Customer Reviews for

Black Night (Black Wings Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining - Highly recommend!

    I noticed that there are a lot of mixed reviews for both Black Wings and Black Night. I rated the first installment four stars, and I think this installment was equally as good, if not better, and I finished reading it in a couple of days. I think readers are torn due to the quirky personality of the heroine, and some of the off-beat comments she makes. So, either you like her or you don't. I, on one hand, find her interactions with other characters amusing, and I did find myself laughing every once in a while at her internal monologue and thoughts. On the other hand, I did not like the main character of Ilona Andrews' Kate Daniels series. I found her "quirky" personality annoying, and therefore did not like the book. I think it depends on your sense of humor. In this second installment, Madeline Black visits the Faerie Court, encounters a few werewolves and other demonic creatures. The main focus, however, still revolves around fallen angels and their hierarchy. One thing that annoyed me were the many fight scenes she encounters. It seemed rather repetitive, and between this installment and the first, she gets saved a lot by Gabriel's and Nathaniel's healing powers. There is some character development though, and the heroine becomes more independent. Black Wings is light on the Madeline/Gabriel interaction this time around, but you are introduced to a handful of other characters. Highly recommend!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mesmerizing Sequel

    I strongly suggest you read the previous book in the series (Black Wings) prior to reading this installment.

    What a fabulous read! If I thought I adored the first book, I fell completely head-over-heels with this sequel.

    The heroine is strong, smart and powerful in her own right. I love that she is Lucifer's granddaughter. The author really put a new and fresh spin on a genre going stale. There were sensitive issues to deal with in this installment and they were done admirably and delicately. The story was one wild ride after another that I never wanted this book to end.

    I highly recommend his book to fellow dark urban fantasy readers and can't wait for the next book Black Howl due out 2/28/2012.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Loved it

    Well developed characters, great dialogue, and a breathtaking pace. This book did not disappoint. Main character continues to kick butt despite herself and uses that fantastic brain of hers to get herself out of some touchy situations. Can't wait till book 3!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Great book

    LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    great book

    It was fun

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I finished this book last night and I absolutely love this serie

    I finished this book last night and I absolutely love this series!! I am onto number 3 now and can't wait for more to come!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Different take on Paranormal

    I really enjoyed reading about Maddy and her self discovery.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Wow

    Did not expect to like this book as much as i did. If you like the stormwalker or mercedes series these books are gor you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    If you liked the "Black Wings" you will love "Black Night". This story advances the over all arch of the series and helps to expand the noteable characters stories. This one throws lots of intrigue at you. Pleanty of plot twists to keep guessing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Love it!

    Great book! Love the series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The second Agent of Death urban fantasy is a fabulous investigative thriller

    Agent of Death, Madeline Black guides souls as the deceased pass from one existence to the next. Maddy is notified where and when to provide her service, but recently Chicago has been hit with unscheduled gruesome homicides of werewolves that are outside of the normal celestial pact.

    Maddy, her friend Beezle the donut eating gargoyle and her daddy assigned bodyguard Gabriel investigate. They learn that the son of a dead nephilim seeks revenge against the Agent of death who killed his parent. As Maddy hunts this Samiel, her two companions vanish. Complicating life for Maddy in her search for her friends is her paternal grandfather who demands she negotiate a new deal for his clan with the fae. The last Fallen Angel sent by Lucifer to the Fairy Court literally lost his head.

    The second Agent of Death urban fantasy (see Black Wings) is a fabulous investigative thriller; as the heroine finds out that sometimes you get what you wish for now that she knows her dad is neither dead nor a deadbeat. The fulfillment has second and third order effects with the rise of new enemies as Lucifer's foes use original sin against her. Filled with action fans will enjoy touring Chicago as Christina Henry provides a dark joyride with the donut munching Beezle providing jocularity before he vanishes.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    Recommended Read

    I read the first book and it was wonderful. of course I love vampire novels so that was what caught my attention but after the first couple pages I could not put the book down. I read the whole first book in a matter of hours. Can not wait until this one is released... waiting impatiently :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    Fantastic Read!  This series definitely gets better with each ne

    Fantastic Read!  This series definitely gets better with each new addition. It is an easy read but completely enjoyable. I particularly enjoy the unexpected plot twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Moonclaw

    Anyone interested?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    Wonderful story, non stop action.

    Wonderful story, non stop action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Request

    Kill Inkleaf at the guild

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    KILL

    FUQING KILL THE LEADER OF BLAZECLAN AT JOYFUL ALL RESULTS! FROM RIVERRUSH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    To the assassin

    Kill shade at shade flame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Paperback/Fantasy: Book Two of the Black Wings series. So far,

    Paperback/Fantasy: Book Two of the Black Wings series. So far, I am enjoying this series. I like our heroine Maddy and her gargoyle/sidekick, Beezle. Maddy is now dealing with bodyguard Gabriel (the man she wants) and her intended Nathaniel (the man she can wants to punch in the face). On orders of her grandfather, she agrees to be an envoy in the fairy court during negotiations.
    I liked this book because it did not go the way I thought it would. There are some big changes in this book and it is darker than the last book.
    I ready to read the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Smart and action-packed

    Even though it is Book 2 of a series, BLACK NIGHT works well as a standalone – and I did not too overwhelmed by the backstory that I could not enjoy the present dangers for Maddy and company. Too often I find urban fantasies with badass heroines who delivers cute yet overly girlish one-liners, and I was pleasantly surprised to find Maddy more of a wham-bam-thank-you-ma’am type of girl who would rather engage in a pissing contest with the faerie queen and not obsess over her missing bodyguard to the point where she is utterly useless. There was a forbidden romance story arc, but it did not dominate Maddy’s entire attention.

    I mentioned earlier that BLACK NIGHT can be enjoyed as a standalone. What happens in BLACK NIGHT, stays mostly in BLACK NIGHT. However, I do get the impression that there is an underlying current of trouble that is slowly building to a crescendo for the entire series. Which means that reading from the beginning BLACK WINGS and continuing with the rest of the series will only bring Maddy and company closer to whatever devious plans Lucifer has in store for them. I had been hoping to learn what it means for Maddy to be an “agent of death,” but it does not seem to come into play in BLACK NIGHT. Which only means that I will have to check out Book 1 to learn more about it :)

    I think Christina Henry has created a smart and action-packed series that will appeal to a more bloodthirsty reader. Fans of Lilith Saintcrow’s Dante Valentine series will be thrilled for a new series to devour and a favorite new heroine to kick some demon butt. I am hoping that BLACK HOWL will bring the Maddy-Gabriel relationship into the spotlight, especially since these two were left with an awfully sticky situation that definitely changes the playing field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4