Customer Reviews for

Black Widow (Doc Ford Series #15)

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best Doc Ford Mystery in a Long Time

I was originally attracted to the Doc Ford series by such excellent titles as 'Ten Thousand Islands' and 'Shark River', with fast paced story lines that take place in 'Doc Ford country'. Later works tended to be a little over-the-top and/or included too much philosophiz...
I was originally attracted to the Doc Ford series by such excellent titles as 'Ten Thousand Islands' and 'Shark River', with fast paced story lines that take place in 'Doc Ford country'. Later works tended to be a little over-the-top and/or included too much philosophizing in the narrative. This book is suspenseful, with a more involved story line and less self-analysis. And maybe a little over the top at times also. But a fast read with well drawn characters and a compelling storyline. Highly recommended.

posted by Anonymous on May 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not deep, but a quick beach read!

This book is a good one to pass the time at an airport or at the beach. I wouldn't be looking for deep answers to the questions of life, but it was pretty entertaining.

posted by Anonymous on June 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2008

    Black Widow is worthy

    4.5 stars. This was my first RWW book, and I found it so thoroughly enjoyable, I read it in one day. Many works of fiction include fact based information, but Black Widow includes history, biology and geography lessons as well. RWW writing skills and imagination are showcased superbly with plot twists that are not all predictable. Don't pick this title up until you know you have several hours all to yourself.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    Best Doc Ford Mystery in a Long Time

    I was originally attracted to the Doc Ford series by such excellent titles as 'Ten Thousand Islands' and 'Shark River', with fast paced story lines that take place in 'Doc Ford country'. Later works tended to be a little over-the-top and/or included too much philosophizing in the narrative. This book is suspenseful, with a more involved story line and less self-analysis. And maybe a little over the top at times also. But a fast read with well drawn characters and a compelling storyline. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Ford still runs great

    'Black Widow' is another winner in Randy Wayne White's Doc Ford Series. Just before her marriage into a wealthy, socially prominent family, Ford's goddaughter Shay Money is targeted by blackmailers after a particularly wild bachelorette weekend where she may have been drugged and then taped doing shameful things. Ford is enlisted to deliver the hush money, but when he suspects that things won't end there, he takes a trip down to the Caribbean island of St Arc, scene of his goddaughter's unfortunate antics. There, he finds a voodoo priestess who is running the sophisticated blackmail ring that has put more than a few unsuspecting (and rich) women into compromising positions and then bled them of cash. In trying to free Shay from her predicament, Ford teams up with a rakish, older English gentleman who regards himself as a defender of the innocent, not to mention a descendent of the Knights Templar, and may be, like Ford himself, a former special-ops agent. Voodoo priestess? Templar Knights? Sounds hokey, but with White's interesting characters and fast-moving plot it's all great fun. Also recommended: 'A STRANGER LIES THERE' - this mystery won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Black Widow is a great book !!!

    Once again Randy Wayne White has proven himself to be one of the finest writers. Black Widow is a terrific read and I enjoyed it. The Doc Ford Series just keeps getting better. My advice is to read them all and in the order they were written.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Randy White's books are filled with twists and turns - lots of action.

    This story could happen to any female and no doubt was based on some similiar incident. White keeps you guessing and trying to stay ahead of the twists and turns. A great, quick read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Not deep, but a quick beach read!

    This book is a good one to pass the time at an airport or at the beach. I wouldn't be looking for deep answers to the questions of life, but it was pretty entertaining.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Have all read all 21 Doc Ford books, wish there were more!

    Every Doc Ford book is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2014

    a fun read, but not at all comparable to his early works. It see

    a fun read, but not at all comparable to his early works. It seems the "publish a novel a year, whether you have a story or not" syndrome has taken over.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2013

    This is the 15th novel in the Doc Ford series. If you've read a

    This is the 15th novel in the Doc Ford series. If you've read any of the other 14, you know pretty much what to expect: A little hanging out in Dinkin's Bay, a little marine biology, a little ocean / Caribbean travel … and a little romance and a little understated sex (not necessarily the same thing) and a little understated mayhem and violence. If you like that, you'll like this. If you do not … fill in the blanks.

    Tomlinson does not play as large a role in this book as he does in most of the others. Instead, Ford is assisted in his mission on St. Joan of Arc's (shortened to St. Arcs) by “Sir James”, a retired British officer living on St. Lucia (with broad hints that he may be another British “Sir James” of literary espionage – and lots of movies – fame). I found this frustrating; it felt like the author simply didn't know where to take our favorite supporting character, so he simply decided to replace him with a polar opposite. (Better than killing him off, I suppose; there's always a chance he'll return to a more powerful role in the future.)

    I know what I like about Doc Ford novels, and this contained those aspects of the previous books in the series. I credit the author for attempting to keep things fresh by bringing in a new supporting character; I hope he'll grow on me in future books in the series. (After all, I have to admit that Tomlinson didn't exactly grab me when we first “met”, either.)

    Rating: 3 1/2 stars, rounded up to 4 stars where applicable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Sexybaby

    Hr.n.y girl here;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    FAMILIAR STORY LINE, BUT DIFFERENT CHARACTER STYLES. OKAY WHEN TIRED OF READING BUSINESS AND SCIENTIFIC ARTICLES FOR ESCAPISM. WISH I COULD DRINK LIKE CHARACTERS DO MY JOB AND FIGHT VILLAINS, AND NOT FEEL HUNG OVER AT 50.

    NICE READING FOR SOMETHING ELSE TO DO

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Doc Ford or Nancy Drew?

    Randy White has left Florida again and gone island hopping. After reading Black Widow one feels like they are leaving a chick flick. Randy needs to rediscover his roots. His last few don't have his original flavor or zing. Maybe his fame has gone to his head. His website now seems aloof from his readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Convoluted Widow

    Not being familiar with the series, I can say that after reading Black Widow I won't be picking up another. Apparently RWW is an acquired taste, I found his writing awkward, the plot confusing, and mostly uninteresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Doc Ford Mystery

    What can I say, Doc Ford is my alter-ego. This is a fantastic series! I highly recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    Is He or Isn't He?

    Is he a retired cia agent or not? That occupied my thoughts more than the story line.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read.

    The Doc Ford series is an absolute must read. Once I read the first book, I was hooked. And the way the author describes Florida is on the spot. It's even more fun to read when you live in Florida, as I do. Sanibel comes to life in every plot line. I'm still waiting for Ford to stop at Cheeburger, Cheeburger.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    Care in the Caribbean

    Mr. White's books always teach a bit of something. This one to take care while in the Caribbean Islands. After living in Jamaica for 2 years, the evils in this book are very real. Plus he teaches about stinging shrimps, jelly fish, and killer whales vs hammerheads. All this while telling a great who done it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Doc Ford and Randy Wayne White at their best

    White has you hook, line, and sinker from the first page. The adventures that he creates for Doc and his friends keep getting better and better with each book he writes. The new characters you meet in Black Widow are some of his best. If you are new to reading Randy Wayne White you will love the previous Doc Ford books and anxious await the next .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2