BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Black Prism (Lightbringer Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 448 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(86)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

An inside out to outside in morphing tale of twisted tastiness.

As an epic fantasy addict, I buy and read a lot. There is something that draws each of us to Fantasy.

Story.
World.
Magic.
Characters.
Swords.
SOMETHING!....

For me, I like to escape. And I like to escape with a book that wasn't mailed in. Some authors...
As an epic fantasy addict, I buy and read a lot. There is something that draws each of us to Fantasy.

Story.
World.
Magic.
Characters.
Swords.
SOMETHING!....

For me, I like to escape. And I like to escape with a book that wasn't mailed in. Some authors have identified a pattern, young boy... destiny... ole fart friend... growth, superman, victor! And that is their tale. And each story they write, you have the same thing, plug in new setting, new epic bad guy, and new names for the rest.

Break the friggin pattern.

Shatter the molds.

Young boy= fat, smart ass, insecure, wussy, fatherless bastard who's mother abused him. ALL the makings of a hero!

Ole fart leader friend= King, not so old, former hero, holding the world together by will alone, good guy, wait, bad guy, wait good guy, wait who is that guy, wait which guy, crap there's two guys? then which guy? The guy, is battling his own demons and past, that is more convulted than the inside of the tasmanian devil's fridge after a snack.

BTW the above isn't rhetoric, that is the arc of this character's development. It twists a bit, I'm done and still not sure what the heck to think of him.

He's got a girlfriend, wait ex girlfriend, wait he's still in love, but he's not in love, .... you get the idea.

Every character is identified, developed, then turned inside out in a totally seductive and story driving way. No whimsical twists, everyone is intentional and well done.

The magic is superbly original.

The story is alluring, enticing, captivating, capturing, addictive and DAMNIT TO HELL IT IS OVER! And I think Brent is taking time off to see how this one does as he tinkers with the second book. It should be done NOW dangit. AND the NAT 2nd series too.

Stop writing books if you can't do 5 at a time Brent! You leave me hanging too long.

Whatever your kick in fantasy genre that draws you here to find your escape, you'll find it here, and find out it's turned inside out, and even better.

Enjoy the book. I have and I'm picky.

posted by Tannar_Darr on August 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good book...

Ok first off, this is a good book, original and compelling. Really the only reason why I don't give this five starts is that I just finished reading the Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks, which I absolutely loved. Because this book is slower and the action less frequen...
Ok first off, this is a good book, original and compelling. Really the only reason why I don't give this five starts is that I just finished reading the Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks, which I absolutely loved. Because this book is slower and the action less frequent, it seemed pretty slow at first, and even debated not finishing. But the pace picked up toward the latter quarter of the book, and when I finished it I decided I liked it.

I think this may be the first in a multi-book series, and Weeks spent a lot of time setting up the world in this book, hence my reaction of it being slow at first.

I do recommend reading this, but not after reading a fast-paced action series like I did.

posted by hungryturnip on January 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An inside out to outside in morphing tale of twisted tastiness.

    As an epic fantasy addict, I buy and read a lot. There is something that draws each of us to Fantasy.

    Story.
    World.
    Magic.
    Characters.
    Swords.
    SOMETHING!....

    For me, I like to escape. And I like to escape with a book that wasn't mailed in. Some authors have identified a pattern, young boy... destiny... ole fart friend... growth, superman, victor! And that is their tale. And each story they write, you have the same thing, plug in new setting, new epic bad guy, and new names for the rest.

    Break the friggin pattern.

    Shatter the molds.

    Young boy= fat, smart ass, insecure, wussy, fatherless bastard who's mother abused him. ALL the makings of a hero!

    Ole fart leader friend= King, not so old, former hero, holding the world together by will alone, good guy, wait, bad guy, wait good guy, wait who is that guy, wait which guy, crap there's two guys? then which guy? The guy, is battling his own demons and past, that is more convulted than the inside of the tasmanian devil's fridge after a snack.

    BTW the above isn't rhetoric, that is the arc of this character's development. It twists a bit, I'm done and still not sure what the heck to think of him.

