Customer Reviews for

Black Wind (Dirk Pitt Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great read

I couldn't put it down.

posted by 743741 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, But Not the Best

I read almost all of the Dirk Pitt novels. This one wasn't as suspenseful as the others, since Dirk and Al are clearly thrown in the background. Clive Cussler's son just doesn't have the skills for the job.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Akasha

    *She growled back at him and crouched* you dont intimidate me Farrah. You may be alpha, but lll die first before you think about running away from your problems or attacking me *her voice changed to a very dominating voice*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    Disappointing -save your money

    Pass on this one and hope that Clive gets back to writing his own stories. Read like Dirk wrote the book and he is not up to his Dad's level. Clive, keep it pure! You write it and I buy it. You collaborate and I pass.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Terrible Disappointment

    This book is terrible! I have read and re-read all of Clive Cussler's previous books; each one was packed full of suspense and intrigue, and they had plots that were grounded in reality. It was a real pleasure to watch the characters of Dirk Pitt and Al Giordino grow, mature and move through different crises and adventures. This book, on the other hand, was a complete waste of time. The writing is rushed; the characters are shallow--many of them are never really developed before they are killed off quickly; the plot is unbelievable; the writing is stilted and it's often hard to tell which Dirk Pitt (Senior or Junior) Cussler is writing about if you read a little at a time and come back to it. There is the obligatory car chase in the vintage car that gets all shot up by the bad guys who--predictably--die in the car chase because--of course--20-something-year-old Dirk Pitt Jr. is a more experienced driver than professional killers. This book reads to me like Clive Cussler let his son write the book and just used his name and fame to launch his son's writing career. Dirk Cussler should go find another career; usurping his father's hard-won characters and books is clearly not working; future collaborations between father and son are guaranteed to ruin any interest in future Dirk Pitt Sr. stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2005

    Dirk Pitt Sr. and Al G. are greatly missed!

    The few passages worth reading in this book concerned Dirk Pitt Sr, Al G, & the other characters enjoyed in the initial Pitt series. Advice: go back to what worked! Pitt Sr. can do without Loren or 'the kids' (how to get rid of them I will leave to the imagination of Cussler).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Better than counting sheep

    I am a fan of Clive Cussler's writing and have read almost all of his novels. Every one of his novels have kept me in suspense and left me with the anticipation of the next novel. Black Wind however is the first novel of 'his' that I have had to fight off falling asleep. Nothig like his other works, it could be that his son is a rotten storyteller...hopefully he ditches his son and picks up writing where he left off. Get this book if you have trouble sleeping.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    Disappointing

    I've read each of the Dirk Pitt books several times and enjoyed them all, but I was very disappointed with Black Tide. The read was bland, dull and the new characters, Dirk Pitt Junior and his sister Summer, were lacking in character depth and believability. The premise of these two young Pitts taking over from their father, and seeming to have gained all his years of experience in a couple of years is laughable. The book included little of the wonderful banter between the older Pitt and Al that readers have come to expect and love in previous books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1