Customer Reviews for

Black Magic Woman (Others Series #11)

Average Rating 3.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Waited for Months and Not in Compatible Format

I waited for months for this book as I have all in the series and now have to wait for a refund. It is not compatible with the NookColor and will not download. It would not download to my computer either. I am so disappointed. I love this author and now I am going t...
I waited for months for this book as I have all in the series and now have to wait for a refund. It is not compatible with the NookColor and will not download. It would not download to my computer either. I am so disappointed. I love this author and now I am going to have to go buy paper because B&N had no idea if and when it would come in compatible format. It is compatible with iPhone, Blackberry and regular Nook. Be sure to click the arrow on "read exclusively on" before purchasing to make sure will work on your device.

posted by Territru on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

HORRID Experience

I Pre-Ordered this title for my 3G Nook and tried to download it today. After seeing the reviews about the issues with the Nook Color, I figured it must just be a glitch with my B&W Nook so I spent over an hour trying to fix the problem by turning the Nook on and off, y...
I Pre-Ordered this title for my 3G Nook and tried to download it today. After seeing the reviews about the issues with the Nook Color, I figured it must just be a glitch with my B&W Nook so I spent over an hour trying to fix the problem by turning the Nook on and off, yanking the battery and replacing it, archiving and unarchiving the title and finally unregistering and registering my Nook. I finally gave up and tried to call customer service. I was on hold for OVER AN HOUR before I finally had to hang up. Selling a product that your e-book users cannot access is akin to outright fraud and not having enough customer service available to help people in a timely manner is absolutely disgusting. It only took you a couple seconds to process my purchase of this title when I pre-ordered it and take my money, that you expect me to wait on hold for more than an hour to get a refund on a title YOU COULD NOT DELIVER AS PROMISED shows a blatant disregard for customer service. After today I'm seriously thinking about switching to a Kindle and never buying anything from Barnes & Noble again.

posted by 277999 on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    HORRID Experience

    I Pre-Ordered this title for my 3G Nook and tried to download it today. After seeing the reviews about the issues with the Nook Color, I figured it must just be a glitch with my B&W Nook so I spent over an hour trying to fix the problem by turning the Nook on and off, yanking the battery and replacing it, archiving and unarchiving the title and finally unregistering and registering my Nook. I finally gave up and tried to call customer service. I was on hold for OVER AN HOUR before I finally had to hang up. Selling a product that your e-book users cannot access is akin to outright fraud and not having enough customer service available to help people in a timely manner is absolutely disgusting. It only took you a couple seconds to process my purchase of this title when I pre-ordered it and take my money, that you expect me to wait on hold for more than an hour to get a refund on a title YOU COULD NOT DELIVER AS PROMISED shows a blatant disregard for customer service. After today I'm seriously thinking about switching to a Kindle and never buying anything from Barnes & Noble again.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    Waited for Months and Not in Compatible Format

    I waited for months for this book as I have all in the series and now have to wait for a refund. It is not compatible with the NookColor and will not download. It would not download to my computer either. I am so disappointed. I love this author and now I am going to have to go buy paper because B&N had no idea if and when it would come in compatible format. It is compatible with iPhone, Blackberry and regular Nook. Be sure to click the arrow on "read exclusively on" before purchasing to make sure will work on your device.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book!

    While like everyone else I had download issues when the book was first released - after getting a refund and then re-purchasing the book I was able to download on my Nook 3G/Wi-Fi with no problems, while irritating Barnes and Noble did handle the situation appropriately. I thought this book was Rafe and Tessa's story due to the title and cover since a book description was not available when I first pre-ordered. I was a little upset when I found it wasn't but I was NOT disappointed in the story - Christine Warren has a way of writing a story that just draws you in - also other characters from her previous books were also in this story so you had a little update on them as well. I won't give a true snopsis as I don't like giving details away on a book or reading about them from other reviewers(my personal preference no offense meant.) Simply put if you love the Others by Christine Warren this book will not disappoint!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Explanation+of+series