    He's got a girlfriend, wait ex girlfriend, wait he's still in love, but he's not in love, .... you get the idea.

    Every character is identified, developed, then turned inside out in a totally seductive and story driving way. No whimsical twists, everyone is intentional and well done.

    The magic is superbly original.

    The story is alluring, enticing, captivating, capturing, addictive and DAMNIT TO HELL IT IS OVER! And I think Brent is taking time off to see how this one does as he tinkers with the second book. It should be done NOW dangit. AND the NAT 2nd series too.

    Stop writing books if you can't do 5 at a time Brent! You leave me hanging too long.

    Whatever your kick in fantasy genre that draws you here to find your escape, you'll find it here, and find out it's turned inside out, and even better.

    Enjoy the book. I have and I'm picky.

    42 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Great characters, plot twists, originality. What's not to love?

    This book is perfect evidence that Brent weeks is an ever improving master of his trade. The Black Prism, the opening novel for the Light Bringer series, might just be Weeks' finest work yet. This looks to be even better than the Night Angel Trilogy (which is possibly the greatest modern fantasy series out there). Weeks creates a unique and imaginative world. His characters will be loved or hated, but never forgotten. His plot is a roller coaster full of twists, turns, and shocking revelations. This is a book you will not want to miss.

    ps: If you have not read the Night Angel trilogy, GO READ IT NOW!!!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Good book...

    Ok first off, this is a good book, original and compelling. Really the only reason why I don't give this five starts is that I just finished reading the Night Angel Trilogy by Brent Weeks, which I absolutely loved. Because this book is slower and the action less frequent, it seemed pretty slow at first, and even debated not finishing. But the pace picked up toward the latter quarter of the book, and when I finished it I decided I liked it.

    I think this may be the first in a multi-book series, and Weeks spent a lot of time setting up the world in this book, hence my reaction of it being slow at first.

    I do recommend reading this, but not after reading a fast-paced action series like I did.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    Worth it

    I was a little apprehensive about this one as it sounded a little to mystical for my tastes but it had the perfect balance between lore and action. Also if you've read other books by Weeks then you know what to expect. In my case that was getting into one charcters story line then having it switch on me. Endlessly frustrating at the beginning but the story it weaves by doing it is more than worth it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I am really enjoying this!

    I read the Night Angel books and enjoyed them (apart from a touch of preachiness which I am gladly finding missing in this book). Mr Weeks goes from strength to strength in this new milieu he has created. The world is well thought-out and the plot twists are quite satisfying and dismaying at the same time. I find myself fully involved with the characters and the story. As a very long-time fantasy reader (I read the Lord of the Rings in 1970 as a college student), I think Mr. Weeks has drilled into the source of all good fantasy fiction writing and I am looking forward to reading his work for years to come.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    Great read and a great start to a new series

    I picked this up b/c i loved the night angel trilogy and though i will admit it took a couple of pages to get into all the rainbow colors and understand this new world it was well worth it.. the characters are great and a great story is coming through. I can't wait for the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Fresh and original-

    Original concept and character development that ropes you in emotionally while still keeping you guessing on who to root for and against. PGDeFreese

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brent Weeks new series is AWESOME!

    I am a fan of the Night Angel trilogy, but I enjoyed this book much more. I couldn't put it down!! The system of magic is totally unique and quite clever. Love the characters and the plot. Just when I thought I knew where Weeks was going, he'd throw me for a loop. Can't wait for the next two!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Jusr Just doesn't do it for me

    The Night Angel trilogy is honestly one of my all time favs, so I was so excited about this book, unfortunately it just doesnt hit the same note. Weeks is a genius writer, but i feel like he left me in the dust with this one. The book takes off with a bang and the reader is dragged along much like Kip. There was a good balance of mystery and intrigue until there just wasnt.

    While Weeks is an expert of building a believable story world full of diversity and culture, his descriptions quickly become convoluted and confusing. I greatly admire his ability to create a magic system that is so deep, but most of the time I was lleft wondering which color did what and what all the tests were called. Of course the reader is supposed to sympathize with Kip in this way, but i found it more agrivating than any thing.

