Black Soft-Touch 2 LED USB Flex-Neck Clip-On Reading Light

3.5 23
by
     
 
Black Soft-Touch 2 LED USB Flex-Neck Clip-On Reading Light

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Black Soft-Touch 2 LED USB Flex-Neck Clip-On Reading Light 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Small, not heavy. Clips fine. NO damage to kindle. Works with computer also. Read a lot at night (lay next to baby) and battery ran out super fast. Read about 3 hours a night. In a week was dark. HIghly recommend it. New battery available at Lowe's. When battery fresh its very bright.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The product is conceptually great, but a practical failure. The LED lights will only illuminate when plugged into the base and provided power through the twin CR2032 batteries. On 3 different laptops and 8 different USB ports, the light refuses to work. Admittedly, I only attempted this using USB 2.0, but if the manufacturer expects anything earlier then they're a few years too late on the market.

If you're looking for a keyboard light for your laptop that runs off of USB, look elsewhere. If you'd like an LED book light, you can certainly find cheaper.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I bought this as a gift but personally have not used one. I have the Mighty Bright XtraFlex 2 and based on its performance and quality I am sure this variation will be a success with the person I bought it for. The USB feature adds another way to use it. Great little products from Mighty Bright. (4 stars only because I haven't personally used this model. I gave 5 stars to the XtraFlex 2 which I own and use.)
Angelina85 More than 1 year ago
I got this as a christmas present and after using it one time it would not work. I only used it for about an half hour and went back to use it and it would not work. I tried to plug it into the usb port and it still would not work. It is a huge disappointment. I will be returning it as soon as I can!
Musikk More than 1 year ago
Nice laptop/book light.i use it often,planning on ordering another one for a holiday gift.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This light rocks! Dual LEDs provide a decent flood of light to illuminate your keyboard or book. Based upon its mostly plastic build, I would not rate this as suitable for heavy duty industrial use. That being said however, for the home user, this thing is killer! I have tried this light in many USB ports. A short list of brand name laptops and tablets I have used this light with include Dell, IBM, HP, Compaq, Acer, Toshiba, Sony, Panasonic, MobileDemand Tablet PCs and even Asus EEE Tablets. These laptops and tablets have had port speeds ranging from USB v1.0, v1.1, v2.0 and v3.0, and the light has never failed to function in my experience. I bought this light for its duplicity. Battery operated for book reading, and USB powered for keyboard illumination. While its short battery life for book reading leaves something to be desired, the virtually limitless USB use has proven to be very handy and reliable for keyboard illumination. I am not disappointed with this light in the least. This is by far the best $20 battery & USB powered light I have found thus far, and I have been around the computing block looking at, and playing with, USB powered lights more times than the average child's tricycle has been around any neighborhood...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bluesette More than 1 year ago
This was such a wonderful device, I bought another one for another computer laptop I have. The flexible neck helps me to zero in on the keyboard with accuracy and saves on my electricity when I love to use my computer at night.
Del-Boy More than 1 year ago
The Black Soft-Touch 2 LED USB Flex-Neck Clip-On Reading Light is worth the money. the flexibility of having a USB light for working on a computer in your hotel room or in bed at home while your significant other sleeps away is great. Add to that being able to use it asa traditional clip on book light and you have a winner. The battery life is not the best as the other reviews have mentioned, but I'll take that downfall over having to carry two seperate lights. I am not the worlds best touch typist (read, can't type) so I need the light for my keyboard. It's great to be able to use this when the kids are watching a movie, or while we are travelling, then pull it off to just sit down with a good Terry Pratchett book :)
LM13 More than 1 year ago
I purchased this, thought it would be great for using to read a book, my nook, and the computer in the dark in bed, while my hubby sleeps. NOT. I could not get it to work, replaced the batteries, nor would the USB work. I returned it to the store, the clerk played with it, changed the batteries, put them in every possible way and could not get it to work either. We took 3 more off the shelf and none of them worked either. I got a refund and left the store frustraed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this little light that plugs into the USB port of the computer!
JimmyG73 More than 1 year ago
This light works on my laptop and book. Lights up the keyboard perfectly. Nice design.
NJReader001 More than 1 year ago
Broke in less than a day. Was not sturdy, but good idea.
marinetrent More than 1 year ago
I have been using this USB Flexneck for several months now and its fantastic. It's almost identical to the regular Flexneck reading light, but this flexible neck and light can be detached from the clip section and plugged directly into the USB port on my laptop to illuminate my keyboard or the paperwork next to the computer. Like the other Flexneck lights, When not in use the light head can be swiveled around and clamped into the hole in the clip, which makes it compact and capable of being attached onto my bag if looped through an opening before clamping the light to itself. The hole in the clip allows you to operate the light even when its clipped to itself so you can use it as a utility light The light has two bright-white LED's and a nice soft rubbery coating to the clip itself. I find the clip does a good job of staying where placed and will hold back a good number of pages in a book, up to about 3/4 inch worth of pages. The light uses two CR2032 batteries, the same as my garage door opener. The batteries are easy enough to find at my local storeas they are pretty common, they are usually next to the hearing aid batteries or camera batteries. The batteries are stored in the clip itself and the battery cover pops off by using the edge of a quarter to twist the cover off.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bought this light but had to return the first one because it didn't work but since I got the new one I just love it. It's quite versatile and really comes in handy if you use a laptop with black keys which are hard to see sometimes when there is not a lot of light
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got a refund.
gibbie68 More than 1 year ago
This light is great! Love that I can use it on my computer and then use it to read a book. In the car at night it is ideal; my husband likes that I don't blind him with it; it angles where ever I want it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This small easy to carry around reading light is a multi-purpose light that can be used not only as a reading light but as a light for use with your lap-top computer and it can also serve as a desk light because the clip that is used to attach to a book can also balance the flex neck lamp on a flat service. I liked this lamp so much I bought a second lamp for my son. It makes a great gift for college students or anyone who enjoys reading or using a laptop computer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love that the light can be used both plugged into my laptop and clipped to a book. My husband complains the light is too bright when he is trying to sleep and I am reading, but I think it is perfect.
Swingkat More than 1 year ago
We purchased this as a light for an Illiad e-book. It's very bright and sometimes glares on the page, but overall we're happy with it. You can either plug it into the USB (which is nice when you have easy assess to recharge the battery on the e-book) or you can attach it using a clip that has a built in battery. The neck is very adjustable, so you can find a good position for it. Also, unlike some book lights, the light is directional, you can point it all toward the book so it's not shining directly in your eyes!
River-J More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed at the light level provided by this item. The photo depicting it is using a secondary light source to illuminate the laptop. That should have indicated I was being ripped off right there. In theory, the 2 LED's should have lit the entire keyboard. There really is only enough light to see a small cluster of keys directly below the light source. Save your money, wait for a more efficient design.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago