Customer Reviews for

Black Magic Sanction (Rachel Morgan Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 893 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(607)

4 Star

(202)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

superb urban fantasy

Having defeated various paranormal criminals and resolved the Kisten case, detective Rachel Morgan finds out she has been betrayed to a white magic coven who shun her for using black magic as a witch-born demon whose offspring will be demons. Stunned by the declaration...
Having defeated various paranormal criminals and resolved the Kisten case, detective Rachel Morgan finds out she has been betrayed to a white magic coven who shun her for using black magic as a witch-born demon whose offspring will be demons. Stunned by the declaration and the sentencing, the coven offers her a choice of solitary incarceration at Alcatraz or sterilization.

Drug kingpin Trent Kalamack the elf offers Rachel a deal that would get the coven to back off of her but the cost is high. Her former boyfriend Nick Sparagmos arrives to make her situation worse as only he can while she wonders what game he is playing this time. Only her demon teacher Al seems to be on her side, but Rachel trusts no one as she realizes the coven that she has paid annual dues to for years can be bought and sold regardless of the buffoon announcements of the coven's Oliver to the contrary.

There is a lot going on in the Hollows as Kim Harrison shows her bewitching skills with a strong entry that follows up fresh and nice after all that occurred in the super The Outlaw Demon Wails and White Witch, Black Curse. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Rachel learns of the shunning sentencing and never slows down as she battles her "allies" who prove corrupt. As she and readers learn more about the coven and its history, fans will regale in the heroine's latest urban fantasy as the escapades keep coming at Rachel.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on January 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sorta disappointed...

I really liked this series and had been waiting for this to come out. I was sadly disappointed with this book. I had a very hard time trying to finish it. What I enjoyed most about the previous books was the ongoing relationship between Rachel and Ivy...which was pai...
I really liked this series and had been waiting for this to come out. I was sadly disappointed with this book. I had a very hard time trying to finish it. What I enjoyed most about the previous books was the ongoing relationship between Rachel and Ivy...which was painfully left out in this book. The prior two books had taken this part of the story to new levels giving me the feeling that the moment would finally come for these two characters. Alas, this was not so. And to rub salt into my wounds, one of the more annoying characters in the series, a ghost with a body, plays a more prominent role now. If the author has taken her series in a new direction, then I'm sad to say that I'll be sitting the rest of it out.

posted by 144014 on March 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Read -- Other reviews are too harsh

    I read the several disgruntled customer reviews of this book before I read so my expectations where pretty low. And now I'm thoroughly confused on what you guys were complaining about. I thought it was a great installment. MUCH MUCH less depressing than some of Harrison's other Morgan installments. Fun, decently paced, some good character development. I can't believe I'm actually starting to like Big Al, but Harrison's doing a great job developing his character. And someone better do something about Nick soon.... geesh! All in all, I dug it and I'm ready for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Rachel pulls out another win

    Ms Harrison is a gifted writer able to put you in the seat next to her characters - you have an interesting ride with any of her writings
    This particular offering finds Rachel still growing as a individual as she wrestles with her self over good and evil, boyfriends, death, curses and her partners Ivy and Jenks - plus assorted bad guys/evildoers and of course Aligarept or Al is in fine form as Rachels teacher cum mentor.
    I can only say I wish I could read slower but I find myself devouring Ms Harrisons books as Newt devours souls

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    Good Addition to the Series

    This installment in the series runs at a fast clip and leaves you laughing and crying and ready for the next book to hit the stands. It is sad to have lost Kisten, but I'm glad to see that Rachel has someone to turn to. Let's hope that it works out better for her.

    Great Read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    I found this series last year and have been steadily reading thr

    I found this series last year and have been steadily reading through it ever since. It's so exciting to find a new series that I love so much, especially one with so many books already written! In Black Magic Sanction, Rachel has to deal with being shunned and the Coven trying to destroy her (literally).

    There were some things in this book that I would have been as happy without. Such as the little skill/physical talent that Rachel discloses after she makes love to Pierce. I think that little tidbit was supposed to be funny, but just came off as stupid to me.

