Customer Reviews for

The Black Tower

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Tour De Force!

For anyone who loves a great historical mystery this is the series for you! Louis Bayard has a distinctive form of writing bringing the early 19th Century France alive & filled with quirky characters such as Vidocq who has just iniciated the plainclothes force called th...
For anyone who loves a great historical mystery this is the series for you! Louis Bayard has a distinctive form of writing bringing the early 19th Century France alive & filled with quirky characters such as Vidocq who has just iniciated the plainclothes force called the Sureté. He reminds me of Colombo who appear to be rumpled & annoying but highly intelligent & Sherlock Holmes who is also a master of disguise. You are drawn into the plot immediately & you won't be able to put this book down until you have finished the very last page. Then, you have this incredible desire to pick the book up & read it again! The mystery continues to the very last page! An amazing read! Louis Bayard is now my #1 favorite historical mystery writer! This series is a must read.....

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Rainy Day Read

This book was a little predictable in the middle, with an interesting twist at the end. Not sure how historically accurate it was. This would not fall into my Must Read category, but it would make a good beach read.

posted by 967515 on February 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    A great historical mystery!

    The reader is drawn into the early 19th century world of France. It's a wonderful story about the "sudden" emergence of Louis-Charles, son of Marie-Antoinette and Louis XVI. Could this dirty and unkempt prson with amnesia be thetrue heir apparent? Very interesting and uncommon character who is the detective trying to unravel the mystery. Very good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Really enjoyed this book. Thought it was a very entertaining mixture of fiction and history with a great cast of characters and a mystery that kept me interested right to the end. This was the first book I read by Louis Bayard and I immediately purchased The Pale Blue Eye after finishing The Black Tower. I would definitely recommend this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Extremely Entertaining Read !

    Take my word for it, this is a very entertaining read . The mystery, the humor, the emotion, all make this one enjoyable experience . It will have you guessing right up to the last page....and then some .

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2008

    Forget sleeping or eating...

    Carve out some free time. You won't want to put this one down for a minute. I was fortunate to not have missed work due to lack of sleep, albeit I did miss a good part of Labor Day weekend reading 'The Black Tower' cover to cover! It's a great mystery, but Bayard has such a human quality and gives such depth to his characters. Best I've read since Pearl's debut novel 'The Dante Club'.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Outstanding Tour De Force!

    For anyone who loves a great historical mystery this is the series for you! Louis Bayard has a distinctive form of writing bringing the early 19th Century France alive & filled with quirky characters such as Vidocq who has just iniciated the plainclothes force called the Sureté. He reminds me of Colombo who appear to be rumpled & annoying but highly intelligent & Sherlock Holmes who is also a master of disguise. You are drawn into the plot immediately & you won't be able to put this book down until you have finished the very last page. Then, you have this incredible desire to pick the book up & read it again! The mystery continues to the very last page! An amazing read! Louis Bayard is now my #1 favorite historical mystery writer! This series is a must read.....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good

    I have to admit that I bought this book for the sole reason I had seen it before and it was cheap, but after reading it I might just make this author one of my regulars. The story is a dark historical fiction about France (mainly Paris) after the Napoleonic era. It was a bit of a struggle for me at first, getting along with the authentic names and places that were obviously french, but it did get easier as the book progressed. I found the book enchanting and difficult to put down. The twist at the end is fantastic, and I really like the tone that Bayard leaves off with. An excellent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    Well done Bayard! When is the sequel due?

    For all Mystery and Historical fiction addicts.
    Bayard's research is authentic, and his historical detective, that Hugo used in Les Miserables, gives a stunning glimpse in his methods and what dwells deep within his personna.

    Bayard in Revolutionary France has his place like Phillippa Gregory during the reign of Henry VIII.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    A clever historical detective fiction novel full of emotion, suspense and history

    Hector Carpentier, a Parisian medical student recounts his strange unexpected encounter with Vidocq, a former convict turned head of a mysterious police force and unusual informants known for its unusual luck in capturing some of Paris's most elusive criminals. When a murdered man shows up blocks from Hector's home with the name Dr. Carpentier on a slip of paper, Vidocq intends to do everything within his power to ferret out the truth. As the trial of clues unfold, the past comes back to haunt Hector and indeed Paris itself. Working together yet perhaps also trying to hide the truth, Hector's examination of medical records unveils a mystery ---- what if the young dauphin Louis-Charles, son of Marie-Antoinette and King Louis XVI had not died and somehow survived or even escaped from his imprisonment in the notorious Black Tower? In the meantime, a mysterious man with no memory has surfaced, a man with mysterious links to Hector and the past. Could he be the dauphin? Who might want this man dead badly enough to commit murder?// Louis Bayard's THE BLACK TOWER gives the reader a fascinating look into the Bourbon Restoration as well as the French Revolution's violence and excess that haunt his characters. The journals of the assistant to the doctor attending the dauphin surface, detailing the brutal results of abuse forced on a child in the anti-monarchy fervor of the Revolution. Louis Bayard gives reader a fascinating glimpse into characters and indeed a culture that seeks to erase the past and the origins in the name of justice. History and its effects are seen in the lives of his characters, a city and a country that struggles with its past origins. The changes in the lives of his characters as the past glory fades to a shadow of the past, a more sparse detached life creates a beautiful insight into the way history might have been experienced by people living it. THE BLACK TOWER brings forward the figure of the dauphin, not just as a tie to the monarchy, but as a little boy and a hope in the hearts of those who have lived through the Revolution.// With this beautifully crafted portrait of the times, Louis Bayard adds a riveting tale of suspense and mystery. Picking up in the character some credit as the inspiration for Edgar Allen Poe's Dupin, Louis Bayard takes the reader on a journey to discover the historical and literary origins of detective work itself in the enigmatic Vidocq, a man who would later found the first known private detective agency in 1833. Vidocq is a man with amazing cunning, a man who can twist a confession out of anyone and strike fear into the most hardened criminals. As Hector and Vidocq make a thrilling hunt for the truth, the confrontation of their personalities, the emerging suspects, and plots of conspiracy merge to create a mystery that keeps readers guessing to shocking conclusion. Louis Bayard's THE BLACK TOWER is a delightful mix of literary and detective historical fiction blended with an exquisite fictional imagination, creating a historical 'what if' suspense tale that thrills while it also moves the heart. THE BLACK TOWER is a must read book for all lovers of historical fiction and suspense! THE BLACK TOWER is the kind of book that that demonstrates the best of literary fiction, a book that continues to elicit even more after the last page is read in the hearts and imagination of avid historical readers.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    This was a very different and, hence, enjoyable book. It's nice

    This was a very different and, hence, enjoyable book. It's nice to get into a different period and learn a little history along the way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Great Story

    This is the first Louis Bayard I have read. I was pleasantly surprised. I cannot wait to read his other books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    we liked it

    Louis Bayard is a lovely writer. My wife and I heard the audio book The Pale Blue Eye and were hooked. The Black Tower is a different type of book but similar in its attention to history. However, it would be equally satisfying without the historical references. Fun for readers from teens to seniors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Good read...

    Moved well, and I particularly enjoyed the twist at the end. Keeps you wondering - or does it?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    A Rainy Day Read

    This book was a little predictable in the middle, with an interesting twist at the end. Not sure how historically accurate it was. This would not fall into my Must Read category, but it would make a good beach read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2