Customer Reviews for

Black Site (Delta Force Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Exciting military thriller! *Book source ~ Many thanks to Macmi

    Exciting military thriller!

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Macmillan Audio for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.

    Kolt Raynor, code name Racer, was at the top of his game as a Delta Force Commander when one bad decision on a covert operation plunged him into the abyss. After being kicked out of Delta Force and the military completely, for three years he took odd jobs to get by and drank his life away. Then one day there was a knock at his crappy trailer door and he was offered the chance to get back into the game, but as a civilian. The job was very risky, as in not-come-back-alive risky, but it was worth it for Kolt to do it and do it well. He had three weeks to train and it wasn’t going to be a piece of cake. If he survived the training then he would be able to start the job. After that, he just needed to survive it. Is Kolt too broken to get his head and body together? Or will he do whatever it takes to complete the mission?

    I have a special thing for military thrillers probably because my husband and my son are both Marines. If the writing and the plot can keep me engaged then there isn’t much that will put me off the book. This story is not only one that kept me engaged from beginning to the end, but kept me on the edge of my seat. So many anxious moments when things could go wrong and at times did go wrong, but I was drawn right along and raring to keep going. Black Site is real enough to stave off disbelief of some of the situations and the descriptions and actions are just right, not too much and not too little. The varying POVs are something I particularly enjoy, so it was nice to get the story from the angle of other characters. 

    Since I listened to the audio of this book I have to comment on the narrator, Ari Fliakos. What a sexy voice that man has! Nice inflection and a variety of tones means I wasn’t bored listening to him. In fact, I enjoyed his narration so much I’m going to pick up other books he’s done and hope he continues to narrate audiobooks for some time to come.

    All-in-all an awesome military/thriller/action book with lots of peril, weapons, bad guys, good guys and, for once, a woman riding to the rescue (at least in one instance). *wink*

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Love this book

    Loved this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Great read for anyone liking action novels, or other series like

    Great read for anyone liking action novels, or other series like the "Dewey Andreas" or "Mich Rapp" series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book, and the characters, although I don't

    I really enjoyed this book, and the characters, although I don't know if some the actions where possible, but never the less very adventurous. I have pre-ordered the next book and I'm looking forward to it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    If its half as exciting as Kill Bin Laden

    Read his authoritative account on the hunt for UBL in 2001 following ton the heels of the first Us SF/CIA SAD teams inserted into Afghanistan. Furys writing is nuanced and reinforced with critical info on the geopolitical and party politics that affected his hunt for the 911 perpetratirs in thr mtns of Tora Bora. The ad hoc aspect of the whole mission is awe inspiring bc of the high degree of skill and dedication by iur finest soldiers and is at the same time disturbing at the amount of incompetence shown on the part of officials who believed they knew more about warfare than the men on the ground. Dalton Fury holds no ounces in his criticism of the adminiatration, military, media, and politics to get the real story behind how he was within a 100 m of UBL but unabke to strike bc of politics. Cant wait for this novel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    I truly enjoyed this book and I could not put it down.  Wonderfu

    I truly enjoyed this book and I could not put it down.  Wonderfully written and I liked how it gave some insight on Delta Force.  I liked the book so much that I ran out and bought the next book in the series.  
    Again, great book and I would recommend it to anyone interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Great book - lot's of action

    This is a great action book/ series. I enjoy novels where the author actually has experience in the subject matter and makes the book more realistic. I look forward to more in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great

    I loved this book. Easy flow and never a dull moment. Will definitely buy more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Great

    Great read. I could not put it down. Kill binladen is also very very good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    A really great read

    I read every day and I read from all over the spectrum. While I do not read military novels frequently, I do like them. This one was a really good read. I didn't want to put it down, and was really disappointed to find out how long I have to wait for the next one! Good characters that you care about, ups and downs-the good guy definitely doesn't win them all in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Dalton Fury is another Vince Flynn

    This is one of those books that once you start it is hard to put down. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time. I love a story that takes twists and turns. Where the good guy does not always come out the winner in every situation. I will look forward to the next book in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended - A Must Read! :)

    This Book is so (GOOD) that it seems (CRUEL), To have to wait for a year for a follow up! It's about Time! Someone (DALTON FURRY) from (THE UNIT) got involved in (SERIES) writing! :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Delta Army Camp

    Minecraft

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    A great read! if you like Stephen Hunter, you'll love this!

    A great read! if you like Stephen Hunter, you'll love this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Jacobs bio

    Yun res six

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Stunning

    As close as you can get without passing selection.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2