Customer Reviews for

A Black Tie Affair

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sherril Bodine knows romance

    Fate is a magical and wonderful mystery in our lives that throws out surprises we never expect and occasionally some bloopers we could live without. Athena Smith is getting a huge dose of both right now and she will have to take the good with the unexpected and roll with the way things play out. She may have been named for the Goddess of Wisdom but past mistakes make her question that particular title as it applies to her.

    Athena has finally gotten permission to inspect and display the Bertha Smith antique dress collection at the Fashion Institute of Chicago where she is the curator. But the catch is the dresses are part of the Clayworth family collection and this forces her to interact with her childhood love Drew Clayworth. Drew is the man that she has always loved but also the one she can never forgive because he broke her heart and caused hurt beyond recovery.

    Drew is equally leery of having Athena back in his life as well but fate has stepped in and brought them back together reminding him of everything he had and lost. He loved her so much but had to let her go when the tragedy of losing his parents in the Fastnet. This ultimate sailboat racing event was something he pushed his parents into and felt guilt when it took their lives. All this grief that Drew put upon his shoulders did not leave room for Athena or her love. Now they are thrown back together when the dresses that Athena wants to display are stolen and apparently causing whoever touches them to have a chemical reaction that makes the wearer act in interesting and "truthful" ways.

    Athena and Drew are both holding back a secret or two that could cause this reconciliation to crumble like the antique dresses they are trying to find but is withholding the information worse than the truth even when Drew is not telling Athena that he now plans to race in the Fastnet.

    Athena also has her sisters to contend with, the opening of their vintage collection store and allot of family meddling all surrounding trying to keep Athena apart from Drew. All of the sisters worry about their father who was terminated by Drew's family business and how that will all play out when Drew is confronted with the issue and the part he played in the termination.

    The search for the dresses becomes an adventure in more ways than one and both Athena and Drew are reminded that they are so much better together than apart despite the road blocks facing them. They may be able to sail out together but not on calm waters the way things keep popping up to toss them around.

    This book makes you believe in the magic of love and the wonder of everything happening for a reason. Some life events are mysterious and some wonderful but true happiness at being reunited with the love of your life not much else can go wrong - or so we hope. What a great book with wonderful characters and amazing underlying mystery. The tie-in to the next book in this series is enough to make you wish time moved faster and the next book was about to be released. It is not fate that has Ms. Bodine writing such a great story but the talent of a good writer.

    Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    A nice read

    First time reading this Author, it held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Cute read.

    This is an adorable story of a forever love you rarely hear about these days. The beginning was a tad slow but once the main charchters saw one another, game on!!! I finished it in one night easily. And anyone that loves contemporary romance will enjoy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Don't buy

    One of the worst written books I ever tried to read. I couldn't read it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read

    I started this book, thinking that it would just be like any other romance novel. But let me be the first to tell you that it wasn't! Sherrill kept me turning the pages just to find out what happened next. I kept asking myself "What happened?" "When will they see the light?" and many other questions throughout this book.
    The ending leaves a little to be desired, but makes you want more!! I finished the book in a little less than 12 hours and I can't wait to read Sherrill's next book. Bring us some more of those Clayworth's!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Wonderful concept for a story

    I really like the concept behind this book - the look into vintage couture dresses and jewelry fascinates me. I am a home sewer and love vintage wear and live for stories about couture. I could envision the beautiful dresses and wanted to see them myself. The story of how Athena runs into Drew again after all these years and the problem with the dresses from his family vault is great in concept. Most of the book had me enthralled. But overall I was left feeling kind of ho-hum about it. I think the execution was hurried by the end - most of the book was spent developing a wonderful story, but not enough time was given to concluding it. It was really hurried.

    That said - I did enjoy this book and look forward to reading more by Ms. Bodine. I am guessing there are more stories in this series coming since Athena has two more sisters. I also want to read Talk of the Town. The characters in A Black Tie Affair are great - I loved Athena, she is struggling with her feelings for Drew and her own self-confidence which is somewhat linked to Drew. Drew truthfully hasn't forgotten Athena but he still feels betrayed by her actions from long ago. The attraction starts right back up when they meet but they are both fighting it and each other. There is great tension and mystery in the book and the romance is good. It is a good book - I just wish it had been a little longer.

    However I suggest you check it out for yourself as this is just my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    High fashion, love & romance with a hint of mystery! Welcome the powerful Clayworth men and the celebrated Smith sisters!

    A Black Tie Affair introduces us to two influential and good looking families, the Clayworth men and the celebrated Smith sisters, in such a way that if this doesn't turn into a series I will be deeply disappointed.

    Bodine builds up the Clayworth fortune and mystique, I keep wondering about their family's history and lifestyle. If you like shows like Dirty Sexy Money or Gossip Girl like I do, you'll probably find A Black Tie Affair thoroughly entertaining.

    While A Black Tie Affair is a love story first and foremost, Bodine has woven in details from her love and knowledge of high fashion. These fashion details and the undercurrent of mystery make A Black Tie Affair a stand out romantic read! My only negative criticism: the book seemed much too short. I look forward to learning what happens to the next Smith sister and Clayworth heir.

