Customer Reviews for

The Black Tulip

Average Rating 4
( 158 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Amazingly Fulfilling in 200 Pages

Similar premise to my favorite book 'The Count of Monte Cristo', 'The Black Tulip' delivers a story of Murder, Envy, Love, and Triumph without disappointment. Halfway through the book I found myself staying up till 4:30 in the morning not able to put it down until I kne...
Similar premise to my favorite book 'The Count of Monte Cristo', 'The Black Tulip' delivers a story of Murder, Envy, Love, and Triumph without disappointment. Halfway through the book I found myself staying up till 4:30 in the morning not able to put it down until I knew how it ended!

posted by Anonymous on June 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Expected Much More

When I was young I remember discovering a black tulip a mail order catalogue my mother routinely received. I could not imagine a black flower. Later I had an opportunity to spend time in Holland and fell in love with tulips. So, when Alexandre Dumas was the selected ...
When I was young I remember discovering a black tulip a mail order catalogue my mother routinely received. I could not imagine a black flower. Later I had an opportunity to spend time in Holland and fell in love with tulips. So, when Alexandre Dumas was the selected author for an author reading group I chose The Black Tulip since I knew most people would gravitate toward his more well known work. I was sorely disappointed.

The Black Tulip contains components that typically I find enthralling. The story begins with the historical event of a lynch mob killing Cornelius and Johan DeWitt for reportedly colluding to have William, the Prince of Orange, assassinated. Cornelius' godson, Cornelius van Braele, is arrested as a conspirator. The evidence against van Braele is given by his jealous next door neighbor who does not want van Braele to succeed in producing a prized black tulip for which a hefty award has been promised by the Horticulture Society of Haarlem

Why did I rank it so low? While, it is a real struggle to get past the first four chapters I prefer the beginning to the rest of the book. I found the majority of the story to be simplistic and superficial with two-dimensional characters. Secondly, there was an abundance of historical inaccuracies. I was not as hard on this book as I usually am on this aspect because I understand that research was much more arduous at this time than today and the translators do a decent job of pointing out the inaccuracies in the notes. Finally the obvious archetypes assigned to various characters were frustrating to me, making much of the story too predictable.

posted by regina77004 on April 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Expected Much More

    When I was young I remember discovering a black tulip a mail order catalogue my mother routinely received. I could not imagine a black flower. Later I had an opportunity to spend time in Holland and fell in love with tulips. So, when Alexandre Dumas was the selected author for an author reading group I chose The Black Tulip since I knew most people would gravitate toward his more well known work. I was sorely disappointed.

    The Black Tulip contains components that typically I find enthralling. The story begins with the historical event of a lynch mob killing Cornelius and Johan DeWitt for reportedly colluding to have William, the Prince of Orange, assassinated. Cornelius' godson, Cornelius van Braele, is arrested as a conspirator. The evidence against van Braele is given by his jealous next door neighbor who does not want van Braele to succeed in producing a prized black tulip for which a hefty award has been promised by the Horticulture Society of Haarlem

    Why did I rank it so low? While, it is a real struggle to get past the first four chapters I prefer the beginning to the rest of the book. I found the majority of the story to be simplistic and superficial with two-dimensional characters. Secondly, there was an abundance of historical inaccuracies. I was not as hard on this book as I usually am on this aspect because I understand that research was much more arduous at this time than today and the translators do a decent job of pointing out the inaccuracies in the notes. Finally the obvious archetypes assigned to various characters were frustrating to me, making much of the story too predictable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Witty and surprisingly fun

    Never having read Dumas prior to this, I was pleasantly surprised by the cheeky tone to the book. Amidst the general upbeat feel to the book, however, were a number of profound statements about human nature that made me stop and appreciate the truth for a moment, before continuing to read on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    best thing i've read in a long time

    this was captivating and exciting. not to mention romantic. I couln't put this down. it took a time of tulipmania and made me wish that I could have witnessed it firsthand. Dumas was truely gifted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    Amazingly Fulfilling in 200 Pages

    Similar premise to my favorite book 'The Count of Monte Cristo', 'The Black Tulip' delivers a story of Murder, Envy, Love, and Triumph without disappointment. Halfway through the book I found myself staying up till 4:30 in the morning not able to put it down until I knew how it ended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2006

    Another example of excellent prose

    The more works of Dumas you read,the more you will recognize his genius. Dumas is the king of suspense in the world of victorian lit. This book and the rest of Dumas's works show his ability to captivate a reader and present a story throgh excitement and suspense. His characters are developed and represent heros of actions and situations. This is a good read. this book is complex enough to be entertaining to and advanced reader yet simple enough for the novice. Another example of French Literatures strong points.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Captivating

    I first read 'The Count of Monte Cristo' and then a friend gave me 'The Black Tulip'. Once I got started, I could not put the book down. It's an intriguing story with fascinating characters which will draw you in from the start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    Swag

    Yeap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Att:BN

    Note to BN: Most of the reviews here are actually kids and their fantasy world. I got tired of filing reports and flags about 30 in.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Seth

    Sup guys.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Swag

    Dx *sniffle* That was gorgeous. And your name is great. *she is nommed* ... guys, take a look. We are Legends of Roleplay. .____.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Swag

    :/ Like I said, I'll get on occassionally. x) Seeya, fer now. Both of you better have a Merry Christmas. Bye, for now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Swag

    xD Whaaaaat? *she sits on him, examining a rather sharp piece of happiness.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Finnick

    :3 Now a bad time?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Swag

    I dunno where the Hello Kitty you come up with these, Xavier. But, <br>
    <br>
    Yes, we are Legends of Roleplay, characters that cannot be divided even by the realistic horrors haunting every part of roleplay in demonic and deathly forms, and.... oh wait. I cannot top that, that thing that Steven Alexander Hoyt just posted. xDDDD YESSSS WHAT XAVIER SAID!!!!! <br>
    <br>
    Hey, buddies, leave these awesome posts up for a while. At least a few days, so I can write them down when I feel better... yeah. Keep 'em up? :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    B

    B

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Cyrus

    Wow. All those C-names. Cyrus, Cobra, Chris, Claire, etc... damn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Cyrus

    Happy Merry Jesus Fest!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Sparrow

    Did someone say "fowl language?" o-o Merher. Pheasant.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Power Ranger Red-Orange with a hint of Lavender

    Sweg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    Xavier

    Wait a sec... l just remembered that Lu already has a Boyfriend. xD l like her as a friend. :3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8