Customer Reviews for

Black Rain: A Thriller

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Black Rain

    Great book. Suspensful story. Once I started, couldn't put it down. Mayan legends, the past and the future, all had a ring of truth. The beasts scared the living daylights out of me and gave me nightmares. All in all, a story I won't soon forget.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    Fantastic Thiller!

    I couldn't put this book down until I was finished it was that good!
    A fast paced adventurous and dangerous story that keeps you wanting more. So little is known about the Mayan people and their history yet this book and this great adventure helped me want to discover more. Set in a tropical and dangerous part of a world that seems to continuously escape human contact, because people keep dying. Definetely an "Indiana Jones-ish" style of charactor named Hawker who always seems to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. Good against evil. New author reminds me of the great writing styles of authors like Steve Berry and Douglas Preston whose charactors are out to find something that is so precious that it has either been missing for a long time or has yet to be discovered. A true thriller! Can wait for the next book! Great book Mr. Brown!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    exciting Mayan mythological thriller

    National Research Institute (NRI) undercover operative Danielle Laidlaw leads a specially selected team on a journey into the Brazilian Amazon Rainforest in search of a lost legendary Mayan Underworld Xibalba. Their goal is to learn the source of mysterious radioactive crystals that appears to be a cheap clean energy source brought back in artifacts by Blackjack Martin in 1926, but ignored until now.

    In Manaus, Brazil, colleague Arnold Moore shocks her when he tells her she goes in alone as Operations Director Gibbs recalled him to DC. Irate but intrepid Laidlaw trusts no one on this expedition to have her back; as Moore was the one person she would and could depend on with her life. Having her transportation and supplies bought from under her; Laidlaw knows her party is not the only group searching for Xibalba. Ruthless billionaire Richard Kaufman will kill to monopolize the technology. Danger also lurks from tribes like the nomadic Chollokwan that kill trespassers and a strange creature that is even more dangerous. Unbeknownst to Laidlaw and her team is that they are the second unit NRI sent into the Amazon; the first group is presumed dead.

    Black Rain is an exciting Mayan mythological thriller with a frantic pace once Laidlaw leaves Manaus for the jungle. Filled with violence and brutality including some unnecessarily overly described passages that feel more like page fillers than graphic escapades, readers will be caught up with one of the fastest action-packed thrillers of the year; seat belts are a requirement.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2013

    Super and not to be missed

    I loved this book right from the first couple of pages. Lots of bad guys and action. I loved the setting and the characters. My first thought was this would make a great movie,it has all of the ingredients needed for a real action adventure.I can hardly wait to get into Black Sun. He is my new favorite right after James Rollins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Action-Adventure Suspense Novel, Looking Forward to Sequel!

    Every good action-adventure novel that's going to take a story and morph it into an edge-of-your-seat thriller needs to be based on a bit of truth. Or rather, legend that could be truth. Graham Brown's debut novel Black Rain exemplifies this type of thriller, taking a Mayan legend and transforming it into a modern suspense thriller, complete with ex-CIA agents, lost temples, covert agendas, angry jungle-dwelling villagers, and big scary monsters.

    Searching for the lost Mayan "Garden of Eden," a place called Tulan Zuyua, NRI operative Danielle Laidlaw and her band of "soldiers" trek through the Brazilian jungle in search of Mayan artifacts which should not be located so far south of the equator. Aided by ex-CIA agent Hawker, Mayan History Professor McCarter and his student Susan, and a handful of muscle-and-gun-clad South Africans, Danielle must lead her team through the jungle, while protecting them from an ancient people, the Chollokwan, as well as whatever monsters scream through the trees at night. Betrayed and hunted by more than just a mythical beast, what Danielle and her team find will surprise them all, as will the steps they must take in order to survive. Black Rain is an excellent action-suspense science-fiction novel among the likes of James Rollins, and Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child.

    Brown's writing was skillful and I was thankful his female voice was realistic. I did not have to question a male author writing a female voice as I've frequently done with other novels, since Danielle read true to me, as did her actions. There was a lot of information in this novel, and several multi-part answers or theories which made me feel like I'd forgotten pieces by the end (especially with the Mayan legend), but it wasn't enough to make me disappointed. There are many strings, not all of which are tied by the conclusion, but I found I preferred the ending as it was, with a bit of a cliffhanger. Especially since Brown is writing a sequel.

    Overall Black Rain is a great read if you like modern suspense novels grounded in ancient legends. Since I love those books I was definitely hoping to enjoy Graham Brown's debut novel, and I was not disappointed. A happy 4 stars and an urge to Brown to hurry up with the sequel!

    (I received this ARC from LibraryThing Early Reviewers)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Great read!