    My biggest problem with the book is that i just didnt care. I didnt care about the characters enough to love them OR hate them. I didnt care about this beautiful world Weeks created because he spent more time telling me the color of a certain peoples' skin and hair instead of SHOWING me their culture and personality.

    Despite my opinion, I still think you should buy the book, knowing all this I would still buy the book just to experience it for myself. There is still plenty of good things, some nice plot twists and interesting concepts. It isn't a terrible book, just a terrible let down. Better yet, go read the Night Angel trilogy. And Brett, I'll still buy and read any book you write, please just have mercy on our humble minds and explain your genius a bit clearer.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Great Book - Recommended to anyone who enjoys a good Fantasy with love and magic

    Took me awile to get into it at the start. But thats probably because i was reading a lot of others at the time. But once it hooked me i couldnt set it down without having to pick it up and read more. Again Weeks has brought me something i will be reading for a very long time

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Didn't want to put the book down. Interesting concept and in-depth characters. I thoroughly enjoy reading The fascinating worlds that Brent Weeks create.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Excellent except in one area

    I loved the Night Angel Trilogy and now I'm sure I'll love the lightbringer series. My main problem with black prism is that the series protagonist "Kip" suffers from what i call WBS (Whiny Female canine Syndrome). Some people find Kip relatable, I on the other hand find that Kip's constant second guessing and detestably low self esteem to be annoying. I also found the fact that kip was fat and out of shape of particular irritance; call me old fashioned but i think hero's should be at least in some semblance of physical health. All the other characters i throughly enjoyed reading. All in all its a great book the only drawback is the aforementioned problems with the protagonist.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    First Look at Weeks

    There were times where I was extremely confused, and was wondering if I had missed something from his previous books.

    After I got into the story, I started to get the flow of things. Some grammatical crafting could be better, as it threw off my reading cadence at times.

    Overall, a very good story, and I was left with a few questions that will hopefully be answered in Book 2! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book was an amazing read. Definitly worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Good book

    Story was great, but a little complicated ecspecialy figuring out what colors were what and really enjoyed the twist at the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    seamlessly written and captivating

    I absolutely love the world Weeks has created in Black Prism. This book is pure fantasy and the saga (part of a trilogy) looks to be exquisite. The magic used in this realm is based on light and color. It is quite unique and different. I was a little confused at first, but quickly figured out how this power was used. I like the way Weeks was a little vague leaving plenty of room for surprises and tweaks. The plot is brilliant and the battles are epic. The book is over 600 pages long, but don't let that scare you. It is seamlessly written and captivating; a gripping story that will leave you begging for more. Weeks characters were complex and I felt engaged and connected with them. Our young protagonist Kip is fifteen and the bastard child of Gavin Guile, the Prism. He is a chubby, quick to temper, loyal, winey, courageous and loveable hero. I was entranced by so many of the characters in this book especially, Gavin, Dazen, Liv, Kallis, Corvan, Ironfist and the White. The political games and the way Weeks describes this world and its history brought the pages to life. Just when I thought I knew the direction the story was going and who was who, Weeks turned everything inside out. It made me crazy, it made me mad and I want more. There were a few sub-plots which made the story more fascinating. While this is the first in a trilogy, I wasn't able to find even the hint of a release date. Mr. Weeks.I do not like waiting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    must read book of the YEAR!!!!!

    this man Brent weeks can do no wrong he exploded his great night angel trilogy in the world and became known now he enters into the writing world the black prism that has amazing characters, great story,a bit of romance and to top it off great magic system with the color spectrum.i look forward to the next. if its anywhere near as good as this one then it official Brent weeks is the man

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Great read - Original story

    Really ejoyed this read - when is the next book going to come out?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Epic!

    Usually, i'll read a book or series and be done with it, but Weeks's style manages to reel me back in to reread (Especially Shadow's Edge [if you hant ead the Night Angel tril, do it!]), and this one was no exception! A little slow to start, but well dveloped characters and a world and plot to boot! Also, i found this view of magic to be refreshing and intriguing and was continually drawn to keep reading when I should have slept. I can't wait for book 2 to come out x.x

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23