Customer Reviews for

Black Ties and Lullabies

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    At what point in love do you realize that you don't have to handle everything alone?

    A great bodyguard always brings her "A" game to work to protect the client and never has a relationship with the boss, even after you quit. But Bernadette Hogan did both of those things and finds herself pregnant by her former boss, the self-made multimillionaire Jeremy Bridges the bain of her existence.

    Bernie convinced herself Jeremy and his love of big boobs on blonde headed women would make it so she could walk away from him and never have him in her life again. But once Bernie tells Jeremy about the baby Jeremy informs her he is not going anywhere, plans to be right in the thick of it with her, and won't step away. Jeremy never thought he would ever be a parent but now that is he about to open that door he plans to right the wrongs he learned from his own childhood and be the kind of parent he dreamed would have been in his life growing up. Jeremy will not be a weekend dad or a visitor in his child's life.

    Jeremy wants what he craves the most, complete control over this new turn in the road for him which is what drives Bernie completely crazy. This change also has Jeremy acknowledge that he grew to the status he has by hard work and made him more money than he can spend in 10 lifetimes but does it make him happy? Jeremy would have said he didn't care about happiness he could buy that but every day as he see a life with Bernie money turns out to not be anywhere near enough. The child they created has opened his eyes to a life he never could have dreamed to have but will his inability to let go and let love happen ruin everything or can Bernie show him how to make love and money both count in your life.

    Loved this book from beginning to end! You have conflict, romance, more conflict, and some especially moving parts with Bernie's mother that will shake any child with a parent suffering from Alzheimer's and learning how to be a caregiver.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable but still fun!

    My Review:
    This was an interesting read. It actually turned out to be more than I expected it to be. Bernie has served as Jeremy's bodyguard for 2+ years. In that time, he has infuriated her with his completely blase attitude. That comes to a head one night when he ignores her warning and instead goes after some sex with another busty blonde in a long line of busty, brainless bimbos. The issue with this one is that she isn't what she seems, which is what Bernie was trying to warn him about. After securing them into the safe room with 4 bad guys in the house trying to harm Jeremy, Bernie loses it. She is furious and quits, but that fury quickly turns to passionate quickie. Bernie never loses her cool like that and has had it with Jeremy. She never plans to see him ever again. Surprise!

    This was a cute, fun read. Bernie has a LOT going on in her life and Jeremy quickly realizes that he never knew anything about her, even though they worked closely for two years. But by the same token, Bernie never really knew the reasons behind Jeremy's attitude either. It's so fun to get to know these two and watching them get to know each other. Bernie is this tough chick that has never been much of a girly-girl. She's a bodyguard and is constantly hanging out as just one of the guys. Jeremy never goes after a girl like her, so their attraction is as much as a surprise to them as it is to anyone.

    There are a few twists and turns along the way especially with the pregnancy. The book was fairly predictable, but that didn't make it any less fun to read.

    It was a fun book and definitely worth staying up late last night to read it. Now I am looking forward to reading another of Jane Graves books for my book #4 for the Bout of Books read-a-thon this week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I read Wedding Veils and Tall Tales and there was an excerpt for

    I read Wedding Veils and Tall Tales and there was an excerpt for this book in the back. Sounded intriguing so I ordered it and read it too. At first not sure I would like Jeremy but he grew on me. Perfect match for Bernie. Funny, sweet story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Great story

    Very entertaining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Great

    This was a great book, would love to see more about these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Fantastic

    Love this author. While the story didn't have me as captivated as her other works, it was still delightful to read and enjoy. The birthing scene will just crack you up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    L papaqas qawqpqqpaqqaqqtqy qtqyafVqtt qqqywtqt

    VagAq Bqe altqalqwqeqqeqqZVagaafqy agad
    Qezv
    Agwywyzv
    q
    AqVAafQtqfYqtZqqqpqdVafadqe.
    LaqasVqas aqeqq

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Cute romance

    Very cute story. Loved how he finally came to his senses

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Loved it.

    Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Book luver

    Loved it! Jeremy was easy to hate at the start but love at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Great Read!

