Customer Reviews for

Black Sun Rising (Coldfire Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted February 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best I have ever read

    This was the first book i ever read by CS Freidman, and i am only sorry i hadn't heard about her or this series before! It is the best fantasy novel i have ever read, and combined with the completion of When True Night Falls, and Crown of Shadows makes this the best fantasy series i have ever read. The interaction of the characters with each other, the clashing personalities, the seemingly inconsequential details that give each character (Especially Zen) a very real feeling. The world sucked my in with its, sci-fi meets fantasy elements. After finishing this book, i immediately went out and bought the the next two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    This is a series I read when I was in high school. These are a f

    This is a series I read when I was in high school. These are a few of my goto books for an enjoyable read with imaginative characters. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Great Read

    Loved it. Good scifi fantasy mix, in my opinion. One of the most challenging things in writing fantasy is creating a world, an environment, that has depth and is almost as one of the characters. I am now in the second book of the series and the world of this novel has evolved and unfolded so many mysteries. This world is at the mercy of the thoughts of its inhabitants, and the inhabitants are at the mercy of it. Very complex characters, well rounded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    Excellent

    Great book with a gritty, dark world and nice character development. Definitely not your standard fare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    Breath of fresh air in Sci-Fi/Fantasy!

    I'm an avid reader of Sci-Fi & Fantasy and was running out of reading material that didn't involve teen vampires, and stumbled upon this trilogy recommendation on more than one of the "Best Sci-Fi & Fantasy Books" websites, so I thought I would give it a shot, and was pleasantly surprised! C. S. Friedman writes beautifully. I liked that the content is more for adult reading. And the concepts, plots, and characters are new, refreshing, and very well depicted!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book

    C. S. Friedman is a great writer. The story flows well. The characters are very cool. The plot is good but not too complicated; it's easy to follow. I read this book a few years ago and just recently read it again. It was just as enjoyable as the first read. I highly recommend it. I have always been pleased with every book I have read of hers - that being almost all of her books. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Didn't get nearly enough credit!

    This book was exactly what I was looking for in a fantasy novel. The characters are orginal and developed beautifully. Gerald is by far the most interesting and evil character I've ever read about but you cant help but fall inlove with him as you read this book. The plot is wonderful and there is a romantic tone through the book but there is still alot of suspense and unseen twists. There were times that I laughed out loud to myself and realized I was completely enveloped in this book. Highly recommended to anyone who enjoys a great a fantasy book. I can't believe this book got the reviews it did. It didnt nearly enough credit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Adventerous

    This book is a very exciting read. Has a fresh approach to characters. All are full of life and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    insightful review for those who are interested

    this book called to me so i read it as well as the rest of the series, which i'm glad i did because that is what i advise you to do. the books read like the author was warming up more and more as she wrote them. they just keep getting better. now for the criticism, the books are creepy compared to most fantasy, but it makes the series different and thus more interesting. also, the story concludes some things, and ideals without explanation, but it doesn't ruin the story. the ending of the series was not what i expected, but made sense and was good even though it was not a common ending. it isn't the best series i've read so i gave it for dots, but well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Absolutely Amazing!

    I loved this book! Awesome characters, and a riveting plot are what kept me coming back for more. If you like fantasy, this is a great book to get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2004

    Mind Blowing

    For a long time i was looking for a fantasy book that rivals Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin. Believe me, this is the book. It took a creative mind to come up with a work such as this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    Credible Magic

    Black Sun Rising is great, and the trilogy gets even better as it goes along. Best feature: magickal elements are consistent and credible. Resolutions of magical conflicts make sense logically and empathically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    Mind Blowing

    This trilogy is great, and Black Sun Rising kicks it off with a bang. The characters are great, and the mixed themes of theology and SiFi make this an great story until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Simply The Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy Author . . . Ever

    C.S. Friedman manages to write an engaging novel about an atypical priest on a mission to save his true love. Her world-building skills are extraordinary, describing in detail even the nature of the celestial bodies and tectonic movements. I especially liked the characters, so flawed and so gripping, and the strange ending. Note: Read no further if you don't want to ruin it a lot. In the ending, Damien (the priest)finds that the changes between him and his love have rifted too greatly. He is forced to continue anyway, which I think may be an allusion to the rise of divorce rates. Not sure on that. Anyway, it was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2002

    Oh My Gosh-Must Love Gerald Tarrant

    You have just got to love evil with a flare and style all its own. Gerald Tarrant has all of these components and he has the attitude to match. Loved his character throughout the whole series. He's just plain bad and dosen't see a thing wrong with it. I have read these books from cover to cover many times and they are always interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2001

    Gerald Tarrant A Memorable Character

    Gerald Tarrant is one of those characters that you'll never forget. He is to evil and to complex to ever forget. Even though Damien Vryce is the true protagonist( and a very good one at that), Gerald Tarrant is without a doubt the one that makes the story as good as it is. This is a must read series that everyone will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2001

    A fight for the soul of an evil man

    Wow! This book rocks! I could not put it down! This TRILOGY deleivers, Gerrald Tarrent is probablly the most evil character in the realm of Fantasy writing! This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    The Ultimate in the Fight Between Good and Evil

    This series is so well written that you regret losing the characters when it's over. If you are looking for the best fantasy books you have ever read on the eternal fight between good and evil these books are for you. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2001

    Absolutely Fantastic

    Very addictive, very satisfying. A milestone among the books I have read... C.S. Friedman is a wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2000

    Greatness in writing

    I read all three books, (although not in order) and they're all great! I recommend all of them to everyone who likes fantasy. I couldn't put any of the books down once I started them, and I'll never forget the characters. C.S. Friedman rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5