    ISBN-10: 0446618594 - mass market paperback $6.99
    Publisher: Forever (January 1, 2010), 220 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fate and mystery are a wonderful combination to love

    Fate is a magical and wonderful mystery in our lives that throws out surprises we never expect and occasionally some bloopers we could live without. Athena Smith is getting a huge dose of both right now and she will have to take the good with the unexpected and roll with the way things play out. She may have been named for the Goddess of Wisdom but past mistakes make her question that particular title as it applies to her.

    Athena has finally gotten permission to inspect and display the Bertha Smith antique dress collection at the Fashion Institute of Chicago where she is the curator. But the catch is the dresses are part of the Clayworth family collection and this forces her to interact with her childhood love Drew Clayworth. Drew is the man that she has always loved but also the one she can never forgive because he broke her heart and caused hurt beyond recovery.

    Drew is equally leery of having Athena back in his life as well but fate has stepped in and brought them back together reminding him of everything he had and lost. He loved her so much but had to let her go when the tragedy of losing his parents in the Fastnet. This ultimate sailboat racing event was something he pushed his parents into and felt guilt when it took their lives. All this grief that Drew put upon his shoulders did not leave room for Athena or her love. Now they are thrown back together when the dresses that Athena wants to display are stolen and apparently causing whoever touches them to have a chemical reaction that makes the wearer act in interesting and "truthful" ways.

    Athena and Drew are both holding back a secret or two that could cause this reconciliation to crumble like the antique dresses they are trying to find but is withholding the information worse than the truth even when Drew is not telling Athena that he now plans to race in the Fastnet.

    Athena also has her sisters to contend with, the opening of their vintage collection store and allot of family meddling all surrounding trying to keep Athena apart from Drew. All of the sisters worry about their father who was terminated by Drew's family business and how that will all play out when Drew is confronted with the issue and the part he played in the termination.

    The search for the dresses becomes an adventure in more ways than one and both Athena and Drew are reminded that they are so much better together than apart despite the road blocks facing them. They may be able to sail out together but not on calm waters the way things keep popping up to toss them around.

    This book makes you believe in the magic of love and the wonder of everything happening for a reason. Some life events are mysterious and some wonderful but true happiness at being reunited with the love of your life not much else can go wrong - or so we hope. What a great book with wonderful characters and amazing underlying mystery. The tie-in to the next book in this series is enough to make you wish time moved faster and the next book was about to be released. It is not fate that has Ms. Bodine writing such a great story but the talent of a good writer.

    Mary Gramlich ("The Reading Reviewer") www.marygramlich.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful

    Author Sherrill Bodine claims that family is her number one passion, writing second, and philanthropy or travel as a dead pan for third. She has written books under the pen name Leslie Lynn, (Buried Shadows, A Soldier's Heart, and Autumn Loves), and also under the pen name Lynn Leslie, (Street of Dreams, Defy the Night, and The Other Amanda.) The other title under her name is Talk of the Town. Sherrill resides in Chicago, Illinois with her husband, children, and grandchildren.

    Fashion curator Athena Smith was overjoyed to find she was finally going to be able to get her hands on the Clayworth family's couture collection for her museum exhibit. But when she's called in to authenticate the rare gowns, they turn out to be laced with toxins, causing her to pass out and wake up face-to-face with her first love, Drew Clayworth. Drew still believes that Athena betrayed him all those years ago, but his traitorous heart still beats wildly for her. And now the gowns have gone missing, causing him to have to work closely with her to retrieve the priceless part of Chicago history before anyone else gets sick. Can the past be put behind them to finally move on, or will more lies keep them apart forever?

    The plot and pacing for this book seemed a bit rushed to me, especially at the end, and the way that the dresses were coincidentally found was almost too easy, but neither of these things deterred me from reading.

    What makes this book stand out for me was the author's ability to use internal thoughts and punch them into stellar one-liners. It made the characters so much more dimensional, complete with lovable flaws. You really found yourself relating to them and rooting for them. The tension between the hero and heroine was sexy right from the start, jumping off the page. The secondary characters were endearing. I would love to see spin off books on Athena's sisters. Though the gowns had toxins in them and then were stolen, this book was intended to be a light-hearted romance and not a suspense. Readers can get a real feel for Chicago in this book, as well as information on what goes on in the world of museum curators. You won't be slammed by unnecessary facts, but you will come away knowing more than you did. Recommended!

    Kelly Moran,
    Author and Reviewer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy Ms. Bodine's entertaining joy ride.

    Chicago History Museum costume curator Athena Smith looks forward to seeing the Bertha Palmer collection owned by John Clayworth and Company though that means potentially dealing with the man who broke her heart Drew Clayworth. The firm's Security Chief Bridget O'Flynn takes her to the renowned Secret Closet. Athena is ecstatic as she gently touches the four dresses unaware of the toxin they contain.

    Athena wakes up in the hospital after hallucinating that Drew stayed with her to help her learn the truth about her father's alleged indiscretion. Drew believes Athena betrayed him though he has not moved past his feelings for her. However, while she was rushed to the hospital, someone stole the valuable nineteenth century dresses. Athena offers to find the dresses as she has the contacts if someone tries a sale so Drew accepts. Neither welcomes the attraction that remains strong.

    The Talk of the Town in Chicago is Sherrill Bodine's wonderful second city romance. A second chance at love thriller, fans will enjoy the rocky ride between two individuals who distrust one another as they hold the other culpable for their break-up. Although the whodunit takes a backseat to the romance, fans will enjoy Ms. Bodine's entertaining joy ride.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 13 of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1