Customer Reviews for

Black Male Handbook: A Blueprint for Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Great Gift

    I recently purchased this book for two of my friends, one of which is incarcerated. Both have given me raving reviews of the book and has said that it has helped them change their whole outlook on life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Valued Tool

    This book proved to be something that I could add to the distribution list. I have a few people in mind that would benefit greatly from the point of view and perspectives it held.

    A nice find!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Must read

    Outstanding book all young black males should read this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Great read!

    Love this book and the different point of views.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    WOW

    I sent this book to my son's father who is incarcerated. I didn't read it for myself....but his response let me know, that this book was truly an inspiration to him....I have sent him all kinds of books......but this is the 1st one in which he said has really helped him, and if you knew his background, you would say WOW too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pratice These Principles in all of our affairs (Step 12 AA).

    This is the type of life changing book that would work as it is designed except for the fact that the people who need to read it won't or can't, and the people who do read it stop after they are finished reading. This type of book and its audience need much more than words on the pages. They need a program of action to invoke the reinforcements of these daily life principles that affirm and confirm that these words and the thoughts, ideas, and concepts within are achievable. Couple that with personal guidance which is necessary to make clear the differences between conflicting ideas and the environmental actions that some people are bound to and others are bound by and this will create that much needed program of action. The books concepts need to be taken from the college campus to the nearest street corner and thereupon redistributed peer-to-peer until the change that is sought takes hold like oak tree seeds thereby growing and flourishing. However, this is not the urban reality. For every person who reads this book and shares it with one other person, only one of the ten people who have listened will take these words to applicable action within their personal lives. That is a shame.
    I met Mr. Powell at the University of Akron's Black Male Summit and spoke with him at the book signing, taking his suggestions, and making one of my own. The Black Male Summit was a wonderful event and could have been better served if a store like this one could have had him there for an informal gathering and or book signing with a question and answer period. The Transformation of the Black Man is moving onward and books and authors like Mr. Powell need to keep on the firing line of life continuing to advance this personal and universal transformation of the Black Man in America. At best this mission is hard because the foot soldiers for the movement are not yet in place. I am a General in the foot soldier movement of Personal Transformation for men of color everywhere. I recommend a book written by one of my professors the title is SELF-DEVELOPMENT THROUGH SIX STEPS TO AWARENESS by Dr. Vasant Joshi. It is a cornerstone book to beginning this process of personal transformation. I have copies of his book because it is not widely published, as of late, however, this does not lessen its impact on readers from all lifestyles. E-mail me at johnnychuff@live.com,. In addition, another book that should be read is Black Grief and Soul Therapy by Dr. Nicholas Cooper-Lewter it is also a cornerstone book.
    In the mean time, Mr. Powell and the myriad of other authors (within this book and out), lecturers, and teachers who present similarly uplifting and life affirming information are applauded for their efforts and highly respected by most of the people who read their books and share their knowledge. We need more people like him and more of his and others personal sharing and caring in the University setting, in religious institutions, libraries, and in the urban setting, recreational centers, ect. I look forward to reading and being able to use more of his and others books and programs in my daily life and work.
    Caring and Sharing
    Freedom and Love
    Mr. Johnny C. Huff, M.Ed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1