Customer Reviews for

The Black Tulip

Average Rating 4
( 242 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(150)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly Fulfilling in 200 Pages

Similar premise to my favorite book 'The Count of Monte Cristo', 'The Black Tulip' delivers a story of Murder, Envy, Love, and Triumph without disappointment. Halfway through the book I found myself staying up till 4:30 in the morning not able to put it down until I kne...
Similar premise to my favorite book 'The Count of Monte Cristo', 'The Black Tulip' delivers a story of Murder, Envy, Love, and Triumph without disappointment. Halfway through the book I found myself staying up till 4:30 in the morning not able to put it down until I knew how it ended!

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expected Much More

When I was young I remember discovering a black tulip a mail order catalogue my mother routinely received. I could not imagine a black flower. Later I had an opportunity to spend time in Holland and fell in love with tulips. So, when Alexandre Dumas was the selected ...
When I was young I remember discovering a black tulip a mail order catalogue my mother routinely received. I could not imagine a black flower. Later I had an opportunity to spend time in Holland and fell in love with tulips. So, when Alexandre Dumas was the selected author for an author reading group I chose The Black Tulip since I knew most people would gravitate toward his more well known work. I was sorely disappointed.

The Black Tulip contains components that typically I find enthralling. The story begins with the historical event of a lynch mob killing Cornelius and Johan DeWitt for reportedly colluding to have William, the Prince of Orange, assassinated. Cornelius' godson, Cornelius van Braele, is arrested as a conspirator. The evidence against van Braele is given by his jealous next door neighbor who does not want van Braele to succeed in producing a prized black tulip for which a hefty award has been promised by the Horticulture Society of Haarlem

Why did I rank it so low? While, it is a real struggle to get past the first four chapters I prefer the beginning to the rest of the book. I found the majority of the story to be simplistic and superficial with two-dimensional characters. Secondly, there was an abundance of historical inaccuracies. I was not as hard on this book as I usually am on this aspect because I understand that research was much more arduous at this time than today and the translators do a decent job of pointing out the inaccuracies in the notes. Finally the obvious archetypes assigned to various characters were frustrating to me, making much of the story too predictable.

posted by regina77004 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Expected Much More

    When I was young I remember discovering a black tulip a mail order catalogue my mother routinely received. I could not imagine a black flower. Later I had an opportunity to spend time in Holland and fell in love with tulips. So, when Alexandre Dumas was the selected author for an author reading group I chose The Black Tulip since I knew most people would gravitate toward his more well known work. I was sorely disappointed.

    The Black Tulip contains components that typically I find enthralling. The story begins with the historical event of a lynch mob killing Cornelius and Johan DeWitt for reportedly colluding to have William, the Prince of Orange, assassinated. Cornelius' godson, Cornelius van Braele, is arrested as a conspirator. The evidence against van Braele is given by his jealous next door neighbor who does not want van Braele to succeed in producing a prized black tulip for which a hefty award has been promised by the Horticulture Society of Haarlem

    Why did I rank it so low? While, it is a real struggle to get past the first four chapters I prefer the beginning to the rest of the book. I found the majority of the story to be simplistic and superficial with two-dimensional characters. Secondly, there was an abundance of historical inaccuracies. I was not as hard on this book as I usually am on this aspect because I understand that research was much more arduous at this time than today and the translators do a decent job of pointing out the inaccuracies in the notes. Finally the obvious archetypes assigned to various characters were frustrating to me, making much of the story too predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty and surprisingly fun

    Never having read Dumas prior to this, I was pleasantly surprised by the cheeky tone to the book. Amidst the general upbeat feel to the book, however, were a number of profound statements about human nature that made me stop and appreciate the truth for a moment, before continuing to read on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    best thing i've read in a long time

    this was captivating and exciting. not to mention romantic. I couln't put this down. it took a time of tulipmania and made me wish that I could have witnessed it firsthand. Dumas was truely gifted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Amazingly Fulfilling in 200 Pages

    Similar premise to my favorite book 'The Count of Monte Cristo', 'The Black Tulip' delivers a story of Murder, Envy, Love, and Triumph without disappointment. Halfway through the book I found myself staying up till 4:30 in the morning not able to put it down until I knew how it ended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Another example of excellent prose

    The more works of Dumas you read,the more you will recognize his genius. Dumas is the king of suspense in the world of victorian lit. This book and the rest of Dumas's works show his ability to captivate a reader and present a story throgh excitement and suspense. His characters are developed and represent heros of actions and situations. This is a good read. this book is complex enough to be entertaining to and advanced reader yet simple enough for the novice. Another example of French Literatures strong points.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Captivating

