BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Black Order (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(192)

4 Star

(109)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Very Interesting Topic -- Must Read!

Could hardly put it down! I was hooked after only a few pages. This book is based on the historical Nazi Bell. I love how Rollins always rolls fact into his suspense! Although the read was wonderful, I did notice Rollins left a few loop holes in his story where thing...
Could hardly put it down! I was hooked after only a few pages. This book is based on the historical Nazi Bell. I love how Rollins always rolls fact into his suspense! Although the read was wonderful, I did notice Rollins left a few loop holes in his story where things did not add up. It is still definitely worth reading though.

posted by Tough_Gal on March 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

!

Ok ppl. Harriet klausner has ruined another book by revealing everything. Dont bother buying the books. Just read her plot reveals and you can save money. This woman needs to be taught that a review is whether she liked it or not. Not write a dissertation on each and ev...
Ok ppl. Harriet klausner has ruined another book by revealing everything. Dont bother buying the books. Just read her plot reveals and you can save money. This woman needs to be taught that a review is whether she liked it or not. Not write a dissertation on each and every point of the book. She disgusts me.

posted by 8888649 on August 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    !

    Ok ppl. Harriet klausner has ruined another book by revealing everything. Dont bother buying the books. Just read her plot reveals and you can save money. This woman needs to be taught that a review is whether she liked it or not. Not write a dissertation on each and every point of the book. She disgusts me.

    15 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Confusing, unbelievable and left a ton of loopholes.

    Definitely not my idea of a good read. The back-history went on and on and on and on. The whole thing was a confusing mess. Between quantum physics, mythical runes, religion, love stories, four countries, four languages and a partridge in a pear tree, I was lost and bored. I had the most fun keeping track of ALL the loopholes. I MADE myself finish this book and it was a total struggle. I would not recomend this book to anyone.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    this is what passes for great literature today?

    There's a good reason this book is heavily discounted.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    I hate this so much

    I really did not like any little word of this book. It was so bad that i will not read any other books by this author. Do you see what the author did to himself? He just lost

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Very poor

    Very poor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Interesting

    Have not had time to read it yet

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Very Cheesey Read

    Flat predictable characters. The spy-thriller genre has moved far beyond the early Bond movies...except for this book. We're still fighting Nazis a la cloak and dagger plot lines with the occassional explosion or two? Really? Sophomoric writing. I made it to page 170,but put it down to write this put-down. Ah well. It was a NOOK Free Friday offering, so no money lost.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Predictable

    Two-dimensional characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Terrible, terrible reader for the CD

    I checked this title out of the library thinking it would be a great listen on the way to work. Not only was the reader terrible, I got lost several times trying to figure out who was who and what was the timeframe. (Nazis? Runes?) This is my first time listening to Rollins on advice from friends who knew I like Ludlum. Sorry, but I'm recommending to the library not to buy any more of his books in print or CD.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2006

    Paper-thin characters, awful plot ...

    I was looking for something mindless and fun but without being drivel. Black Order just didn't cut it, not even close. Awful cliched characters, a plot that starts out okay but turns ludicrous as it continues, fairly poor writing. I agree with the PW review above this type of thing is indeed reminscent of Cussler. If you like that, you'll like this. But Ludlum and Dan Brown? You've got to be kidding me. More like Charlie Brown and Linus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    B-movie schlock garbage ...

    Unfortunately, a poor book no matter how you slice it. A plot around Darwin's stolen bible? Contrived, extremely weak characters, plot twists that make little sense ... There's a reason this hasn't been turned into a movie: it was already expertly done with Raiders of the Lost Ark a long, long time ago. Why repeat it? Why indeed. I agree with what others have said, however: if you're a Cussler fan, dig in and enjoy this this type of novel is indeed for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1