Customer Reviews for

Black Pain: It Just Looks Like We're Not Hurting

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Always Looking For A Good Book and Found One!

    This book is excellent and can start the much needed tidal wave to wash away the stigma that is too often attached to Depression and other mental and emotional illnesses. Even though the book focuses on Blacks, it is needed in all communities in this country-urban, suburban, rural, young, middled-aged, elderly, uneducated, well-educated, unemployed, blue-color, white-color and all races! For example we are seeing in the news the epidemic of suburban moms self-medicating with alcohol, etc. and the accidental deaths it's causing because they are not getting proper medical attention. There are too many lives wasted and too much pain needlessly endured because of shame and lack of education on the issue. Please give this book as gifts so that it reaches a broad market- yes, even to your medical practitioners-primary care and specialists. This would be a great gift for someone going to or graduating from medical school.

    The book is well-researched and well-organized with lots of information on the subject. The author has given us a new perspective.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    An eye opener

    Book was required for a grad class...so glad it was required and it was a real eye opener for me...changed my view of a lot of thing for the better

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly a Must-Read!

    This book is excellent and can start the much needed tidal wave to wash away the stigma that is too often attached to Depression and other mental and emotional illnesses. Even though this book focuses on Blacks, it is needed in all of the communities in this Country! It is a topic that this country can work on together and help us see each other better. There are too many lives wasted and too much pain needlessly endured because of shame and lack of education on the issue. Please give this book as gifts so that it reaches a broad market- even to medical practitioners.
    Charlotte Floyd-Pruitt, Milwaukee

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2008

    Want to Improve our Country?

    This book is excellent and can start the much needed tidal wave to wash away the stigma that is too often attached to Depression and other mental and emotional illnesses. Even though this book focuses on Blacks, it is needed in all of the communities in this Country! It is a topic that this country can work on together and help us see each other better. There are too many lives wasted and too much pain needlessly endured because of shame and lack of education on the issue. Please give this book as gifts so that it reaches a broad market- even to medical practitioners

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Informative and Uplifting

    I have read many books about depression, but none quite like this one by Terrie Williams. No doubt I related to it more because of her dealing with issues head on that affect the African American community. Many of us (including myself) have suffered from depression, but it's hard to tell anyone for fear of being judged or alienated. Even family and close friends don't always know how to render proper support, and I appreciate Terrie's candid approach to this. She made it clear what others can do to make things just a little bit easier for the depressed one without making the person feel worse or being overwhelmed. Depression is common, and I am grateful that someone addressed it thoroughly. I have been greatly informed and inspired even more to push on.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Eye Opening Recognizable Slices of Life

    Terrie M. Williams writes about recognizable slices of pain as told from the mouths of dozens of folks who have already walked-in and lived-in the adversity. The difference is they have gotten up and grown up. 'Black Bain' is tantalizingly and excitable eye-opening easy reading that delivers comfort very soothingly. Dr. Gatsby Melodi', PhD NYC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    If you are engaged, married or in a relationship....

    We all spend so much energy doing all but maintaining and supporting our mental health and relationships in our lives. Terrie Williams speaks for us when we are too ashamed or cannot speak for ourselves. Why do we wait until things have spiraled out of control??!!!! If you are a health professional.....read Black Pain. If you are in law enforcement and work in a predominantly African American environment....read Black Pain. If you are an education professional providing service to African Americans....read Black Pain. If you have a family member or spouse who is angry, miserable, mean, abusing alcohol or drugs, and just suffering silently.....please read Black Pain. If you are an African American...read Black Pain. The break in silence is long overdue!!! Share and speak on the information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2008

    Thank you Terrie for letting me know how special I am.

    Reading Black Pain reminded me of a meeting between Tagore and Einstein. It is said that the scientist talked like an artist and the artist talked like a scientist. More recently there is now a movement to integrate science and art into unified subjects. Those looking to achieving this goal should study Black Pain to learn what a unified art/science subject reads like. I could not make out whether this is a scientific study of depression in the black community or an artistic description of it. I achieved unexpected self knowledge of my own depression. This gift from heaven is not just a profound experience it enabled me to go into the nooks and crannies of my own mind releasing tensions I did not even know existed. Having grown up on the notion, 'Men don't cry' I could not stop crying for several hours. I never felt so light in my life. This book is therapy. This book is not just pure knowledge on depression in the black community this book describes aptly depression in all underprivileged communities around the world. Black Pain should be translated into every language and should be a part of the cirriculum in schools around the world. Sajid Ali Khan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    A reviewer

    I just finished reading Black Pain, page by page, cover to cover. And now I'm reading it again. This book speaks from the heart to the heart of the Black community, yet it is for EVERYONE. That is if you want to know the truth about the African-American experience and depression and in essence the truth about yourself. Terrie Williams is a gift who has given us a gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    BLACK PAIN IS AWESOME!

    Black Pain blew me away! It is so thorough you really have to absorb and reflect on everything you learn from this book. I thought I knew people, but I realize I don¿t know the half. You just never know what someone is struggling with. So many people are in deep mental and emotional pain right in our midst with no clue what to do about it. It¿s so important that those hurting know that they are not alone, that they can come out of their darkness and get the healing they deserve. Black Pain delivers the inspiration and encouragement that so many need to take the first step. And because of this book I now make it a point to deal with people with a whole new sensitivity and consideration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A reviewer

    I comend you for this outstanding work and effort put into creating something so powerful. The title speaks for itself and many of us will find our own personal struggles and stories in this book. I think not only has this book been meaningful and helpful to you, but to all those who turn the pages as well. Good luck and keep it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1