Customer Reviews for

Black Ops (Presidential Agent Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 184 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tipping point in the series

I am a long time fan of W.E.B. Griffin, a master of writing a series where the characters become like relatives or friends of his readers. My favorite series is ¿The Corps¿, which takes the reader through WWII and into the Korean Conflict. Griffin¿s new series, ¿Preside...
I am a long time fan of W.E.B. Griffin, a master of writing a series where the characters become like relatives or friends of his readers. My favorite series is ¿The Corps¿, which takes the reader through WWII and into the Korean Conflict. Griffin¿s new series, ¿Presidential Agent¿ is set in modern times with modern conflicts with terrorists in a politically correct world. Personality and agency conflicts provide the tension, and USA LTC Carlos Castillo, the center character of the series, reminds me of USMC Major McCoy in ¿The Corps¿ series.

Agency infighting and egos once again block intelligence about a developing terrorist attack. The president has formed a special intelligence/operational group under his personal control, headed by LTC Castillo. Previous success by Castillo has earned him the enmity of the CIA, FBI, and the director of national intelligence¿The Ambassador.

Castillo faces many challenges, one of which is dealing with senior officers when he is in charge. However, he also has his ¿angels¿ who provide him as much protection as they can. The tipping point in the series comes when Castillo once again out foxes the alphabet agencies and wins the battle¿but will he loose the war? You must read the book to find out.

Black Ops is not a page turning action-adventure novel, but it is a page turning political-intelligence suspense novel, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I suggest that new readers begin at the beginning of the series, otherwise is it easy to become confused by the continuing stories from previous books, a Griffin hallmark.

posted by Technothriller_Fan on January 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Who rated this book 4 stars

Purchased and read this book based on the rating of 4 stars. Not worth 1 star. Alot of characters with foreign names and all over the map, literally. The review said lots of action, forget it, hardly any, even when there was suppose to be the mission, hardly anything ...
Purchased and read this book based on the rating of 4 stars. Not worth 1 star. Alot of characters with foreign names and all over the map, literally. The review said lots of action, forget it, hardly any, even when there was suppose to be the mission, hardly anything was said. I was very disappointed since I wanted an action pack adventure. Want a good one, read Ice Station. Non stop action and easy to keep up with who is who.

posted by actionthrillerfanman on February 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    Why?

    By far the worst of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Good book

    The book is a great read, however as usual B&N overcharges significantly as it does with many of their other offerings. I will most likely get rid of the Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Meh

    I am sure this is a good book, but it just did not hold my interest. I think all those German words were overwhelming. Someone who knows German would probably love this book since it had interesting characters. I got bored waiting for the plot to develop, and I just could not get into the spirit of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slow Developing But Hang In There

    Having not read any of the earlier books in this series, and not being familiar with W.E.B. Griffin, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I read a lot of novels in this genre; some great and some horrible. This is somewhere in the middle. From the start it gets bogged down and muddled with overly detailed descriptions of places and military hardware, needless military Acronyms, and the introduction of countless characters without giving them any perspective or development. I hung in there past the first 150 pages or so and I'm glad I did. The story is wonderfully intricate and unfortunately all too plausible in the crazy world. Still, while I have no doubt that Mr. Griffin is expert on all matters military and intelligence, he might consider spending a little more time on the characters and a little less on the technical jargon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Not good for audio

    There are too many characters with complex names and places of origin. The hired reader does not have a diverse voice toolkit so it was hard to distinguish the characters.

    Otherwise, if you like spy stories, this is proabably best when read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    WEB Griffin still packs a lot into a quick read. Action packed, fast pace and definitely global in scope. Charlie Castillo is still on the prowl looking for the bad guys...

    Based on the way this book ended I would think this may be the last in the series... however, one never knows. What I do know is that the book has many twists and turns and jet hopping all over the place. I found that we did spend a bit too much time on the dogs and their biological habits, reacquainting ourseleves with all the history of the various family members and maybe not as much time on what was actually going on and what were the driving forces besides the Russions wanting to become a superpower again. The number of key players (actors)is becoming a bit too complex and convoluted to keep track of versus trying to keep the plot moving. Clever introduction of the new girlfriend but got a little much with the various outfits.
    Overall, a good action packed read with a certain amount of current events thrown in to make it topical. You have to root for the good guys and still see the Russsians as the "Red Menace". You may even think this is cleverly written to share the author's view of the world. Hats off to those actors who risk their lives daily to allow us to live ours reasonably unimpeded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    W.E.B. YOU HAVE GONE TOO FAR THIS TIME

    I have read every book this author has written, usually in a day or two but this time I guess I have overdosed on my ability to accept the plot.
    I read about half the book in my usual day or so and have not picked it up again to finish it.
    I somehow tried very hard to get into the storyline but the energy just is not there. Sadly I think Mr. Griffin has gone to the well one time to many and wishes us to follow a plot that is just too fragmented and so artificial that it makes for painful reading.
    I guess one bad book in a large series is still a good batting average.
    Maybe it is time to hang it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Black Ops

    Needs a proof reader ( S&W revolvers model 29 is not can't be a .357

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Black Os opps!

    Griffin has gotten off track with this book.<BR/>Too much sex and not enough action!<BR/>Although I've always liked his writing and the series overall has been good, this book misses the mark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Still The Same

    When you buy a book from W.E.B. Griffin, you know what you are getting. His books maintain the same style each time. I've enjoyed several of them, including Black Ops, but one cannot pretend that this is great literature, or even great writing. They are just fun stories that take their own good time too get going, often get bogged down in details, yet rarely fail to disappoint. Black Ops brought us a return to the Presidential Agent series, which is my clear favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2