    Enjoyed it from the first to last page. Wonderful story with complex characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Awful

    Could not finish it.very boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Cute story

    I had recently read a story by Erin McCarthy that had the same pregnancy theme, and this title was recommended. While I enjoyed the local Dallas element, the writing style compared to Erin's just was not the same. It was a good book, I didn't feel for either character the way I did in other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A very sweet love story!

    I was very skeptical coming into Black Ties and Lullabies, it sat on my shelf since before its publication date because it just didn't seem like something I would be able to get into. I am so glad that I finally picked it up though because I was wrong, wrong, wrong. I ended up loving this story of a redeemable rake and a tough girl who in the end shows she is a woman inside and out.

    Jeremy started out as a real womanizing prick, classic play boy who likes his toys and throws a fit when he doesn't get his way. But as the story progresses we come to find out that he came from the worse kind of upbringing yet strived to get out of that hellhole and worked his way through school and is now an amazingly successful business man, and he never wants to go back to any aspect of his upbringing. When Bernie showed up in his life, he may not have realized it right away, but eventual he sees that she brought something into it that he was missing, and for her he strives to be a better man and a good father. Him coming to terms with that and trying to woo Bernie over was a sweet, humorous and sometimes heart wrenching journey. By the middle of this novel I was fully invested in these characters.
    Bernie starts off as a pretty cold, tough-as-nails, just-one-of-the-guys type of lady. She doesn't dress up, doesn't wear make-up or worry about her hair and leads a pretty simple life. The totally opposite of Jeremy and though I can hang out with the guys any day of the week and I may not wear too much make-up I still like to look good, so I didn't think I'd be able to relate to her either. But then we started dipping into her emotions; her secret attraction to Jeremy, her felling in-superior to his other conquests, his financial status and her lack of one, her freaking out about being a single mother and trying to balance that and a job and taking care of her own mother all at the same time and BAM, I thought wow, she is just like any other woman I know!

    Black Ties and Lullabies was a tug-a-war between these two strong characters, there was a lot of growth for them and interesting side characters to help push the story along, but beneath it all it was a true love story. I think this would be good for contemporary romance fans looking for a nice and easy read to relax with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    And baby makes 3...

    The first contemporary I ever read (which shall remain nameless) left a bad taste so I basically abandoned this sub-genre. This book had me laughing out loud, sighing, feeling a lump in my throat, a knot in my chest, and cheering Bernie and Jeremy to a HEA. On the back cover of the book, there's a quote by NYT bestselling author, Lori Foster-"Jane Graves will win your heart." Yes, Ms. Foster, I must agree with you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Wonderful

    This was my first JG books but certainly won't be my last! It was great!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wickedly Funny and Sexy

    Black Ties and Lullabies by Jane Graves is an absolute delight.

    Bernadette "Bernie" Hogan takes her job as a bodyguard/security expert seriously. She doesn't make mistakes, she can't afford to. Bernie has the caring of her mother and Texas's most difficult and eligible bachelor to protect. Jeremy Bridges makes his own rules in business and in pleasure. He literally drives Bernie up a wall until one night she gives in and falls into his arms.

    Jeremy Bridges is a self made millionaire and realizes security is a needed necessity. But its not going to get in his way of having a good time. He likes Bernie's dry wit but never looked at her as a bed partner until one night locked in his safe room.

    That one night leads to a pregnancy that neither had planned on. Bernie starts to protect her heart with everything she has while Jeremy wants to show Bernie he can be the man for her and their baby.

    Black Ties and Lullabies is laugh out loud funny and deliciously sexy. Jeremy and Bernie are complete opposites but have an attraction that is smoking hot. Watching their romance grown and develop is a treat worth savoring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful contemporary romance

    After violating her personal pledge as a bodyguard with a one night stand with her client, Bernadette Hogan quits her position protecting Jeremy Bridges CEO of Sybersense Systems. He asks to return to her job, but she refuses as she believes he is heartless womanizer, which Jeremy knows is true. Besides she has no time for the immature lady's man as she cares for her mom Eleanor suffering with the early stages of Alzheimer's.

    As he waits for her to come begging like all females do with him, Bernie learns she is pregnant. He adamantly tells her he will be involved raising their child. Jeremy's childhood was not a role model so he swears he will be a good father to his offspring as he needs to have his offspring know he is the dad. As they argue over what his role is to become, Jeremy wants the mom in his life too, but must overcome first impressions.

