesn't make up for the volume of nonsense drivel between former boyfriend and new idiot. Rachel can take care of her self and I didn't like the sheer number of pages dedicated to the ghost with a body implying she couldn't. Plus I was affronted by the death of a favorite character that required mister ghost instead of long time friends for support. Over all the spark is gone, and when you have to literally force yourself to finish a book you know it's time to leave the series behind.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!! Great read

    Rachel and Trent are up to their old tricks again and their love/hate relationship takes another turn with the promise still in the air that he is going to be made into her failure. Nick (the jerk) is back in this 8th installment and making Rachel's a living h#ll as usual with his lies and secrets. With Al now being Rachel's demon teacher, Rachel faces more heartache when the council attempts to capture her and put her to trial as a black witch, but boy are they in for a big surprise.....

    Can't wait to see what happens next with book 9-

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Once again Ms. Harrison sucked me into Rachel's world. I devoured the book the day I bought it after waiting with much anticipation I might add. I found myself understanding the characters even more including Trent Kalamack. It was wonderfully written (as are all her books) and fulfills the cliffhanger feeling from the prior book but left me eager for the next story. I laughed, I cried, I laughed some more. I absolutely recommend the book!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ????

    Why isn't this available in ebook format????

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    I love the ending.

    The was a great book to read. I couldn't put it down once I started. It was fast paced from the first chapter. It had lots of serious moments as well as some funny ones. I absolutely love the last few chapters. They were great and I had to go back and reread them immediately. I can't wait for the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read -- Other reviews are too harsh

    I read the several disgruntled customer reviews of this book before I read so my expectations where pretty low. And now I'm thoroughly confused on what you guys were complaining about. I thought it was a great installment. MUCH MUCH less depressing than some of Harrison's other Morgan installments. Fun, decently paced, some good character development. I can't believe I'm actually starting to like Big Al, but Harrison's doing a great job developing his character. And someone better do something about Nick soon.... geesh! All in all, I dug it and I'm ready for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Rachel pulls out another win

    Ms Harrison is a gifted writer able to put you in the seat next to her characters - you have an interesting ride with any of her writings
    This particular offering finds Rachel still growing as a individual as she wrestles with her self over good and evil, boyfriends, death, curses and her partners Ivy and Jenks - plus assorted bad guys/evildoers and of course Aligarept or Al is in fine form as Rachels teacher cum mentor.
    I can only say I wish I could read slower but I find myself devouring Ms Harrisons books as Newt devours souls

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Kim Harrison does it Again!

    Kim brings us back to Rachel and her 'family' quickly and with a resounding WOW. Her character development is consistent and makes us like, dislike, like again certain characters. It still pulls at our heartstrings about love lost and found in unusual places. It makes us think about family and what that means.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Still Original, still true to the beginning

    Kim Harrison has kept her characters growing and evolving. Just when I think there is no way for her stories to keep growing; she finds a new twist without destroying her characters personalities and sense of self.

    Her stories are great reads, keep your interest in the journey of her tales and make you care. Even if you read the last page, you want to see how the characters got there. There is no skipping pages to reach the end of Harrison's saga.

    I will keep buying her books as long as I have a job.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Good Addition to the Series

    This installment in the series runs at a fast clip and leaves you laughing and crying and ready for the next book to hit the stands. It is sad to have lost Kisten, but I'm glad to see that Rachel has someone to turn to. Let's hope that it works out better for her.

    Great Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kim Harrison and Rachel Morgan are at their best... again...

    I just LOVE Kim Harrison's series about Rachel Morgan. I am enchanted by the world she creates and the characters that come to life. Jenks and Ivy leap of the pages again. The imagery is vivid and at times I feel like I am right there in the room, watching Rachel work her magic. The action is good, and in a similar spirit to Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series, it has light-hearted fun mixed in with the mystery and darker moments.

    I highly recommend this book and the whole entertaining series to anyone looking for mystery and fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    They just get better!

    I cruise through this series, enjoying it all of the way. It is my guilty pleasure for sure. Hurry up with #9!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    RACHEL MORGAN BLACK MAGIC SANCTION

    I LOVE KIM HARRISON BOOKS. I HAVE READ EVERYONE AND I JUST WISH SHE COULD WRITE FASTER.....CAN'T WAIT TILL THE NEXT ONE COMES OUT.
    HER CHARACTERS ARE ORIGINAL, THE PACE IS FAST ACTION. READ THEM ALL, THEY ARE GREAT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling And Satisfying

    This eighth installment in the Rachel Morgan series entertains with a combination of heart-thumping action, supernatural high jinx, engaging regular characters and select scenes of emotional heartache, change and acceptance. The primary plot follows Rachel's struggles against the white witch coven of moral ethics and standards which has been informed of Rachel's altered demon-kin genetics, association with demons and ability to twist demon curses. The white but lethal coven witches initially seek to capture and hold her for either sterilization or lifelong imprisonment. Their tactics eventually change to assassination attempts against Rachel and anyone foolish enough to stand with her. Rachel initially limits herself to physical self-defense, but she's ultimately forced to fight magic with magic. She then schemes, steals and finagles to secure her friends, family, home and way of life. During her struggles she receives periodic help from her demon teacher Al and unwanted but needed assistance from Pierce, who's been assigned by the demons to protect/babysit her. Ivy, Jenks, Jenks' pixie family, including Jax, and Ceri also fight for Rachel. From the outset Rachel suspects Trent of being the coven informant, but she has no proof. Consequently, her early conversation/confrontations with him are incendiary. Her interactions with Al and Pierce are entertaining and enlightening. And, even her estranged, x-boyfriend, Nick, is masterfully integrated into the twisting, action plot. Over the course of the story, Rachel begins to accept her differences and mature. Jenks also grows beyond his personal limitations. This story is an action-packed, lightning-fast, roller-coaster ride with quirky twists and emotional turns. I recommend it and the entire series to anyone who enjoys urban fantasy or supernatural fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    I found this series last year and have been steadily reading thr

    I found this series last year and have been steadily reading through it ever since. It's so exciting to find a new series that I love so much, especially one with so many books already written! In Black Magic Sanction, Rachel has to deal with being shunned and the Coven trying to destroy her (literally).

    There were some things in this book that I would have been as happy without. Such as the little skill/physical talent that Rachel discloses after she makes love to Pierce. I think that little tidbit was supposed to be funny, but just came off as stupid to me.

    As always, there is a lot of action in the book and things move along quickly. Bis, the teenage gargoyle, gets a larger role in this story. I really enjoyed that as he is so cute and sweet - and there aren't that many cute and sweet characters in this series!

    While not my favorite book in the series, Kim Harrison still has the ability to make me laugh and cry when I read her work. I'm still in love with her characters and hope to read the next book in the series soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    Love her

    Love Rachel Morgan. Kept me entertained the Whole time. Highly recommenced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Is anyone on

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 905 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 46