Customer Reviews for

Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gripping tale. Makes you want more.

My friend and I listened to this book on tape while in the car. We had to take it out and listen at home because it was so good.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

How can i join nightclan?

My name is bleedingheart, where should i go to join nightclan? I will give more info on myself when i know where to go.

posted by 9252366 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2000

    Gripping tale. Makes you want more.

    My friend and I listened to this book on tape while in the car. We had to take it out and listen at home because it was so good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    Check it Out

    Fantastic!!! Excellent reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great

    Love this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Highly recommended

    This was excellend as are all the Scarpetta books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Applepaw to velvetstar

    Whos my damn mentor?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    ANONOMOUS

    The best so far! Excellent. Benton bores me to tears I think the twist and tryst with Talley was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Very Good

    I learned a lot from this book, and it was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Black Notice

    Patricia Cornwell continues the Kay Scarpetta series with another great book. Despite reading it out of order, this book in particular got me hooked on Kay Scarpetta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Black Notice

    I thought this was an interesting title. I thought it was original and a page turner. This is my first time reading anything by her.I am glad I picked this one. I plan to read more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended as another great book!

    This is a mystery book and suspenceful. I like when Cornwell keeps you guessing up until the very end. A job well done my dear on this crime fiction book. Her books keep you tense and on edge. After a while you feel as though you know the character's and you can relate to them. Great Job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    Very disappointing...

    During the past 10 days, I have read the first 10 novels of the Kay Scarpetta series. BLACK NOTICE was a big disappointment, much too disjointed & confusing at times. Killing off Benton Wesley in the previous novel was a huge mistake, as this offered the reader another demension of Kay. Benton gave her balance & enabled Kay to show a little vulunerablity. Marino gets worse with each novel; his profanity & crudeness are tiresome. He should be given a little class. Lucy is a step away from being certifiable, a nut case that has no business carrying a gun & working for the ATF. <BR/><BR/>For Kay to have had a crush on the much younger, Talley, & a sex scene, was so out of character. It only serves to makes the reader think she has become totally unglued. Also, why tantalize the reader with Marino's tirade in the Paris hotel room about Benton's possibly being alive? Is Benton returning? I certainly hope so. This will be the only thing to give Kay a bit of lightness & love in her life. <BR/><BR/>I hope the following Scarpetta novels will be an improvement on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    terrible

    the story starts out fine, but the plot is not developed and there is no ending. The next book is Last Precinct, which starts off where this one ended, but it does little to fix this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    I loved it.

    My friend Cassie suggested this book to me for a project in English class and it completely got me hooked on Patricia Cornwell's work. She is amazing and I love the Scarpetta series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Lost and left behind

    I love most of PC's work and have enjoyed them all until Black Notice, she skips around and jumps from one place to another in one line. I was lost several times as to where we physically were in the story. I felt she left out many details, it was cut and dry, Dr. Scarpetta, leaves rooms and people with out finishing converstaions and I felt like more details could have been used, even if it took up a few hundred more pages, at least the book would be more enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    Great writing, again!!

    I love the Kay Scarpetta series books and 'Black Notice' was suspenseful and unique to the end. I recommend this to anyone loving good mystery books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Fascinating, another winner!

    Keeps you guessing 'til the very end, this book is incredibly well-done. I love all of Patricia Cornwell's books, but this one is by far one of my favorites. If you're a fan of well written crime fiction, don't hesitate to gobble this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2004

    Very predictable and disappointing ending

    I have read most of the Kay Scarpetta series and I must say that none have disappointed me as much as this one. The end was VERY predictable and this particular ending made Dr. Scarpetta look very careless and stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2004

    Good

    I liked this book, it was a little dicey in parts but other wise a good read. I think PC needs to space out her body count more. I've noticed in her books that for the first half of the book there is one body and then at the end she rushes in 2 or 3 more(whom get no where near the attention as the first victim) which gives the book a 'rushed to get done feel.' I'd like to see her space out her plot-action sequences more evenly instead of having it all in the last 20 pages. I also thought the ending was rushed and there wasn't a huge climax. It felt like it lacked in the end, another chapter to resolve it all would have been a good idea-instead of this mid sentence ending PC is famous for. Definately better than 'The Last Precinct' but falls short of 'Blow Fly'. On a final note: I hope PC is finished and done with this whole 'Werewolf' business, I don't think I could handle a fourth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    The Best Ever !!!!!!!!!

    I have read about 9 other of Patricia Cornwells books and I have to say that this one beats all Ive read to date. This was truely the best tense and suspenseful I've read , I would say you will love this book for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2001

    Cornwell Hits a Home Run

    I've read all the Cornwell's 'Kay Scarpetta' books now and I enjoyed this one more than the others. I could not put this book down. I enjoy the series because I feel I know all the characters now and I have such a mental image of each of them. I have tried reading Hornest's Nest and Southern Cross but could not get emotionally involved in them. I am going to give them another try. But Black Notice was by far the best one yest in my opinion. On a personal note, I also enjoy her books because though I no longer live in Richmond, Virginia, I was born and raised there for 27 years. I enjoyed the descriptions of streets, restaurants and neighborhoods because I know they do exist. That part is not fiction. Way to go, Patricia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7