Customer Reviews for

Black Out

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lisa Ungers Blackout

Read the book in just a few days. Well written and a page turner. Would reccomend to friends.

posted by littleT on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and really looked forward to this one. However I found it hard to follow. Even at the end I wasn't sure who really existed and who didn't.What was real and what was just in her mind. I would give this 3 1/2 stars if that was availa...
I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and really looked forward to this one. However I found it hard to follow. Even at the end I wasn't sure who really existed and who didn't.What was real and what was just in her mind. I would give this 3 1/2 stars if that was available, because it was better than okay. There were times I was riveted and others when I wondered what was going on. This was just not my type of mystery or thriller, but some people might love it.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Lisa Ungers Blackout

    Read the book in just a few days. Well written and a page turner. Would reccomend to friends.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    FANTASTIC READ!

    This book was awesome. It was thrilling from begining to end. A total page turner. I thought that the plot was really original and that the character development was superior. I loved this book. I also suggest, "die for you" by the same author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    "Black Out": the woman who could not remember her own past.

    I really enjoyed this book by Lisa Unger. I have never read any of her books, but I would highly recommend her. Unger writes with great description and you never know where, this story in particular, is going to take you. "Black Out" is a great read for those who like books that are kind of like mysteries, but do not have a lot of gross and disgusting things that happen throughout it. This book jumps from her past, to present, to in between, and that is why "Black Out" is a book that will keep your attention until the last page, and personally I would recommend it. The story takes place throughout the life of a woman named Ophelia March, who loses herself in a mind game that is being controlled by her step - brother, Marlowe Geary. They fall in love and the rest is history, or is it? Now, years later, she finds herself living a whole new life with a different name, Annie, a large Florida home, plenty of money to go around, a husband named Gray Powers, and a young daughter named Victory. The thing is, is that she has problems remembering certain events that have happened from when she was in her teen years, up until the time her daughter was born It is like she just blacked out some of the memories of her life. Now these black outs are about to happen once again. So throughout the story she is still avoiding her old self, but then looking for parts of her past also. She looks for the man who ruined her life years earlier, Marlowe Geary, and she tries to make since of things that her husband has tried to keep secret after all these years. Read the story and find out what events/ things she is looking for, and what happens in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Disappointed

    I have read all of Lisa Unger's books and really looked forward to this one. However I found it hard to follow. Even at the end I wasn't sure who really existed and who didn't.What was real and what was just in her mind. I would give this 3 1/2 stars if that was available, because it was better than okay. There were times I was riveted and others when I wondered what was going on. This was just not my type of mystery or thriller, but some people might love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Great Book!

    This was a great read! I have never read any of Lisa Unger's books before this one and I can't wait to read another one. I would recommend this book any one who enjoys getting lost in a great thriller!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    This will be another bestseller for Unger..

    This is Unger's third novel. Her first two, Beautiful Lies and Sliver of Truth were both bestsellers. Black Out will be a bestseller as well. Annie Powers has the perfect life. An attentive husband, a beautiful daughter, a lovely home and enough money to do what she wants. But it's all a sham, a cover. Annie used to be Ophelia March. When Ophelia was a teenager she was caught up in the spell of a psychotic serial killer. Barely escaping with mind and body intact, she 'killed' off Ophelia and thought it was all behind her. But someone is leaving hints that Annie recognizes as belonging to Ophelia's life. The body of the killer - Marlowe Geary - was never found. He can't still be alive can he? Has he come back to claim Ophelia? Annie's husband Gray will do anything to protect her and Annie will do anything to protect her daughter Victory. Annie cannot remember much of her past. Her mind has blacked out a lot of it. What is real and what is imagined? She has to try and remember the past and what really happened. The story alternates tantalizingly between the present and the past. Just when you're caught up in one story, it switches to the other. Very addicting but tiring when you just want to read one more chapter at 1:00 am! This was an engrossing read. Unger keeps us off balance with plot twists and turns that you don't always see coming. The ending brings yet another twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2014

    One of the most enthralling books I've ever read. The story if f

    One of the most enthralling books I've ever read. The story if filled with time jumps between present, past, distant past - all done in such a way that you aren't sure what's what until the very end. Ordinarily, a book written in such a way can easily become convoluted or hard to follow, but Unger handles it masterfully. Fascinating story with an incredibly unique plot that I thoroughly enjoyed, on a timeline that's both fast-paced and thoughtful all at once.
    Couldn't recommend it enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Somewhat depressing

    I'm pretty much through this, my first Lisa Unger mystery. I will try another at some other time, because I think I would enjoy something else by her. Black Out is fascinating, but not enjoyable. First, I find this tale hardly believable, grim & depressing. I've read CIA novels which are hard to believe, but we know that some of the facts are true & frightening as they are, I want to learn more. To think that someone could actually live such a life as the character in this story, is TMI, & hard to accept. I like that some of the action occurs in Central Florida, which is where I'm currently living, & references to NYC are appreciated, having lived in NJ most of my life & having an affinity for the city.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I liked the book

    I really enjoyed the book...it was a page turner for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    Good escape

    This is my first Lisa Unger book and I would read her others. This book moved along nicely most of the time and just when I would get bored, she would introduce a nice twist. Thought it dragged on a bit too long and the ending was not terribly satisfying. Overall, a good read so I gave it 3 stars. Recommend The Gargoyle and The Historian.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    This book will draw you in

    Annie Powers is married to Gray and has a daughter living the perfect life in Florida. However, Annie's real name is Ophelia and she has blacked out most of her teen age years due to a crazy mother, ex con step father and an old love Marlowe. You as the reader and the main character Annie, question her own sanity as she tries to piece together the missing parts of her old life why the stranger is watching her and why her psychologists is murdered. Annie tends to black out and remember nothing except flashes of her old life. The book flips between past and present as you try to unravel what really happened all the years ago with Marlowe and their life on the run. This book will draw you in and not let go until the last page

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating serial killer thriller

    In Florida Annie and Gray Powers seem to have the perfect relationship while raising their beloved four-year-old daughter. However, this was not so less than ten years ago when teenager Ophelia March was either the prisoner or side kick of serial killer Marlowe Geary. Security consultant Gray rescued Ophelia but not before he sent the killer to his death. He later helped Ophelia become Annie. --- Annie has blanked out much of her time under Marlowe¿s thumb, but unconsciously has lingering problems that manifest with quick panicky glances over her shoulder, anxiety attacks and blackouts. However, when Annie notices a stranger on their property, she fears Marlowe is back while a dishonest cop looks into her pre marriage days. Annie realizes she must regain those painful memories that she buried along with Ophelia if she is to ever rid herself of Marlowe. --- The fascination with this serial killer on an avenging mission lies with Annie who, as an intriguing protagonist, struggles to recall a past that she really does not want to remember. The story line is action-backed as fans anticipate high noon between the cold blooded chilling villain and the loving wife-mom who reinvented herself. Lisa Unger has the audience enthralled from the moment Annie believes Marlowe is back perhaps from Hell. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3