Customer Reviews for

Black Powder War (Temeraire Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

excellant read

just as good as the first two.

posted by wetdew on March 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slightly dissapointed.

I have been keeping up with the serious and just finished this book. I was rather tired of it, it seemed as if Ms. Novik was rushing to put this book behind her and get to the next. I mean, she rushed through the travels and when Granby was shoved off of Temeraire, you ...
I have been keeping up with the serious and just finished this book. I was rather tired of it, it seemed as if Ms. Novik was rushing to put this book behind her and get to the next. I mean, she rushed through the travels and when Granby was shoved off of Temeraire, you only got a sentences about him and then in the next chapter he was perfectly healthy, like nothing had happened. I am fighting with myself to rate it three or four and have decided upon three because it was to rushed and she didn't show as much emotion as she had in her previous books. All in all, she rushed the book but it turned out okay in the end.

posted by Anonymous on January 24, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    excellant read

    just as good as the first two.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Riveting Read

    I'm loving this series so far which combines McCaffrey's Pern (dragons!) and Horatio Hornblower daring do (Napoleonic wars) I gave this novel four stars only because it's slightly less amazing than the first two books. The first book marked it as unique among dragon fantasies I've read for giving dragons all the personality and intellect of the human characters. The second gave us a society of dragons integrated into China. In a world-building sense, this book can't match that--there's no further development or surprises in terms of Temeraire's or Laurence's character--but it's fully as engrossing a read and engaging an adventure. The last book took us to China, this one to Turkey and Germany of the Napoleonic era, and its part of the book's virtue to make me believe I visited those places--or at least what they would be like had dragons been part of the picture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not As Great As the First Two

    Black Powder War, the third book in the Temeraire series, was not quite as well written as His Majesty's Dragon or Throne of Jade (the two earlier books in the series). Although Black Powder War was very well action-packed, the essence of the story did not bring as much dynamic to the series other then the loss of Prussia and the fight for London (in the next book). Certainly a good read though, and I would recommend it to anyone continuing the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    Slightly dissapointed.

    I have been keeping up with the serious and just finished this book. I was rather tired of it, it seemed as if Ms. Novik was rushing to put this book behind her and get to the next. I mean, she rushed through the travels and when Granby was shoved off of Temeraire, you only got a sentences about him and then in the next chapter he was perfectly healthy, like nothing had happened. I am fighting with myself to rate it three or four and have decided upon three because it was to rushed and she didn't show as much emotion as she had in her previous books. All in all, she rushed the book but it turned out okay in the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A fabulous historical fantasy

    His Majesty¿ Aerial Corps Captain Will Laurence and his partner HIS MAJESTY¿S DRAGON Temeraire the dragon relax after their Chinese escapades (see THRONE OF JADE). However, their R&R is cut short, when an envoy informs the daring duo of their assignment. They must travel to Istanbul to pick up three dragon eggs recently purchased from the Ottomans and bring them safely home before they hatch. Will hires Tharkay, a half-breed guide who has parents in both nations, and decides the land route is best. However, the trek is hazardous from natural causes, a falling out between the two nations, and mostly because of the raging Chinese dragon Lien, who vows vengeance on Laurence and Temeraire for the death of her human mate. All this is happening while the clock is running out and a betrayal makes it seemingly impossible to accomplish the mission. The latest Laurence-Temeraire adventure is once again a fabulous historical fantasy. The story line is filled with action and adventure while the secondary players add depth either to the escapades to the period. However, as always the tale is owned by the lead duo who both grows into better tolerant beings due to their relationship. Fans will enjoy the BLACK POWDER WAR.------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good for a 3rd instalment.

    Because of Novik's writing, there are some areas of the book that feel a little redundant and repetitive; but that's just because she actually writes as if she lived in the late 1700s. Novik delivers a fresh but familiar story with new and also familiar peril and enemies. I enjoyed it and the way she ended this one makes me eager to grab the next. Thank you miss Novik for giving us a fresh, new look at creativity. You're original and unlike any other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Awesome series

    I was a little hesitant about getting into this series but once i started reading the first book, i couldn't put my Nook Color down to stop reading this amazing series. But one thing that mystifies me is how they say napoleon is killed in the first book and they still say he is alive. Very confusing. Otherwise i just love reading about will laurence and especially Temeraire, his dragon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    The saga Temeraire and Capt. Laurence continues in book three of the series. As with her first two books, Naomi Novik has a way of telling a story such as this in a way that is believable. In a way that it doesn't appear fantastical. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of this series and I hope that the series doesn't end with Ms. Novik's 6th book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Third book in a great series

    I highly reccomend all of the books in the Temeraire series- they are so addicting! I bought the first one on general positive reviews (Napoleonic Wars! With dragons!) and the moment I finished it I ordered the next four and read all of those in breathless succession. I have not regretted this for an instant, even in the slower or more frustrating parts, and I am now restlessly anticipating the sixth book. All lovers of history, fantasy, war stories, or just plain interesting reading need to read these books. Get all five and pre-order the sixth, you will not be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2006

    Awsome book!

    I loved this book alot. Great for young adult readers who like action. )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 285 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15