Customer Reviews for

Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gripping tale. Makes you want more.

My friend and I listened to this book on tape while in the car. We had to take it out and listen at home because it was so good.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

How can i join nightclan?

My name is bleedingheart, where should i go to join nightclan? I will give more info on myself when i know where to go.

posted by 9252366 on December 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    Very disappointing...

    During the past 10 days, I have read the first 10 novels of the Kay Scarpetta series. BLACK NOTICE was a big disappointment, much too disjointed & confusing at times. Killing off Benton Wesley in the previous novel was a huge mistake, as this offered the reader another demension of Kay. Benton gave her balance & enabled Kay to show a little vulunerablity. Marino gets worse with each novel; his profanity & crudeness are tiresome. He should be given a little class. Lucy is a step away from being certifiable, a nut case that has no business carrying a gun & working for the ATF. <BR/><BR/>For Kay to have had a crush on the much younger, Talley, & a sex scene, was so out of character. It only serves to makes the reader think she has become totally unglued. Also, why tantalize the reader with Marino's tirade in the Paris hotel room about Benton's possibly being alive? Is Benton returning? I certainly hope so. This will be the only thing to give Kay a bit of lightness & love in her life. <BR/><BR/>I hope the following Scarpetta novels will be an improvement on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2005

    terrible

    the story starts out fine, but the plot is not developed and there is no ending. The next book is Last Precinct, which starts off where this one ended, but it does little to fix this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    The Downslide Continues

    In Cornwell's 'Scarpetta' series, drama has increasingly yielded to melodrama, and characters have deteriorated into caricatures. Moreover, the caricatures have become revoltingly self-important and Self-absorbed. Scarpetta herself spends a great deal of time deploring the extent to which others fail to accord her the deference she deserves. Her attitude is understandable, though, since the world (as depicted by Cornwell) revolves around her. She is the target of all the villains, and is idolized everyone else. It's sometimes difficult to remember that she's only a medical examiner. I've about given up on Cornwell. Her non-Scarpetta books were dismal failures, and her latest Scarpetta books haven't been much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Recycling Doesn't Always Pay

    Hmmm. . .let's see. . .a serial killer with an extremely rare physical abnormality wreaks havoc on the community. Readers of Patricia Cornwell's first Scarpetta novel, Postmortem, will recognize this very familiar plot device in her latest, Black Notice. I was extremely disappointed to see this old sequence of events replayed. It worked the first time; it doesn't the second. In addition, I was disappointed with the constant stream of profanity that flows through this novel. I have to wonder if Cornwell is running out of fresh ideas, and fresh ways of expressing herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    What a bore!!!

    I am a huge fan of Dr. Kay Scarpetta, Marino, and Lucy. In comparison to the her other books, this one bored me to tears. The new young lover plot was unneeded and even suggesting that Benton is alive is cruel. Marino is getting angrier with each book, and Lucy needs an attitude adjustment quick. The story with the 'werewolf' was absurd in comparison to real life stories of the previous books. The characters are not ruined for me yet though and I can't wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2000

    Not her best work

    The whole sub-plot of Kay dealing with the loss of Benton was absurd. It didn't even sound like her. Lucy is turning into a cartoon and Marino is getting weird. Still, I'm looking forward to the next installment - maybe the Kay we all know and love will be back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2000

    Former Good Writer Submits Trash

    From the beginning, this (can I call it a book?)trash was disconnected. Seldom have I been disgusted with the imagination and talent of an author. Slow down, Patricia Cornwall! You have talent but none of it was evident in Black Notice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1