Customer Reviews for

Black Moon (Moon Trilogy Part I)

Average Rating 3.5
( 1673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(581)

4 Star

(473)

3 Star

(339)

2 Star

(145)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Good short Story

I thought this was a very good short read. I am an avid reader and read very fast, so for me it was a quick read. The story line was very good as is the whole series. But I wish that each one was longer. Black Moon, Silver Moon, and Amber Moon are good stories that I wo...
I thought this was a very good short read. I am an avid reader and read very fast, so for me it was a quick read. The story line was very good as is the whole series. But I wish that each one was longer. Black Moon, Silver Moon, and Amber Moon are good stories that I would have loved to see much more of.

posted by 8448830 on June 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

90 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

amateur effort

It's an intriguing idea, to be sure. Werewolves, werecats, and a magical book. However, there are grammatical and spelling errors, along with obscure multi-syllabic words scattered in for good measure. The development is too rushed, with the most time spent on sex. This...
It's an intriguing idea, to be sure. Werewolves, werecats, and a magical book. However, there are grammatical and spelling errors, along with obscure multi-syllabic words scattered in for good measure. The development is too rushed, with the most time spent on sex. This is not sci-fi; it's a porn novella. I recommend Nicky Charles' werewolves series: The Mating, The Keeping, and The Finding.

posted by ngangy on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Recommend

    Loved all three books. Would recommend to others. Some sex is involved so discrestion is advised.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Good read but...

    Well, i thought it was pretty good. There are some grammar and what not occationally. Its a great read, but was kinda awkward. I didnt like the sex part cuz it was awkward n im 13 so i skipped it. n it had mainly romance but good action. Its mainly around the couple. For me it had too much romance. I still liked it tthough. I may not reead the nextt one cuz it wwas all romance plus they did it n they hardly knew eachother. Like who does that?

    Anywho the book was rushed n was too centered round tthem the whole time. From the beginnin to end they were together n loved eachother

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Short

    It felt rushed through the whole story, but it was good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Its ook

    The story is rushed and therefor a little weird to read and awkward. Would have more potential if it was more developed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    MONITOR YOUR KIDS

    Seriously, guys, you can't just hand your kids access to the entire world of literature and expect them to be innocent. Kiddies, if you don't wanna read it, don't. This is not marketed as a children's book, so don"t act like you've been misled. Good rule of thumb: if it doesn't say "for children/teens" it's for adults!
    As far as the story, I personally feel that if you're going to publish it you should make it look technically good, plot nonwithstanding, but I am willing to forgive a bit because of the freeness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    :D

    The series is great but in the 1st and the 3rd books ...waaay too much sex. i mean for cryin out loud people im only ten! But theese books are amazing. The ones in the series i mean. I dont really like the other two
    Sea of dreams
    Or
    Shadow people

    I dont reccomend those two unless ur into

    ShadowPeople
    A theif who gets chased by people that come out of shadows or a 'hot' guy who has a evil twin whos trying to bring this lord of the shodows or some thing

    SeaOfDreams
    A girl who thinks shes the last person in on earth and the first 'person' she meets tries to kill her then she meets others then they come to a whole camp oh dont forget the faeries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    part 1

    This is a good 30 min read but has a scattering of grammatical errors throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Decent

    Short, relatively engaging, decent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Good

    Good short read. It made me want to read the next novellas in the trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Were-jaguar Donovan Lawton encounters- and is inexorably drawn t

    Were-jaguar Donovan Lawton encounters- and is inexorably drawn to damsel-in-distress Isabella Morgan while he is doing night reconnaissance from the woods. Isabella is fleeing their common enemy: the Whitelaw werewolves. Donovan intervenes and subsequently learns that Isabella is on a mission to keep the destructive magic of a dangerous book out of the hands of the evil Whitelaws, who were already wreaking havoc on Earth by infiltrating human political, financial, and legal power structures to serve their nefarious purposes.

    "Black Moon" by C.L. Bevill is a fast-paced paranormal-action-adventure-romance story that is a quick, light read. As you would expect in a 95-page novella, there is not a great deal of character development, but that is ok because this is more of an action-driven story. The plot is engaging, and I would like to see this story fleshed out into a full length novel. I will definitely read the rest of the Moon Trilogy series, the next of which is "Amber Moon".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Very short

    This was a good book, however it was shorter than I would have liked. the pace of the book was good but the story was rushed and left me wanting more. I read the book in less than an hour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    OK but disappointing - no Bubba

    I read Bevill's Bubba and the Dead Woman, which was delightful, and wanted to read more from this author. Sadly, none of the wry wit of that book is present here - it takes itself entirely seriously, and is a mildly entertaining if formulaic short story padded with the sort of bodice-ripper passages that make me avoid romance novels. It almost feels like the two books were written by different authors. She should stick to Bubba.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Thank goodness for a sequel

    First let me say that even though this book is short I am thankful that it is a series so I am not left hanging as to what is going to happen next with the Book of the Black Moon. The power this book has is freaky and dangerous and I want to know more. I wish I could offer more info in this review but I don't want to give anything away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Pretty good series, skiped some parts

    I was mildly alarmed by some of the content. There are curse words and a few intense intamate senes. I skiped over these things, but other than that the overall plot was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    It only gets better!

    Lots of action! Series is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good short read

    Good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Good story BAD erotica though

    Boosh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Interesting story

    Since this was free I wasn't sure what to expect. I wouldn't spend much money on this series but they were interesting stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Black Moon

    Never heard of a werejagure before. But sounds very interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    This book was good. Too big of a story for a novella, though. Wo

    This book was good. Too big of a story for a novella, though. Would loved to have had more content. Wish the writer had put more into the story and abbreviated the sex.....would have been a better book. It sure had potential, though.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 339 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17