Customer Reviews for

Black Waters (Book 1 in the Songstress Trilogy)

Average Rating 4
( 273 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(149)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!! Love everything about it!

Breathhtaking from start to finish with a fantastic story line! Couldnt put my nook down! Awesome descriptions and exceptional writing! Looking foward to reading the rest of the series!

posted by Anonymous on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I was very excited to read this story because it was FREE and it had good ratings. But oh my lord it dragged on forever on what seems to be only one freaking point. I cant believe i read as far as i did.. it there was ever such a thing as description overload, this auth...
I was very excited to read this story because it was FREE and it had good ratings. But oh my lord it dragged on forever on what seems to be only one freaking point. I cant believe i read as far as i did.. it there was ever such a thing as description overload, this author managed to hit it head on. Im saddened because the story had very,VERY rich and intriguing mermaid greek mythology in the backdrop but it just didnt tie in well. In the end I was annoyed with the every freaking fleeting emotion, detailed to the last gasping breath, of the main character Abby and irritated to death with her love propect's bi-polar feelings towards her ( I like her... No, I lover her! Oh, why do I lover her? No, i dont love her... Yes I love her... Your'e the epitomy of evil! ) *sigh*

Finally, the story led to overdrawn climax that had been building up since very early on, with no subplots. I felt like I was throwing my hands up in the air yelling 'Oh, c'mon!!' at the turn of evrery friggin page. This one of the very few stories I've felt this compelled to speek, dare I say,ill of because i actually liked more than half-way then felt to dissappointed i couldnt finish. Obviously ALOT of people disagree. It is a better read than most free books though, I give the author that much.



Dont hate on my review.

posted by Michel_My_Belle on June 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Amazing!!! Love everything about it!

    Breathhtaking from start to finish with a fantastic story line! Couldnt put my nook down! Awesome descriptions and exceptional writing! Looking foward to reading the rest of the series!

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Where is the second book?

    Where is the second book?

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Great book couldnt put it down. Totaly different story. Never read anything like this before.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    This was a really good book. I can't wait for the second one to come out! Still looking for it if anyone see's anything please say so!

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    LOVED IT

    it is the best free book in the whole entire nook store! Great characters and plot. Overall thos book is my fav

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Love it"

    The story was engaging and the descriptions are beautiful :)

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Romance-fantasy twist

    I loved this book. I sat down on vacation and started reading it, and i didn't want to stop reading it. It combines romance with mythological fantasy, and has many layers to the story. It is guarunteed to keep you reading till the very end. I cannot wait until the second book comes out!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Tale that will suck you in until its done.

    Such a good book! Tells a spine chilling tale of murders, mermaids, and monsters... every sci-fi finatics dream! You will never want to put the book down (even when its pitch black outside and your reading the part where someone dies and every squeak you hear you think its a monster out to get you).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    For the little girl inside us all...

    This book has great suspence, and action at every turn. There is forbidden love, that keeps you guessing what will happen until the very end. It is a mermaid book that is not just for girls, but could capture the attention and love of all.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Great Book!!!!

    This was an amazing book and i cant wait till the second one but a pice of advice to the author; i know people, including me, wish you would come out withe the book asap but i say take your time so the second book can be even more amazing then the first. Its better to come out with it late and really good than fast and really sucky. Just sayin' but good luck on your second book u already got my buy. ^_^

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Amazing!!

    I thought that this was a really great book and i cant wait for book number 2 in the trilogy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Awesoms!!!!!

    I love the way it's written, and it's not too fairy-taley, or not too ordinary,!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great book

    Im not really into this sort of stuff but it was free so i gave it a shot. Im glad i did. READ IT!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Second book?????

    I loved the book but i cant find the second one anywhere!!please finish it soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Awesome

    Such a good book especially if you are into mythology. I couldn't put the bookndown it was great and I can't wait for the second book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Amazing

    I really enjoyed this book. And since it is free, it is totaly worth buying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    AMAZING

    I loved it! Very riveting story. 625 pages, finished it in three days. Cant wait til she releases the next one

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    600+ pages!!!!

    600+ pages it very good and i cant wait for the next book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    GREAT

    This book was surprisingly very good! Vivid details and so many twists and turns you did not know what was going to happen next. I can not wait till the next book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!

    This was sn awesome book that i would recomend to people that like mythological creatures, especially the siren. They do not have the second book out yet for NOOK. Itis anawesome read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 149 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8