    As always, there is a lot of action in the book and things move along quickly. Bis, the teenage gargoyle, gets a larger role in this story. I really enjoyed that as he is so cute and sweet - and there aren't that many cute and sweet characters in this series!

    While not my favorite book in the series, Kim Harrison still has the ability to make me laugh and cry when I read her work. I'm still in love with her characters and hope to read the next book in the series soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog 4.5 s

    Reviewed by ANN & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog
    4.5 stars
    BLACK MAGIC SANCTION is a non-stop ride that that soars to great heights and at other times, makes your heart feel lower than dirt. ~ Under the Covers

    I write this review with a frown on my heart. Kim Harrison keels me!

    BLACK MAGIC SANCTION is a non-stop ride that that soars to great heights and at other times, makes your heart feel lower than dirt. Rachel Morgan cannot seem to catch a break. It seems as if she's got the worse luck in the worse. Even as she attempts to do the good or right thing, it always seems to backfire on her.

    In this book, bonds are tested and it's interesting to see how the events of the plot affect the relationships that Rachel has. What I think is interesting about this series in particular is the fact that as events change, so do the people in the Hollows. At a given time, you think you know how one is going to react, yet Harrison likes to throw you for a loop. It seems that the author has the ultimate control, and as a reader, that sometimes scares me because Harrison isn't afraid to push her characters and put them in difficult circumstances. Not knowing what's going to happen next terrifies me, but it's also part of the appeal of this series. The unexpected is welcomed.

    Since I listened to the audio of this book, I want to briefly mention about its narration. Marguerite Gavin is the narrator and it was my first time jumping into the audios after having read the others. I liked her take on the books, but sometimes had a difficult time telling voices apart. Ivy and Rachel have very distinct voices and can be distinguished from one another, but when other female voices are introduced, that's where I get a little lost.

    Also, because this book is so action-packed, if my attention slips just for a nanosecond, I feel as if I missed the large moving parts of the story. I found myself going back a bit to listen to certain scenes again. Overall, I enjoyed the narration but maybe for the next book, I will try reading it again. I don't want to miss anything integral simply because I have the attention span of a kid with ADD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best in the series

    I really enjoyed this trip to the Hollows, lots of action, twists and turns and tears..on to #9

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Love

    Ihave+fallen+in+love+with+this+series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Black Magic Sanction

    Wonderful Book!
    I can't wait for Pale Demon. Feb. 22, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    Favorite of the Series

    Vamp books are fairly easy to find these days, but this is a great little series. I like the twists they add to a witchy-vamp scenario merging with a real world. The detail in the demon world and the meshing of the two uses imagination and inputs originality. This was probably my favorite of the series to date, simply because I like the relationship balance that seems to have sprung up. The last few books left me feeling the main characters were rutted, but this one moved forward with out disintegrating a relationship standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great!

    Another great Kim Harrison book from the Rachel Morgan Series. It was a good read, although this installment was very sad at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Author rescuses series from serious depression

    Kim Harrison sort of redeems herself as an author in this latest book. Of course, about everything that could go wrong in the main character's life (Rachel) did go wrong already. So now she's climbing her way out of the big hole. This book doesn't completely resolve everything. For instance; there's a lot of demonolgy stuff still unresolved. But, it's more adventure story now rather than flying by the seat of her pants trying to stay alive while having more and more insoluable situations heaped on her head. In the end, the book is ambiguous enough that she could end the series, but I hope there are more books to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great escape for the Urban Fiction Lovers

    This book was great. Personally it was one of my favorites of the series. The plot was very fast paced and I found myself falling in love with the characters more and more. There was a lot of character development in this book that tied things in together in the series overall. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is into Urban Fantasy and being entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Read it!

    I love this series! Kim Harrison has an amazing writing style that just pulls you into the story line and keeps you wanting more. I thoguht this latest installment was good; not amazing, but good! I was still so into it that I read it in one sitting and was up to 3am. I laughed, cried, and even cringed, but it was all worth it! I definitely missed Ivy in this book, though! All in all, this is a great series that captivates the reader and keeps them wanting more and I think this book is no exception to that. Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Meh...

