Customer Reviews for

Black Out (Inspector Troy Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Good tale, well written

Lawton has obviously read most of the great literature, and learned to write exceptionally well because of it. This is a very entertaining story. I look forward to the next.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Awful ridiculous story

This is the first and last Inspector Troy book I will read. After just a couple chapters, I found I did not even like the main character. He's always getting beat up and always being pulled into bed by women. Dumb. One section detailing his sexual adventure came ver...
This is the first and last Inspector Troy book I will read. After just a couple chapters, I found I did not even like the main character. He's always getting beat up and always being pulled into bed by women. Dumb. One section detailing his sexual adventure came very close to being plain old porn. Lawton's decision to use the ugliest word there is for a woman's anatomical part was really over the top and his details really don't belong in a mystery. Even with the summary provided by Tosca at the end did not explain the round about story he has written. If there was a way to give no stars, that's what I would do. I deeply regret buying and reading this book.

posted by luvmynookJG on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 301 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Awful ridiculous story

    This is the first and last Inspector Troy book I will read. After just a couple chapters, I found I did not even like the main character. He's always getting beat up and always being pulled into bed by women. Dumb. One section detailing his sexual adventure came very close to being plain old porn. Lawton's decision to use the ugliest word there is for a woman's anatomical part was really over the top and his details really don't belong in a mystery. Even with the summary provided by Tosca at the end did not explain the round about story he has written. If there was a way to give no stars, that's what I would do. I deeply regret buying and reading this book.

    73 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Good tale, well written

    Lawton has obviously read most of the great literature, and learned to write exceptionally well because of it. This is a very entertaining story. I look forward to the next.

    18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Do not waste the time.

    This book was a hot mess. The author didn't make the choice of what type of hero the main character would be before he wrote the book. The character bounces back and forth between a James Bond womanizer, and a pathetic underdog. It was lame and the first two chapter are a chore to get through. Someone actually compared this written fecal matter to great works of literature.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Blackout , Inspector Troy Thriller

    I liked this ,alreadyhad&read in book form, and look forward to others. Feel author is in league with Agatha Christie and Martha Grimes, both of whose work I have high regard for. Although we know Ms. C is no longer with us and so no books forthcoming, rereading is something I do and enjoy. As for Ms. Grimes, I await each Richard Jury book with great anticipation. This author's style is a good solid one, &I would recommend his product.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Anymous

    Bad last book i read dy this guy

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Good, not great

    Loved the story. Didn't care much for the writing, which was mediocre most of the time, and meandered. The amount of sex and language in the last part of the book made it feel like the author was stretching to lengthen the book. Overall, though, the story was intriguing enough that I will be reading the next book, in hopes that the writing improves with practice.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    So so

    Good setting, but the constant nasty language became a distraction. I swear, the people in this book sound like a couple of 14 year old boys trying to sound cool in a locker room.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Horrible

    Do not EVER read this book!!!

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Annonymous

    I am suprised to see the negativity on this book. I've really enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Edge of the seat thriller set during WW II.  Very original plot

    Edge of the seat thriller set during WW II.  Very original plot that is well written.  Will certainly read more  Inspector Troy novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Predictable and a tad cliche

    What can I say, other than I am glad this was a free friday book! The mystery was predictable, and the characters cliche. I found it very annoying that the main character, whi was supposed to be a brilliant detective, spent most of his time sleeping with the women he should have been investigating and getting beat up, because he was never quite aware if his surrondings. The sex scences also became increasingly graphic and slightly pornographic. All and all this book read like dime store pulp fiction attempting to pass itself off as a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Meh.

    Overall I enjoyed reading this; I don't often read murder mysteries but I like WWII history, so I tried it.

    Positive: WWII London setting, British expressions, police characters developed reasonably well, plot had twists

    Negative: Main character quite cynical, lots of detailed descriptions of gory murder scenes, lots of ridiculous sex (clearly written by a man, because the women are almost all nymphos who drag him into bed every chance they get without any effort from him, and it's almost all juvenile in description and unrelated to the plot); lots of foul language; really weak and lame ending

    Overall I'm glad I read it, but it wasn't really an uplifting book and I'm certain I won't read it again, or other Inspector Troy novels for that matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    not recommended

    boring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Really worthless.

    I wasted too much time on this book to write anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    trash

    a few sex scenes in the middle apparently to keep your interest, but totally out of character with the book. Plux too many "British" figures of speech that could not be deciphered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Did not like it

    It did not pass my 100 page test. If it doesn't keep my interest within the first 100 pages, it's gone!! At page 82 I thought, "Why continue?" I was torturing myself! Goodbye, Mr. Troy. Let's see...where is that delete button....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    ? Answered

    This book is about a 4.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I LOVE IT

    It was kind of a mestrey it was " dark"

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Had potential, but fell short

    I liked the idea behind this book more than I liked the actual book. It was pretty dragged out and it jumped around quite a bit. There were a lot of under-developed secondary characters that were hard to keep straight. The actual main character was kind of hard to like, especially as the story progressed. The author also seemed to build up his nerve with each of his main character's not-so-romantic encounters with the opposite sex, starting with scenes that faded away to the next morning in the beginning and working toward badly written erotica nearer to the end. Over all, I found this book to be inconsistent and fairly poorly executed. It did have a lot of well-written scenes mixed in, and I can see how some might enjoy the book, but I really wish the author had stuck with the mystery/thriller genre he started with. It is, as I said, a great concept. The author could have done so much more with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    I read about half the book and decided to not finish.  The last

    I read about half the book and decided to not finish.  The last straw for me was when the writer lapsed into sentence fragments for no discernible reason.  Some other reviewers have commented on there being too many confusing plot twists.  Those twisst must occur in the second half of the book, because the plot in the first half is extremely slow moving.  The sex scenes do seem gratuitous and the male protagonist does seem strangely passive when it comes to sex.  I think the author was working too hard to produce filler material and was struggling with what to do to try to keep the reader's attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 301 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16