Customer Reviews for

Black Out (Inspector Troy Series)

Average Rating 3.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(101)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

Good tale, well written

Lawton has obviously read most of the great literature, and learned to write exceptionally well because of it. This is a very entertaining story. I look forward to the next.

posted by Anonymous on March 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

73 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

Awful ridiculous story

This is the first and last Inspector Troy book I will read. After just a couple chapters, I found I did not even like the main character. He's always getting beat up and always being pulled into bed by women. Dumb. One section detailing his sexual adventure came ver...
This is the first and last Inspector Troy book I will read. After just a couple chapters, I found I did not even like the main character. He's always getting beat up and always being pulled into bed by women. Dumb. One section detailing his sexual adventure came very close to being plain old porn. Lawton's decision to use the ugliest word there is for a woman's anatomical part was really over the top and his details really don't belong in a mystery. Even with the summary provided by Tosca at the end did not explain the round about story he has written. If there was a way to give no stars, that's what I would do. I deeply regret buying and reading this book.

posted by luvmynookJG on November 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    Awful ridiculous story

    This is the first and last Inspector Troy book I will read. After just a couple chapters, I found I did not even like the main character. He's always getting beat up and always being pulled into bed by women. Dumb. One section detailing his sexual adventure came very close to being plain old porn. Lawton's decision to use the ugliest word there is for a woman's anatomical part was really over the top and his details really don't belong in a mystery. Even with the summary provided by Tosca at the end did not explain the round about story he has written. If there was a way to give no stars, that's what I would do. I deeply regret buying and reading this book.

    73 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Do not waste the time.

    This book was a hot mess. The author didn't make the choice of what type of hero the main character would be before he wrote the book. The character bounces back and forth between a James Bond womanizer, and a pathetic underdog. It was lame and the first two chapter are a chore to get through. Someone actually compared this written fecal matter to great works of literature.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Anymous

    Bad last book i read dy this guy

    6 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Horrible

    Do not EVER read this book!!!

    3 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Predictable and a tad cliche

    What can I say, other than I am glad this was a free friday book! The mystery was predictable, and the characters cliche. I found it very annoying that the main character, whi was supposed to be a brilliant detective, spent most of his time sleeping with the women he should have been investigating and getting beat up, because he was never quite aware if his surrondings. The sex scences also became increasingly graphic and slightly pornographic. All and all this book read like dime store pulp fiction attempting to pass itself off as a novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    not recommended

    boring!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Really worthless.

    I wasted too much time on this book to write anymore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    trash

    a few sex scenes in the middle apparently to keep your interest, but totally out of character with the book. Plux too many "British" figures of speech that could not be deciphered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Did not like it

    It did not pass my 100 page test. If it doesn't keep my interest within the first 100 pages, it's gone!! At page 82 I thought, "Why continue?" I was torturing myself! Goodbye, Mr. Troy. Let's see...where is that delete button....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    could not finish

    boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    I think there was the foundation for a good thriller/ mystery, b

    I think there was the foundation for a good thriller/ mystery, but it was wrapped up i n too  much  gratuitous sex that it made the whole thing unbelievable. It was awful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    It was only ok. I picked up for free from the free book friday

    It was only ok.
    I picked up for free from the free book friday forum.
    Lawton makes weird jumps from chapter to chapter, making you wonder what just happened. Also Troy, for a detective, seems way to trusting (especially with the women)
    The finale didn't surprise me one bit, though he could have shortened the book by over half and not missed out on anything important.
    Will I be reading another one of Lawton's books? Possibly, but only if it comes out for free, and even then I'll have to think twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Do not read!

    Horrable book! Horrable read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Don't waste your time.

    This book has little to recommend it. The story was weak; the erotic scenes were not believable and could have been written by a high school kid. I can't believe I read the whole thing. I definitely will not be reading any more of this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    Maybe if I were British, I might have enjoyed the book

    There are many geographic references and London dialect that was foreign to me. The sex scenes felt like they were more obligatory than anything else. There were some good plot twists, but altogether, not a good read. I had to force myself to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Black Out Rating

    Haven't read this one yet!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    not my type of book....

    I had to force myself to read this book and eventually just put it away in archieves without finishing it. If it is ysour type of book, fine, but it was not for me.

    lj26

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    these emails are annoying!

    ANNOYING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    Not recommended.

    This book is about a London police officer investigating a series of murders during WW II and sleeping with every woman that he came in contact with. I have about 50 more pages to read before I finish it. I can't recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    ?

    On a scale from 1-10 how good is it?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2