    This is an entertaining at times amusing gender war as ultra responsible Bernie and the fun loving Jeremy argue over their unborn as she insists 1 and 1 equal a single mom while he claims 1 and 1 and 1 make a family. Eleanor brings the serious tone to the otherwise somewhat lighthearted tale with her slowly crippling disease in which she still knows what is happening to her but cannot prevent it. Although having his baby as a matchmaker has been used a googol number of times (see Karen Rose Smith's Baby by Surprise) contemporary romance fans will enjoy the battles between the bodyguard and her CEO client.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    delightfully entertaining

    Bernadette Hogan can't believe what she has gotten herself into, of all the crazy situations she could imagine getting pregnant by her infuriating boss was not even a blip on her radar. This is so not like her, she already has her plate full. Jeremy is willing to try to make things work, even though he is still reeling from the shock of that he let things get so out of hand. But how can an independent woman and a self-made millionaire learn to compromise without chewing each other to pieces?

    ****

    In BLACK TIES AND LULLABIES, Jane Graves had penned a delightfully entertaining tale with a fascinating cast of characters, keeping me laughing and smiling all throughout the book. I loved following Bernie and Jeremy on their journey to love and happiness.
    Bernie was a great heroine! This is the first book I've read where the woman has been the muscle, Jeremy was no slouch, but Bernie definitely could handle her own in a fight. I loved that she was independent and more than capable of taking care of herself, no matter what the situation, but I also like watching her learn that it's okay to lean on someone elses shoulder. Jeremy was an irritatingly arrogant guy, but you could sense the loneliness he kept so well hidden. I loved watching him grow emotionally, learning how to love and be loved. Bernie and Jeremy are definitely a couple I can picture living Happily Ever After, forever.
    I can't wait for Ms. Graves' next book! Her characters and stories are always very humorous and well plotted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fell Flat

    *NOTE: This book was supposed to be released in Feb 2011, but has been pushed back to June 2011. My cover also looks different.*

    Jane Graves is the author of eighteen contemporary romance novels. She is a seven-time finalist for Romance Writers of America's Rita Award, the industry's highest honor, and is the recipient of two National Readers' Choice Awards, the Booksellers' Best Award, and the Golden Quill, among others. Jane's books have been translated into more than a dozen languages, with three titles reaching the Top 100 on Amazon Germany. Her most recent release, Tall Tales and Wedding Veils, appeared on the Barnes & Noble Bestseller List. Other titles include: Hot Wheels and High Heels, Heartstrings and Diamond Rings, Wild at Heart, Flirting with Disaster, and Light My Fire. Jane resides in the Dallas area with her husband.

    A good girl can be bad for one night, but can a bad boy be good for a lifetime? Bernadette "Bernie" Hogan has spent the past two years as a bodyguard to Texas' most eligible--if not infuriating-- bachelor. She never makes mistakes, not when caring for her mother with Alzheimer's, and certainly not on the job. But one night, self-made millionaire Jeremy Bridges pushes her too far, and a passionate fling with her boss leaves Bernie confused, embarrassed, and pregnant. Can Jeremy convince Bernie that he's ready to change from the partying playboy to a dependable dad?

    If I'm being honest, this book fell a little flat for me about half-way through. And without issuing a spoiler alert, the ending was too overly sentimental for my tastes. I understand what the author was trying to do in showing growth for both the hero and heroine-- her with the hormones of pregnancy and him growing up-- but Jeremy lost his humor, and Bernie lost her edge, which is what made these two so captivating from the first page. I'm not a big fan of the "pregnancy plots" as they have to be done just right, but I will credit the book for not taking the "rushing into marriage" scenario most do, or for the "hiding the pregnancy" as typically shown.

    In saying that, Jane has an innate way of illustrating her surroundings and her secondary characters extremely well. It's why I've loved her books for some time, and why this won't deter me from future reads. Most memorable in this story for me was Bernie's mother, Eleanor's, struggle with the early stages of Alzheimer's and it's progression. It's a horrible disease, and it was not made light of nor portrayed improperly for creative content. 3.5 stars overall.

    Kelly Moran
    Author and Reviewer
    Bookpleasures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4