    I+havent+finished+yet+but+n+the+very+beging+the+author+explanes+the+REAL+order+of+the+series.+This+is+actually+the+3ed+in+%22The+Others%22.+It+is+worth+reading+just+2+understand+how+the+series+goes+%26+what+2+expect+next.+And+if+ur+like+me+i+HAVE+2+go+n+order.+Love+the+intire+series+

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Not compatible with Nook Ipad

    Had pre-ordered book so did not see previous reviews about downloading problems. If you buy the book for the BN reader on the Ipad and have downloading problems, call BN and request a refund, be prepared to wait a considerable time (over 20 minutes) and then to listen to how you have to check the devices (although the website makes it easy to buy the e-book from the a query, etc). Unfortunately the BN contact said there is no mechanism to e-mail the resolution (that a refund is coming) and you just have to wait until the refund shows up. Than if you still want to read the e-book, do what I have unfortunately had to too many times recently, go buy it at Amazon.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Wasnt the best

    The story was great but tge relationship never really meshed for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    I love the Others Series

    This is a great book. I have enjoyed all the of the Others series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    Awesome

    Great characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Others romantic urban fantasy is a jocular tale

    Daphanie Carter has mixed feelings about the Prince Charming who her sister Niecie loves (see Prince Charming Doesn't Live Here). On the one hand he seems nice and genuinely cares for her sibling, but on the other he is not quite human. Though she was raised in a mixed race home, Daphanie may have some tolerance, but still she wants to know a lot more about the Others before embracing her new brother-in-law Mac.

    Quigley the imp under the table at her sibling's wedding reception invites Daph to a nightclub frequented by the Others. At the joint, root beer soaks Charles Antoine D'Abo the witch doctor who blames Daph for his damping. She apologizes but also faults him for rushing in the bar and refuses to back down when he demands she grovel. As his job is to protect humans from the Others, Guardian Asher Grayson intervenes. When she becomes the target of magic, Asher gets involved trying to keep the mortal safe while wondering if she bewitched him.

    The latest Others romantic urban fantasy is a jocular tale as the tough human female and the bewildered guardian fall in love. Although the story line is somewhat thin, fans of the series will enjoy this entertaining thriller as Asher's refrain is "I'm Not In Love (10 CC) while trying to protect Daph that from a magical assault.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    Was Able to download to Nook Color using website

    For those having issues with downloading this book, I purchased it on the website on my computer and then went into the library on my nook and clicked on the circular arrows in the bottom left corner and it immediately downloaded to my nook color.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Not compatible with my Nook Classic or PC

    I bought this yesterday and I was unable to download it. Since it was quite late I didn't really care figuring I could do it today. Well it wouldn't download again today on my Nook classic nor would it download for my PC. I called customer service and they couldn't even get it to download for them. They are issuing me a refund which is great since I went to the Borders Books website and bought it from them. Not only was I able to download it to my PC I was able to add it to the "my documents" section of my Nook. Sure its not with my other Christine Warren books, but at least I can read it on my Nook.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Not compatible with nook 3G or ipad

    I couldn't download ths book to my 3G nook or iPad. I spent 35 min on the phone with customer service for then to tell me it wasn't compatible with my nook. I just asked for them to refund my money. Now why would b&n sell a nook book that you can't read on your nook?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    Not Compatible with Nook Color - B&N should have cautioned customers

    If the potential exists for publishers to produce ebooks in a format not compatible with all devices sold by B&N, then the retailer owes it to their patrons to indicate these restrictions/limitations on their website during the "browse/shop" experience and definitely as a warning before the "confirm" phase of the purchase process. Consider the cost (financial and customer dissatisfaction) in correcting this oversight. Although this author is definitely a favorite, I will not be purchasing the non-epub version.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    Response to previous review

    There is an issue with the download for the eBook so it is not viewable on any device. Just call the 1-800 number and they will issue a refund. I'll take my refund and run up to the store to get the paperback itself. Especially since this author is an autobuy for me, love her stuff. :-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worthless.Can't read on Nook Color or Android.

    It would be nice to read on something other than a PC or a B/W Nook.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6