    Lots of action and the imagery was vivid. I immediately liked Hawker and the Mayan and Chollocwan aspect was intriguing. The story was well written and flowed nicely from scene to scene. Looking forward to reading Black Sun now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2014

    REQUESTS

    HERE is where you will request ceremonies and i will post matters of importance like patrols ceremonies and other matters. Any confidential conversations shall be held in my den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    The dust jacket was a little off.  This is a great Mayan archeol

    The dust jacket was a little off.  This is a great Mayan archeological tale that you'll enjoy.  Riff with temples and gods and mystery!  Oh my!  A solid story, yet the number of characters left me a little confused at times.  Once the excess was murdered off, a few main characters started to shine.  I feel the second story in this series (Black Sun) is going to be better.  I'm off to find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Okay, Not Great

    Interesting premise, however, the plot twists were easy to spot. Not that exciting, the author has potential, just needs a little practice.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great read

    I dont usually read this genre but this book was a good read, highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Place ingredients in mixing bowl, mix vigorously. Result: Great story!

    Mixing bowl - throw in some flawed but interesting characters from many different places in life, some ancient Mayan history, an unusual story set in the Brazilian jungles, some frightening creatures, mystery, intrigue, betrayal, redemption and refusal to surrender your right to survive and you have the recipe for this book.

    It's refreshing to see a strong female lead character in a book like this and Danielle Laidlaw certainly fits that bill. She has a mission to accomplish, get down to business and tell her what she needs to know to accomplish her mission, who needs to stop and smell the roses along the way? She learns about being a strong leader and taking care of her people on a mission that was labeled "Regardless of Consequences". She also holds her own against several strong male characters portrayed in the story.

    The story takes us through several interpersonal relationships, both good and bad, and could be considered a study in how ordinary people from all walks of life react and adapt to extremely unusual circumstances. The story is a great read with an unexpected twist at the end that will have you running to the second book Black Sun. If you like Black Rain...you will LOVE Black Sun!

    In short, great book and the little hook at the end will definitely have me reading Black Sun right away. This will not show me as a confirmed buyer as I purchased them somewhere else but I have both Black Rain and Black Sun and can't wait for his third book The Eden Prophecy: A Thriller and his Clive Cussler novel Devil's Gate (The Numa Files) to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jungles, Pyramids and a Terrific Thriller

    "Black Rain" is a good, fun read that nicely sets up a sequel without sacrificing a solid ending.
    This book fits squarely in the realm of the lighter-weight Dan Brown-esque genre of thrillers. Leaders of this genre include James Rollins and Jeremy Robinson, whose stories are a bit formulaic and their characterizations often thinly built.

    Graham Brown brings new energy to the genre. His core plot involves the Mayan creation myth called "Popul Vuh". In reality, this document has been handed down through history only due to the work of a Dominican Friar who, in the 18th century, made a copy of the Mayan legend rather than follow suit of most of his forebears who feared the devilish presence of another religious doctrine and burned almost all other native documents in the New World.

    After having discovered several crystals that suggest the existence of a tremendous new energy source, a semi-secret non-governmental organization goes to Brazil to find their source.

    Brown picks apart certain stories from "Popul Vuh" and develops historic explanations for their origins as his team of ex-military and researchers uncover clue after clue surrounding the origin of the crystals. The story contains government conspiracies, hidden jungle pyramids, helicopters and big guns, war-ready natives, and monstrous animals. It also contains a tease of science fiction which nicely sets a tone for the rest of the series.

    Brown captures the texture of Brazil including the jungle-embedded pyramid and the centuries-old tribe that endures it's ancient lifestyle. Brown paces each new clue, each newly unraveled mystery at a solid and steady pace. There was very little plot disclosed without a reasonably good rationale. There was very little mystery solved without it fitting in well with the rest of the tone, texture and pacing of the rest of the story.

    The story isn't deep enough to warrant a 4-star rating. But it's better than most supernatural thrillers I've read and I was drawn into the story enough to want to read the sequel, "Black Sun". If you enjoyed the opening sequence of the original Indiana Jones, then imagine a full books' worth of that style adventure and you have a decent preview of what you'll get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Look forward to the sequel

    I purchased the ebook version after reading some customer reviews that compared the author to Douglas Preston and/or Lincoln Child. The plot held my interest from beginning to end. However, there is nothing new to find in the story. It seemed like an amalgam of several books I've read. But more importantly, to me anyway, was that I actually cared about the characters and look forward to the sequel, Black Sun, due out in August.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    The Amazon may hold an artifact so valuable that it would allow endless clean energy. One group was sent out a week ago but they vanished without a trace. Another team is put together without the knowledge of the first failed attempt to retrieve this priceless piece.

    Danielle is the leader of this expedition into the Mayan city. She and her companions begin their search but they were not prepared for what this trip had in store for them.

    I'm a sucker when it comes to thrillers. There were parts that made me think of Indiana Jones (I love those movies). It was definitely a fast-paced, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Entertaining

    Interesting story leading to an unexpected ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3