    Well, I do love the Rachel Morgan series and I've read all the others at least five times. That being said, I was really underwhelmed by this installment. Not to say, that I don't recommend it or it isn't good. I enjoyed the plot, and I always love seeing more of Al, who you get a decent amount of, and the whole is she/isn't she demon thing tickles my fancy. I guess my main beef with this book is that alot of the secondary characters we all love so much seem to be falling by the wayside a bit. Not much Ivy, Glen and Captain Edden barely make appearances, and Ceri, Trent, and Quen are practically footnotes. Oh and David only gets a mention here and there. Then again you get couple past characters making reappearances so that makes up for it a bit. Okay enough rambling, I'll try to sum up now:
    If you've enjoyed the rest of the series don't hesitate to read it! Plot and writing is good, and the character development on Rachel is really coming along nicely! Just don't expect to be as blown away as you may have been with the past couple books.
    If you've never read a Rachel Morgan tale, I highly recommend them, but start at the beginning, if you like them you'll read this one regardless of any review, cause that's what a series of books does to people.
    Hope something here helped, happy reading! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Finally...a good book in a series!

    I've been a longtime fan of the various supernatural series out there. The trend I've noticed is that as the series progresses the quality suffers. The storylines become convoluted and it is more kinky weird sex than it is anything else.

    This series was never a big favorite of mine but I have to reconsider after Black Magic Sanction. It was a good novel as part of a series and there was actually a plot and story progression. Laurell Hamilton could pick up a few pointers here.

    The characters could be a little less annoying i.e. Rachel the main character here. I get that she's conflicted about straddling that line between good and evil but wanting to be more good than evil but at some point she needs to accept that there is a gray area. I think that this whole book was about her acceptance of that gray area -- I just don't think it's been resolved and I hope it's not dragged out for another five novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    It's just ok...

    Kim Harrison is an excellent writer. The alternate world she has created is smart, unique, and solid. The characters are funny, layered, and very real. However....
    Rachel Morgan tends to be annoying. She sees her self as tough witch who can take care of her self, but her attitude more often comes across as bratty. It's her constant complaining about things being "unfair" that made me find myself cheering for the bad guys. Speaking of bad guys..Here we are in book 8 and STILL aren't sure where certain characters fall in her life.
    After trudging through a story thick with plots and sub plots, you finally make it to the climax. As the big moment came and excitement began to build, you realize that you must have missed something because suddenly it was over. After finishing the book I felt almost cheated. The ending leaves you, well, it just leaves you.
    All and all the book was just ok. Solid story, solid charaters, but lacking in excitment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    this one makes up for book 7...

    black magic sanction has made up for all the ill feelings i developed while reading book 7 (white witch, black curse)which i thought was one of the poorer written ones, kinda sloppy and rushed. in this 8th book. the story picks up where rachel is being hunted down by the witch counsel. nick is back in the story as well as pierce and of course good ol al. a majority of the story is rachels attempt to fend off the counsel (its a little reminescent of the first book where the IS is after her...) but its well balanced with alot of intrigue and new developments into what rachel is capable of as a demon apprentice. i wish the book was longer just because itll be another whole year before being to read what happens next. it ends on a very good note and i found this one to be very satisfying. cant wait to see what happens next >,<

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    slow start

    For the first time I had trouble getting into one of her books. The book starts slow but after the first 3 chapters it seemed to pick up speed. Does bog down through out the rest of the book. Isn't her best effort.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2010

    STUPID EREADER COMPLAINERS, TAKE YOUR BOO HOO's ELSE WHERE.

    Why the he!! are stupid duped ereaders complaining by rating a book low when they have NOT READ the friggen book??? This is for book comments not ereader ratings, my oh my are they feeling stupid or what?

    Any hoo I enjoyed the lasted edition to Rachels adventures, we got to see some (not all) of the old Rachel from books ago. Not liking this Pierce stuff but oh well. Al is always good stuff. Good and solid, much better then WWBC.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11