    I first read 'The Count of Monte Cristo' and then a friend gave me 'The Black Tulip'. Once I got started, I could not put the book down. It's an intriguing story with fascinating characters which will draw you in from the start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    To all

    Come and join flow flowerclan! We accept all as long as you post a full bio and are active and friendly. To join go to rosebud last result . You wont regret this.
    ~ Violetcrystal, proud leader of flowerclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Chippeh

    Did you like the song?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Eartheh

    Or Wisperfeather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Icestar

    Good friends are hard to find, harder to leave, and impossible to forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Chippeh

    They call me Dr. Worm. Good morning, how are you, I'm Dr. Worm. I'm interested in things. I'm not a real doctor, but I am a real worm. I am an actual worm. I live like a worm and I like to play the drums. I think I'm getting good and I can handle criticism. I'll show you what I know and you can tell me if you think I'm getting better on the drums. I'll leave the front unlocked 'cause I can't hear the doorbell. When I get into it, I can't tell if you are watching me twirling the stick. When I give the signal, my friends, Rabbi Mole will play the solo. (Guitar solo) Someday, somebody else besides me will call me by my stage name, they will call me Dr. Worm. Good morning, how are you, I'm Dr. Worm. I'm interested in things. I'm not a real doctor, but I am a real worm. I am an actual worm. I live like a worm, and I like to play the drums. I think I'm getting good, but I can handle criticism. I'll show you what I know and you can tell me if you think I'm getting better on the drums. I'll leave the front unlocked 'cause I can't hear the doorbell riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnngggggggggggg........

    ~~~~~~~~~~(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    The oldest blazeclan members

    Edenstar, Icetail/Icestar*, Whitewing, Violetsong/Violetstar*, Chipfoot*, Nightwing, and Darkpelt (*=still rps)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Sing along songs with Flameh

    Im Derpy and I Know It<br>
    Tune of Se<_>xy and I Know It<br>
    But words mostly by yours truly
    <p>
    When I fly on by<br>
    Peeps be lookin all derpified<br>
    When Im at the beach<br>
    Im in a one piece actin so derpy<br>
    <p>
    Derp<br>
    Hey look at those sparkles<br>
    Derp<br>
    Hey look at those sparkles<br>
    Derp<br>
    Hey look at those sparkles<br>
    Th-th-they're s-so shiny<br>
    Derp<br>
    Hey look at those sparkles<p>
    Derp<br>
    Hey look at those sparkles<br>
    Derp<br>
    Hey look at those sparkles<br>
    Th-th-they're s-so shiny
    <p>
    When I walk in Walmart<br>
    This is what I see<br>
    Everybody stops and is laughing at me<br>
    I got crackers in my pants and I aint afraid<br>
    To throw em throw em throw em<br>
    Im derpy and I know it
    <p>
    Im derpy and i know it
    <p>
    Uni-uni-uni-uni-unicorn<br>
    Uni-uni-uni-uni-unicorn<br>
    Yea-yea do the unicorn<br>
    Do the unicorn
    <p>
    Im derpy and I know it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Earthclaw

    How 'bout Frostpelt? Or Frostfoot? You'll becme Frosteh in a year. ((Ooh! FROSTEH, THE SNOW CAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Flameh

    Lily was saying something about us leaving blazeclan or roleplaying in different clans if we want to be friends with them. I went as tigerleaf and told them that its not as easy as they think and that you cant just abandon your clan for another and also being a different cat in a different clan will have no similarity to what blazeclan and horseclan had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    To all

    What is this magical place i must join!!!!!))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Eartheh

    Oooh! A wattpad is a Quotev without quizzes and polls. I'm QuillMist20724 on Pottermore and Alanna Rogers on Quotev. You should at least look at my profile on deviantArt. I'm CandyCornMLP. My artistic talent doesn't really come from drawing or painting, but from photography. I'm in Ravenclaw!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Frostpelt

    Im with ya flameh!!!!!!!!! THROWS LEAFS AT HER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Mudfall

    These haters never listen, no not one little bit. They rage around out of control and- START A FLAME WAR, SH<_>IT! I've got to argue back right there for everyone to see- I'm on the internet, you see, and it's how the trolls are all controlling me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2014

    Mudfell

    Bum bum bah bum bum bum bum bum bahbumbum bah bum. DUHN DUH DUHH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 242 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13