Customer Reviews for

Black Wind (Dirk Pitt Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great read

I couldn't put it down.

posted by 743741 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, But Not the Best

I read almost all of the Dirk Pitt novels. This one wasn't as suspenseful as the others, since Dirk and Al are clearly thrown in the background. Clive Cussler's son just doesn't have the skills for the job.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    Exciting

    As always, Cussler "Black Wind" keeps your attention and can't stop reading. Just look for more his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Elders deb

    WindClan

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    The Book

    The book sounds really good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Great read

    I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2009

    Great read

    Cussler's usual excitement, the sea and special stuff

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2008

    Good, But Not the Best

    I read almost all of the Dirk Pitt novels. This one wasn't as suspenseful as the others, since Dirk and Al are clearly thrown in the background. Clive Cussler's son just doesn't have the skills for the job.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2005

    Junior or Senior? Senior!

    I don't care if the elder Dirk is getting the 'special' discount, I still prefer him over Jr. Sure, the adventure was still there and the mega world threatening plot still threatens the world, but I still prefer the eldest Pitt. It could be that I'm biased, having read just about all of Cussler's previous books, but if it ain' broke...you know the rest. Probably a good read for those new to Cussler, but for us long time fans it might not measure up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    |Forest|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Black Wind written by Clive Cussler is the eighteenth in his ser

    Black Wind written by Clive Cussler is the eighteenth in his series of Dirk Pitt action-adventure books. From the very beginning, I found it to be a very compelling book that really gripped the reader, making it hard to put down until the end.  Cussler worked in some amazing threads throughout the story, making it very multidimensional and a slightly more complicated read. But, I think this really added to the overall theme of the book, making it more exciting and fun to read.
    Black Wind started out with an interesting historical, although purely fiction, flashback. The narrator describes the top secret assignment of a Japanese submarine during World War Two to deliver a deadly biological agent that has the potential to bring the United Sated to their knees. Alas, in true story book standards, the submarine just-so-happens to go missing, and is never seen or heard from again. Until 2007 that is, when the crew of a marine research vessel off the coast of Korea suddenly becomes violently ill. It also just so happens that Dirk Pitt, and his son’s research vessel was only a few miles from this, and thus comes to their rescue. From this point on the reader in launched into a complex series of predicaments. One after another, everything from having their company helicopter shot down, to being infected themselves and formulating an antidote for the deadly toxin happens in a fairly short period of time. Of course as is custom in Dirk Pitt novels there is still an evil genius billionaire who Pitt and son must battle throughout the book as well. All before in the end, with all of the odds stacked against them, the good guys miraculously win.
    After reading Valhalla Rising last marking period, I was very disappointed in where the series was going, and almost put it down for good. However I’m glad that I didn’t. Black Wind did have its flaws, such as its lack of believability or actually becoming a bit dry content wise at points throughout. The fact that all of the main characters could do no wrong also became a little cliché, but all of this is to be expected. When picking up a copy of a Clive Cussler book, specifically the Dirk Pitt series, one shouldn’t be expecting a ultra believable, factual novel. They should be expecting a fun, action packed book, which is fun to read in your spare time. When taking this into account, all things considered, I thought that this was one of the better book that I have read in the series to date. Cussler has revitalized the plot of the series by adding in some new characters, like Pitt’s son Dirk Jr. and daughter Summer, while also phasing out older characters like Pitt’s partner Al. 
    Overall I enjoyed the book greatly, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a fun, exciting, although not very serious book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Farrah

    He let out a warning growl and stood crouched low. "I never attacked you, and i never will. I couldnt control when i snapped at you." He growl, a low warning growl at her. "And if you attacked me, it would be easily to put you back in the omega's section of my pack."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Akasha

    *She growled back at him and crouched* you dont intimidate me Farrah. You may be alpha, but lll die first before you think about running away from your problems or attacking me *her voice changed to a very dominating voice*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I've read several of the Cussler books and, although they may be

    I've read several of the Cussler books and, although they may be formulaic, have enjoyed them all. Except for this one.
    Maybe it's because his son wrote most of it. But I didn't find the writing as crisp as the others. Also -- I find the constant wise-cracking getting tiresome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended!

    Clive does it again! Great reading. He does an excellent job building the characters and the plot. Cussler displays his expertise in this "ocean arena"! Another fantastic Pitt adventure. I only wish Barnes & Noble had all the Pitt Series available for Nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Mistyclaw

    Is sundapple here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Lunaclaw to Dawnpaw- STUDY

    *Mouse bile- remedy for ticks*
    *Stinging nettle- can stop poison*
    *Tansy- cures coughs*
    *Thyme- for shock*
    *Watermint- for bellyache*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Ravenwing

    Gets a stick cobwebbs moss and grass

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Rosefire

    Robinpaw? You here?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Flameclaw

    No ones on so he follows her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Mistystar

    *slips in* Guys, a kit fell from 20 tail-lengths at "Allen Anderson Angel Animals," first result. She needs your help!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Darkrose to rosefire

    *grabs marigold and cobwebs and two poppyseeds* come here rosefire i can help

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5